We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice Hotel Overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Beijing
Ranked #97 of 6,068 Hotels in Beijing
Surrey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Grand hotel is located on a 5-10 minutes walk from forbidden city and 4-5 minutes walk from the famous Wangfujang street. So the location is really convenient. Hotel decor is elegant and the rooms are spacious. The room rates are on the high side and the same is true for the breakfast. However, the breakfast is good with tons of variety. There is a money exchange and a tour desk in the main lobby, however I checked with them and their rates were very high and you can get the same tours at much lower price from other agents. Generally, our stay at the hotel was good. The hotel staff is nice and willing to help you. The staff in the breakfast room were really nice. The staff at the front desk were nice too however some of them need training in smiling. The beds were comfortable as well and not as hard as in other hotels.

We encountered two problems in the hotel and one of them might influence weather you want to stay in this hotel or not, This hotel has shut down their airconditioner for the spring. For the locals it might not be a problem but the people who go from cold climates really feel the heat at night. For couple of days we could not sleep properly and had to get the windows opened and even that did not help too much.

The other problem was that the shower drain was plugged and the whole shower pan flooded with water. We called the staff and they probably cleaned it but next day same thing happened.

I would recomend staying in this hotel provided the air conditioning is working and you get a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travel_Pak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    182
    56
    17
    7
See reviews for
36
83
23
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This hotel is good and worth it if you get a good rate. The views of the Forbidden City are nice but probably not worth the extra money. You can go to the tenth floor and see the views without paying the extra money. The pool could be warmer. The beds were great. All in all a good hotel but for China standards, not the most modern. The hotel does have some amazing art throughout. I still preferred a Ramada is Shanghai to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank italyismyfavorite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

The first room they gave use was bad. My friend went back down and complained and the changed us with no complain to a better room. The location of the Hotel is excellent. We stay for 3 nights and cannot complain ( we were travelled on a budget) I would list as an average hotel. If you need great location next to subway train and main street on a budget it is great safe hotel. I am will stay at the Hyatt next time, just across the road but traveling with my kids. (not on so tight budget) Again for the location and tranport it is great if you cannot afford the the top end.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimbo20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Was invited by the Chinese government and they put us up at this hotel. We stayed in amazing rooms and we would wake up every morning to a good view of the Forbidden city! The restuarant was good and the location is excellent.

I did look up on the internet and saw that it could be quite pricey.
Given that most times you would not be spending time at the hotel, I would probably not book this hotel for myself personally and would rather stay at the Grand Hyatt down the road.

however, all in all, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILove2travelDaWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I stayed at the Grand twice during a recent trip to China as they had good deals on for a 5 star hotel. The location is amazing - you can see the Forbidden City from the Palace View rooms (we got upgraded to these both times) and walk there in 5 minutes through a nice park which means you can avoid the crowds. The place clearly was very grand indeed when it was built and the quality of the furnishings clear - lovely walnut cabinets, comfy huge beds etc. However, it all feels dated now, and a little worn around the edges.

The service is outstanding. I was waiting for a parcel to be delivered which encountered a customs problem. The concierge took charge and ended up using her own personal ID to claim the package and get it to me. The reception and restaurant staff were all very efficient and when arriving for the second time 3 hours earlier than check-in, we only had to wait an hour before getting in to the room (which we spent eating Breakfast from the expensive but pricey buffet).

One disappointment was the roof top bar is now closed permanently. One of the main selling points and one of the deciding factors for staying was taken away. Also, the 'bar' in the atrium is often taken for weddings at weekends making very little room for guests - there are very few bars in this part of town and your best bet is Raffles a few doors down.

A further thing (which appears to be a trend in Chinese hotels) is that rooms offer free high speed internet which you plug in to, but if you want to use a computer to access the internet in the business centre, then it is very expensive and this was the most expensive I came across - chargeable at 0.40 Y per minute plus a connection charge for very slow connection speeds. Complaining about the speed and how this increased my cost met with a blank look and no offer to reduce the cost.

This is a good place, comfortable and calm (very rare in Beijing) and I would have no problem staying here again, I just wouldn't pay the 5 star rate card for it .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank confen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The hotel was OK. The location is great. But the rooms are old and have not been renovated in a while. Also the hotel calls itself a member of the "Leading Hotels of the World", a membership that should clearly be withdrawn. The service was not 5 star worthy and the carpet in the room was absolutely disgusting. Sorry, but if you know what a 5 star hotel looks like you should avoid this one.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephan0382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

There was a time when this was THE hotel in Beijing and it does have the best location in terms of proximity to Tiananmen but in post-Olympics Beijing there are a tonne of new hotels out there with top-notch modern luxurious rooms and this property is just tired and old by comparison. Smoky, terrible pool, average food. Rooms are not modern but are very opulent and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tropicalquinzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
Xidan
Beijing Hotel
Beijing Hotel
#172 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 1,163 reviews
Xidan
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#33 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Starway Boutique Tianan Rega Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#22 of 6,068 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,156 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#114 of 6,068 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Beijing

Property: Grand Hotel Beijing
Address: NO. 35 East Chang'an Street, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#87 Business Hotel in Beijing
#141 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 227
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing