We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Beijing
Ranked #51 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Such a luxurious hotel, with vast marble staircase in the lobby, which is surrounded by top end designer stores. Everything you wanted was available. The pool (3rd floor) was lovely but the steam room is only available in the spa. The WiFi drove me crazy with frequent drop outs - IT support only available in work hours so bring an Ethernet cable and laptop. The only fault was the bath plug leaked. I secured a corporate discount which made my stay all the better! Staff were very helpful and booked flights at a sensible price equal to my web search. Would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: The views overlooking the historic house are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Downton_Mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    423
    147
    29
    20
See reviews for
192
334
84
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Definitely not the same class as other Peninsulas. The room size is actually small compare to many other hotel rooms in Beijing. More shocking is the tiny bathroom. The overall ambience and decor are nothing to rave about. An update is badly needed.
It's not uncommon to see furniture with scraps and bangs in China but in Peninsula, definitely not acceptable.
Yet I love their thick, fluffy towels. Its location is unbeatable, convenient to shopping, night food markets and a plethora of restaurants. Dim Sum lunch at Huang Ting was very good but dinner was so so.
Of course this is not a bad hotel but after all, wouldn't you have higher expectations from a "Peninsula"?? A disappointing experience!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fountainhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great hotel, nice and comfortable room. I definitely recommend it...and special thanks to christine wange she was very helpuel helping us with every question/train tickes /driver to the great well .....we had a great time in beijin

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sima55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is everything one would expect from the Peninsula- beautiful rooms, excellent service and good food. My favourite is the concierge's specialised maps for ramen places. There were a few other specialised maps as well. The location is perfect for shopping and eating. I highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet Woo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Still a great location in Beijing, near shopping, night markets, and street night food markets. You can even walk to Tiamen Square.
But the rooms are of average size and are due for a facelift.
The staff were always attentive and helpful.
The breakfast buffet is better in the upper restaurant, don't let them talk you into going down to the basement level, the variety and quality of food is not as good.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

While the Peninsula Beijing used to be the gold standard, the hotel really is starting to show its age.
Rooms and bathrooms: definitely looking more like Sheratons now then like a luxury hotel. While they have cool electronic features, they are of some desperate need of a refresh. Bed was comfortable though and service was good and attentive when they came to set up an extra bed for my son.
Breakfast: not included and predictably pricey. While it seems like a big spread, was not as impressive as a Shangri La breakfast or some other properties throughout Asia.
Location: good location, walking distance to main sights and good shopping

Our stay was fine and comfortable but would probably stay in one of the cooler new hotels next time I'm in Beijing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KSJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I really love the Peninsula Hotels -- have stayed with them in Hong Kong, Chicago, Bangkok, New York but I would not put the Beijing Peninsula on par with the others. Stayed for a week with my husband and kids -- we had three rooms and all were Club rooms. My brand loyalty led me to stay here notwithstanding that it was not among the highest rated hotels in Beijing, but I was hoping for the best.

The Pros are:
- The Concierge staff. They always had at least 2 or 3 on duty and sometimes I saw 5 there. No waiting to ask a question or arrange a service. Very pleasant, excellent English. One of the best concierge desks I have found in my travels. We bothered them for something every single day and they kept smiling!
- Airport pick up service was nice. We were too large a group to get their Bentley (max. 3 persons), but we did have a very nice Mercedes vehicle that fit us all in. Bottled water and all cooled down when we got in.
- As the Mercedes pulled up to the hotel, we were met at the curb by a team who checked us in at the curb. That was a first for me, but very helpful and efficient. Our bags were whisked away and no waiting in line at the front desk.
- Great location in the beautiful Wangfujing shopping area and very convenient to lots of other places of interest for sightseeing
- Beautiful spa -- husband, me and daughter went nearly every day although get your wallet out. Services are not cheap; no bargains because you are in China at this spa. It was calm, beautifully decorated and my masseuse (Tina) was excellent. I liked her calm, professional demeanor.
- I very much liked the tour they arranged for the family to the Great Wall. Excellent driver and guide. It just made it so much easier. We went to the Great Wall at Muntianyu and took the panoramic chair lift up and the very fun toboggan ride down after spending some very nice time up on the Great Wall. (I have been to the Great Wall on previous visits to China and think Muntianyu is the place to see.) A wonderful lunch at a very nice nearby restaurant was included.
- Housekeeping was wonderful. Our rooms were promptly made up every morning and I really loved the evening turn-down service. Always kept us with plenty of bottled water and amenities. Beds, sheets, towels were of high quality and comfortable.
- We had our choice of breakfast in the Club or in the main Jing restaurant. We really enjoyed the Jing and had excellent service there. I was surprised to see reviews that complain about the service -- not our experience at all. After our previous two weeks out in the provinces, we were very happy to have western foods: omelets, bacon, croissants, yogurt -- there was nothing missing that a lovely breakfast buffet should include.
- I liked the welcoming, smiling staff face at the revolving door in the classic Peninsula uniform.
- Our room was very quiet (at the front of the hotel on the 13th floor), although our teenage kids (two floors below us) complained that screeching little kids ran up and down their hallways day and night.

Cons:
- Rooms were disappointing and small and tired. No creative or interesting decor, small bathroom, and I was surprised the carpet in our rooms was a bit dingy. The wood furniture had some minor scrapes and bangs. I was so disappointed that I tried to pay for a different, upgraded room or suite. I discovered I had the best, non-suite room and they told me no suites were available. Although the website allowed me to book a suite. That kind of irritated me. I got tired of arguing with the guy about getting another room.
- Club service was also disappointing. The happy hour snacks were fine, but the staff did not keep them fresh and often did not refill when empty. On two of the nights when I went at a later hour, I found fruit flies covering the fruit and cheese and nuts. Eeeeew. At the Peninsula, really?
- (The Club was small but decor was fine and you could find a private, comfortable corner. Also, there was a computer and printer in there.)
- Was disappointed in a long, sales pitch I got in the spa after one of the wonderful treatments. I was all zen and relaxed at the end, but then subjected to a marketing lecture on each of the products with some substantial pressure to purchase them. Really, at the Peninsula?
- My husband and I shared a room of course, but it was impossible to share the tiny bathroom. I agree with another reviewer here who noted mildewed grout/mastic in the bathroom. I was also very unimpressed with the Oscar de la Renta shampoos and lotions.

In summary, I have to add the the prices were very good compared to other well-located 5 star hotels. So if the room ambiance and luxuriousness are not a big deal to you, this would be a good hotel to visit. Service was good and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the main entrance was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#10 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#37 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#28 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#27 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#39 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Property: The Peninsula Beijing
Address: No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#27 Family Hotel in Beijing
#31 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#46 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#48 Business Hotel in Beijing
#169 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by China's imperial architecture, exquisite art and cultural traditions, newly opened The Peninsula Beijing combines timeless Chinese artistry and craftsmanship with cutting-edge Peninsula technology and service to set spectacular new standards in design, luxury and comfort. The hotel's 230 stunning new guest rooms (including 61 suites) starts from 60 square metres, the largest luxury hotel rooms in Beijing and among the most spacious in China. As one of first hotel in Beijing to offer a 24-hour check-in and check-out service to all of its guests. We also provide a seamless check-in process personally managed in each guest room or suite without guests having to wait at a reception counter or front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing