We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lack of details in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Beijing
Ranked #42 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lack of details in service”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Hotel for people who love "old charm", not for people that expect trendy. Overall good hotel, it is clear the staff is trained to deliver 5 star service. However, they dont deliver good sevice because they want to but because they are taught so. And you can feel that because they dont think for themselves, and miss out on the details, which is what makes a 5 star hotel a REAL 5 star. This one lacks authenticity. Also the breakfast food is not so good. Lots of variety but all baked goods are dry and taste stale. The yoghurts and yakults are expired over a month. You have to ask coffee several times and it is cold when it finally arrives. In room dining came without cutlery. And when we used glasses or other things in the room they were not replaced (we stayed 5 nights). We only got shaving equipment on the last day. Not all that important but not good for a 5 star hotel...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadiaConefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear NadiaConefa,

Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.

Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.

Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that issue you mentioned doesn’t happen in the future.

We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    222
    69
    18
    14
See reviews for
107
193
94
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Love this hotel.
The bath products make you feel so good.
The spa is amazing. My husband and I used every inch of our sides and met at the pool for some love.
The breakfast was delicious. Dumplings is pretty much all we ate. We grabbed a few other items in curiosity like the melon, cucumber little smoothies and the homemade granola. A fantastic cappuccino hit the spot while my lover drank his tea.
We only got to stay one night bc Beijing was a stop over for us.
Wish it was longer.
Enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiercelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear fiercelu,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our F&B service and Spa facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I have heard good stories about this hotel from friends before but after more than 50 trips to Beijing I finally stayed there for a night.

The hotel, as I understand, is old but I was very surprised that it is newly renovated. The room is simply marvelous. I think I got upgraded so it wasnt a standard room. It has a proper desk for me to work on and the room is huge. The hotel also provided a butler service which included bringing to your room a cup of freshly brewed coffee to shining your shoes, all for free.

It doesnt have the magnificent view which the Park Hyatt gives you but everything else is wonderful.

Locationwise, it is mid-way between Wangfujing and China World so it is not all that convenient. Taxis are hard to find these days in Beijing so this can be a bit of a drawback.

I tried the breakfast and variety is good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jason S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed at the St. Regis over Thanksgiving and give it the highest rating. A few points– my trip was personal vacation and the hotel I chose had to have three requirements met: a swimming pool in a location central to the major tourist attractions and close to the metro station. This hotel was great. The rooms were nicely appointed and spacious, we stayed in business class room that had a nice walk in closet among other amenities. The breakfast dining area was luxurious and the buffet was expansive and served basically one of anything you could wish for, with multiple chefs cooking different types and ethnicities of food. The pool and spa area was very nice with multiple temperature hot tubs steam bath and sauna. Travel was easy because there were always Mercedes drivers ready to take us anywhere we needed to go. Beijing proved to be a fairly easy city to navigate for an English speaker. Sometimes we took a car and other times we took the train, but there is naturally a lot of walking involved. The metro station is very close to the hotel– on the same city block as the hotel, just a walk down one side of the block and around the corner. The hotel made it effortless to set up travel plans with an English speaking guide.

Room Tip: We were pleased with our room, even though we were not on a special floor. We did have some sort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusterH647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear BusterH647,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is located in a great are in Beijing. You are within short distance of many of the sites. The rooms and service is excellent. Staff was very willing to help with any needs, and the concierge helped us plan many excursions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ara030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear ara030,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Hotel is in a safe and very nice part of town. Located in the embassy area a little ways from Tianeman (sp?) Sq and government offices. Very nice service in a relaxed and non stuffy atmosphere. Remember the happy hour with free cocktails from 6 -7 in the Press Club bar. The room was spacious with a full bath and super comfortable bed. Butler met me upon arrival and pressed my work clothes and shined my shoes. It was a great touch. Breakfast is nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear mstreds,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our signature butler service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The place is located in one of the best areas in Beijing specially if you are a non chinese. It's just a few minutes away from main tourist areas such as Tian An Men, 5 minutes walking distance from shopping areas, and a lot of restaurants and wonderful clubs nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosepTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear JosepTrip,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our especially good location.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,483 in Beijing
518 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,378 reviews
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#37 of 6,483 in Beijing
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The Peninsula Beijing
The Peninsula Beijing
#51 of 6,483 in Beijing
44 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
W Beijing Chang'an
W Beijing Chang'an
#33 of 6,483 in Beijing
524 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Beijing

Property: The St. Regis Beijing
Address: No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#27 Business Hotel in Beijing
#40 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#41 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#160 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to iconic locations such as Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, the St. Regis Beijing offers the distinguished guest an exquisite retreat in the heart of the diplomatic district. The hotel combines legendary bespoke Butler Service with exceptional design and facilities to ensure guests feel relaxed and rejuvenated throughout their stay. After a hectic day in meetings, one can enter a world of wellness at the elegant Iridium Spa, a peaceful sanctuary where guests bathe in healing waters that rise up from natural hot springs. A stunning glass-walled swimming pool provides an inspiring setting for a swim, and outside guests can stroll the elaborate landscaped garden, the biggest in central Beijing. Guests are invited to indulge in fine culinary experiences including rustic Italian at Danieli’s or flavoursome Cantonese cooking at the Celestial Court. At the end of the evening, luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites offer city views and a peaceful night’s sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Beijing Hotel Beijing
St Regis Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing