We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stayed Twice in One Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula Beijing
Ranked #54 of 6,208 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stayed Twice in One Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel twice on our post cruise trip in China. The first night we were treated to a huge room with a wall of windows and an office suite. The room was quite large, airy and bright. Two large queen beds were extra comfy with lovely duvets. Nice lovely, soft, huge bath towels and comp slippers. Comp water is in the room and turn down service offers additional. I also appreciated the door bell and do not disturb light light displayed at the door. The large room gets top marks from me. Hint-- there is a tv remote located in the lower media drawer, using the control pad next to the bed is a little awkward.

Breakfast downstairs in the mall is a little strange but the variety served was nicely done. I agree with another reviewer that it is dark in Jing and there is no natural lighting. People who have trouble with steps may find it awkward as you do end up going up a step in different areas of the buffet. They have everything from Asian, American to Euro choices.

The lobby space is indeed shared with high end shopping retailers such as Harry Winston and Channel. I found it to be strange and didn't care for it. I felt that I was in a mall rather than my hotel lobby. The stores were not at all inviting.

On the last two nights of our tour we stayed back at this hotel again. This time we received a much smaller room with two double beds. It was nice but very average and I would compare it to any Marriott in the states. Nice but nothing special. I disagree with the other reviewer who compared it to a Holiday Inn. That's just not true. The air conditioning system worked fine. Controls are on the pad next to the bed. If I were to stay at this hotel again I would prefer the larger room.

On our check out morning our tour guide had arranged with the hotel to provide us with a breakfast box since the restaurant was not open yet. We took it on the plane with us to the envy of all around us including the flight attendants. Nicely done.

Location in the city is excellent. For an evening stroll you can walk down to the "snack market" to try a scorpion or other tasty morsels.

The bell service handled and stored our extra luggage perfectly during our trip.

Room Tip: Go for an upgraded room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    422
    148
    31
    20
See reviews for
190
331
82
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is located at a very good location to explore the city of Beijing and you are not too far from most attractions in the main city. The hotel no doubt enjoyed a marquee position at a certain time and the opulence makes one reminiscent of that. The rooms and bathrooms are of a decent size and have most Normal luxuries you would expect.

However some of the systems and equipments such as the tv, air conditioner, coffee machine, etc need a serious overhaul by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VKM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My son and I recently stayed 2 nights at the Peninsula Hotel, Beijing. I think we were expecting a property similar to the Peninsula in Hong Kong. The exterior was disappointing subway tile that could use a face lift. The lobby and public areas are very nice. We had booked a deluxe room and had received two upgrades. I was expecting a ver nice room. We were told we were on the Club Level without club benefits. The room was very mundane, what you might expect at a Holiday Inn. Bedding was nice, as was service. Just don't expect anything special. Nothing bad, we were anticipating something much nicer.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any that are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFoodie052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's surprising Peninsula put it's brand on this hotel. It's run down, service not at all what you would expect, and price quite steep compared to value.
Didn't help that the hotel's air con was out of order when we were there either, which they failed to mention at check in. Executive lounge is dilapidated, and service really strange - you won't feel welcome.
Only pros: Amazing concierge service.
On the whole: Forget it

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenrikBJorgensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
110 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

What I liked:
- Location: good, within walking distance from major attractions in Beijing
- Big comfy bed
- Well equipped room (amenities, devices...)
- Excellent breakfast

What I didn't like:
- Barthoom very small
- Lounge seems a shopping mall, busy, not relaxing
- Impersonal (nothing in common with Peninsula in Bangkok and Hong Kong, this is a good 'business' hotel)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saimonmays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at the Peninsula for three nights before the start of a cruise, and I can't fault it at all. I don't understand the bad reports, as our experience was completely different.

After a long journey we arrived at the hotel at about 11.30 am, and were really grateful to find our room was immediately available. The room was excellent, and I have never seen such a well-equipped desk in a hotel room, there was even a small stapler (which was useful to attach our cruise labels). We overlooked a courtyard, which was not picturesque, but perfectly okay. The room was spotless, and not a bit tired looking, as some people have reported.

In the main foyer is a nice coffee area, which also serves afternoon tea. We ate in the restaurant, and I like the concept of having the kitchen open to the main seating area. The food was very good, and we also enjoyed the breakfast contrary to other people's reviews. I have eaten many hotel breakfasts, and this one was as good as most of them, there was good choice, and the Eggs Benedict I ordered was delivered quickly, and was excellent.

The hotel is very well placed for sightseeing, with an easy walk to Tian'an Men Square and the Forbidden City. I'm not a fan of all the designer shops in the hotel foyer, but obviously some people are, and are lucky enough to shop there! We found, without exception, that all hotel staff were courteous and helpful, and we can't fault them at all. I have no hesitation in recommending the Peninsula, Beijing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We are a group of 6 experienced traveler who stayed at Peninsula Beijing. As usual for Peninsula chain, aristocratic senses blossom while you stay there.
Arriving in the hit of the night we have been granted access to the executive lounge for afternoon drinks and socializing. Staff were very attentive, whilst the executive floor staff paid unceiling efforts for our stay to be perfect; thanks to Amanda and her colleagues.

Definitely we recommend this hotel for anyone who wants top notch quality services in the town of Beijing.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marius2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#9 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Regent Beijing
Regent Beijing
#23 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
Legendale Hotel Beijing
#35 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#59 of 6,208 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Beijing

Property: The Peninsula Beijing
Address: No.8 Goldfish Lane, Wangfujing, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#27 Family Hotel in Beijing
#32 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#47 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#48 Business Hotel in Beijing
#177 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by China's imperial architecture, exquisite art and cultural traditions, newly opened The Peninsula Beijing combines timeless Chinese artistry and craftsmanship with cutting-edge Peninsula technology and service to set spectacular new standards in design, luxury and comfort. The hotel's 230 stunning new guest rooms (including 61 suites) starts from 60 square metres, the largest luxury hotel rooms in Beijing and among the most spacious in China. As one of first hotel in Beijing to offer a 24-hour check-in and check-out service to all of its guests. We also provide a seamless check-in process personally managed in each guest room or suite without guests having to wait at a reception counter or front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Beijing Hotel Beijing
Peninsula Beijing
Beijing Peninsula
Peninsula Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing