We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Service could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Beijing
Ranked #50 of 5,939 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed twice in this hotel, end of April and beginning of May. The first stay was a lot better than the second. Arriving early in the morning, we could already check-in to our room. On the other hand, arriving at 1 pm, our room was not ready, neither the one of our friends. Staff was very unfriendly and did not offer any alternatives. We had to insist, that one room at least should be ready at 2 pm. The promised to send the key to the spa/pool, but didn't work out. We had to go back to the lobby with the bath robe in order to get the key... Unfortunately the key didn't work on our door. Luckily a cleaning lady opened the door, so we didn't have to go back. We called the front desk and they promised to send the new keys up.... They never came..

The pool was ok, but rather very cold (air and water).

Price value always ok, since we got a good deal, but it is not like any other peninsula hotels.

Location is very good and close to the shopping street and to several sights.

The first stay, we where in the executive floor. The complimentary cocktails and wines were of very poor quality. The drink had to be mixed by the guests and the snacks very limited.
Breakfast on the other hand was ok.

Room was ok and very clean. No amenities for kids.. We had to ask for it.

Service in executive club was way better, but still not peninsula style. Staff from the executive lounge didn't even know the check-in procedures at the airport ( air china), nor could inform us that there is no web check-in for air china.

I would definitely check out another hotel on our next stay in Peking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank erlenbach_zh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    417
    147
    31
    18
See reviews for
187
326
82
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great location, attentive staff, wonderfully appointed rooms, amazingly clean ,breakfast buffet is one of the best and especially the custom made omelettes. The shops of course are world class.
the use of BMW 7 class available,but hotel is in walking distance to great shopping area.Oh yes the beds are the most comfortable we have ever slept on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the elementry school and exclusive tea house , great viewing of daily...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcjardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great value for your buck. Short stay, and spent alot of time sleeping, but a few points:
Location was very central, close to a couple different restaurants, as well as plenty of good shopping within a few blocks. Also shopping within the hotel, but very expensive.
Service was excellent. From front desk to restaurants to cleaning staff, everyone was very helpful. Everyone I dealt with also spoke very good English, which is not always the case.
Hotel exterior and interior were both very modern and very clean. Especially impressive from the outside the first time you see it, though after a long flight its harder to tell.
Rooms were a bit on the small side, but overall very nice and kept very clean. Bed was comfortable, and you need sleep after the long flight.
Maybe the best buffet breakfast I had while in Asia.
Overall definitely a 5 star, though maybe not quite up to the standards of other Peninsulas. At a certain point it is just hair splitting, but worth mentioning. I would recommend for anyone in Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pongo1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The exterior of this hotel is a bit dated, and the rooms are a bit small. When you move beyond those two points, the hotel is a great value at current rates. If you make the reservation expecting the marquee property characteristics of other Peninsula properties like the Hong Kong property, you will be disappointed. The service is attentive, the location is central to major tourist attractions, and the dining is outstanding. The beds and the bathroom arrangement works well for two people. We would certainly stay here again with the current attractive rates.

Room Tip: The street side can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Conradsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice on our post cruise trip in China. The first night we were treated to a huge room with a wall of windows and an office suite. The room was quite large, airy and bright. Two large queen beds were extra comfy with lovely duvets. Nice lovely, soft, huge bath towels and comp slippers. Comp water is in the room and turn down service offers additional. I also appreciated the door bell and do not disturb light light displayed at the door. The large room gets top marks from me. Hint-- there is a tv remote located in the lower media drawer, using the control pad next to the bed is a little awkward.

Breakfast downstairs in the mall is a little strange but the variety served was nicely done. I agree with another reviewer that it is dark in Jing and there is no natural lighting. People who have trouble with steps may find it awkward as you do end up going up a step in different areas of the buffet. They have everything from Asian, American to Euro choices.

The lobby space is indeed shared with high end shopping retailers such as Harry Winston and Channel. I found it to be strange and didn't care for it. I felt that I was in a mall rather than my hotel lobby. The stores were not at all inviting.

On the last two nights of our tour we stayed back at this hotel again. This time we received a much smaller room with two double beds. It was nice but very average and I would compare it to any Marriott in the states. Nice but nothing special. I disagree with the other reviewer who compared it to a Holiday Inn. That's just not true. The air conditioning system worked fine. Controls are on the pad next to the bed. If I were to stay at this hotel again I would prefer the larger room.

On our check out morning our tour guide had arranged with the hotel to provide us with a breakfast box since the restaurant was not open yet. We took it on the plane with us to the envy of all around us including the flight attendants. Nicely done.

Location in the city is excellent. For an evening stroll you can walk down to the "snack market" to try a scorpion or other tasty morsels.

The bell service handled and stored our extra luggage perfectly during our trip.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is located at a very good location to explore the city of Beijing and you are not too far from most attractions in the main city. The hotel no doubt enjoyed a marquee position at a certain time and the opulence makes one reminiscent of that. The rooms and bathrooms are of a decent size and have most Normal luxuries you would expect.

However some of the systems and equipments such as the tv, air conditioner, coffee machine, etc need a serious overhaul by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VKM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My son and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Peninsula Hotel, Beijing. I think we were expecting a property similar to the Peninsula in Hong Kong. The exterior was disappointing subway tile that could use a face lift. The lobby and public areas are very nice. We had booked a deluxe room and had received two upgrades. I was expecting a ver nice room. We were told we were on the Club Level without club benefits. The room was very mundane, what you might expect at a Holiday Inn. Bedding was nice, as was service. Just don't expect anything special. Nothing bad, we were anticipating something much nicer.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any that are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFoodie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#13 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#26 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,318 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#34 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#18 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,571 reviews
Xidan
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#33 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Property: The Peninsula Beijing
Address: Goldfish Lane NO. 8 Wangfujing East Street, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#27 Family Hotel in Beijing
#31 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#43 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#48 Business Hotel in Beijing
#186 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tech gadgets, Internet. The hotel's 525 rooms and suites offer complimentary wireless and wired Internet access, MP 3 / MP4 connectivity, silent fax machines, DVD/CD players, electronic bedside control panels, and telephones in bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing