We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Concierge Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. Regis Beijing
Ranked #43 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Englewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Concierge Review”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great luxury property. Like with most large cities the rooms are smaller but comfortable. This property is perfect if you are conducting business in the area but not convenient to historical sights. The St Regis is old school customer service and they take pride in service. They know you want something before you need it. We had a great butler who was willing and eager to provide things. I fell in love with our evening tea service. After a long day of walking around Beijing it was great to go to the hot springs inside the hotel. The best part of the stay was the daily breakfast buffet. What a way to start you day with Western choices, Chinese choices and Japanese choices for breakfast. It was great to try so many varieties of high quality food. I had one small concern that was immediately addressed by the management team especially by the General Manager. He made it a point to stop at our table after breakfast to get some feedback and personally apologize for the minor concern I had. I was traveling with my husband for a milestone birthday which the property recognized with a very generous welcome amenity. I am a SPG platinum member and we received a great upgrade. NOTE: This property is GLBT friendly and respects diversity.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor website.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our bulter service and facilities.
It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    222
    69
    18
    14
See reviews for
107
193
94
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Arriving with 2 colleagues on an overnight flight, I tried to check in but was told that my room wasn't ready and there were no other rooms to offer me. Even when I explained that I only had time to shower before leaving for meetings, I was told there was nothing that they can do.

My 2 Caucasian colleagues who checked in at adjoining desks both had their keys. When I explained the situation, one of my colleagues protested to the hotel clerks and explained that we only had time to shower before leaving together for meetings.

Then, the hotel said there was a room for me after all.

Having at one stage stayed for a month at a time at this hotel, I was deeply disappointed and won't be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwglobal_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia Y, MarCom Executive at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.
Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.
Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that issue you mentioned doesn’t happen in the future.
We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.
Best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

stayed on the 17th floor ,butler service was great .
close by silk market known for copy clothing and bags ,need to be careful as prices quoted are quite high.
hotel close by another shopping mall , must see at night called THE PLACE unbelievable light show , huge screen at least 60meters wide by 200 meters long ,so standing underneath you get to see different images being displayed.
never seen anything like this before.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank leo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our butler service.
It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 8-year anniversary earlier this month and booked the St. Regis to celebrate in style. We were not disappointed!

Before arrived we received an automated email from the Butler Service outlining their scope of service and providing us contact information. I immediately wrote and informed the hotel that it was our special anniversary. The Chef Bulter, Tong Zhu, immediately wrote me back and apologized for the delay in response (which was not the case at all!) informing me that the hotel would prepare for our arrival.

We had booked a special upgrade rate that entitled us to a Deluxe Room, however when we checked in we were informed that we had been upgraded to a Suite. When we arrived in the gorgeous room, we found a bottle of champagne, chocolates and fruit awaiting us! Soon after popping the bubbly, our Butler Stephen introduced himself, followed by the Chief Butler himself. Tong and Stephen were both incredibly gracious and made us feel right at home.

We were informed that we were invited to a wine reception in the Press Club Bar, in the lobby. The Bar was fantastic & the wine reception included complementary wine and appetizers. Not to mention the best bloody mary's I've ever had!

We enjoyed a great off-site dinner and returned to the Press Club where the host offered us two glasses of champagne in light of our anniversary.

The next day we enjoyed an expansive breakfast buffet in the Garden Court and rejuvenated pool-side.

Pros: Service, facilities, service, service and service
Cons: Not that we could detect!

Room Tip: The Statesman Suite has a separate living room and bedroom, making it great to spread out. Only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syg205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our bulter service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Once again, wish you have a happy anniversary with your husband!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Superb stay excellent on all fronts from the porters, the front desk, the rooms to the restaurants has all the facilities, a little overpriced when compared to other similar hotels but worth it close to silk market and downtowm

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and i spent 5 days at the St Regis in april it was fantastic hotel. Great location. Staff are friendly and offer a very attentive service. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable and there is a butler service, which helped unpack my bags. What a great start to our holiday. I will stay there again. .............................................................

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy180906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights to round off a long trip around Suzhou (Shangri-La) and Shanghai (Le Royal Meridien) before heading back home. First the good news. As others have commented, the Press Club Bar happy hour was great. I wish we had gone earlier, as it was, we only found time to go in there on our last night. I also agree with other comments regarding the butler service. I am sure if you need something out of the ordinary then it's worthwhile, but just to bring coffee and a paper with your alarm call - well that's something that the Shangri La did without calling it out as their big feature. The downside for me says the room itself. The room (1714) was small and incredibly noisy thanks to a wafer thin adjoining door to the neighboring suite. I can't blame the folks in the suite for having their friends round for a chat and a laugh, but really I do expect a "luxury" hotel to have enough soundproofing to make it possible for us to get a nice quiet night's sleep without having to call round next door to ask them to be quiet a couple of times. The rooms are also small, "Tokyo-small". Don't try to swing any small domestic animal in these bathrooms. The fixtures and fittings were old and tired. The closets had an ikea feel about them and sure enough as I was hanging my shirts up the flourescent light fitting inside the closet simply fell out onto the floor. Maybe I had been spoiled by the other hotels on this trip, but the St Regis simply didn't come close to being in the luxury class, other than the Press Club Bar.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_K_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.

Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.

Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that issue’s doesn’t happen in the future.

We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,483 in Beijing
518 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,381 reviews
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#36 of 6,483 in Beijing
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The Peninsula Beijing
The Peninsula Beijing
#51 of 6,483 in Beijing
47 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
W Beijing Chang'an
W Beijing Chang'an
#33 of 6,483 in Beijing
524 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Beijing

Property: The St. Regis Beijing
Address: No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#26 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#27 Business Hotel in Beijing
#40 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#41 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#161 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to iconic locations such as Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City, the St. Regis Beijing offers the distinguished guest an exquisite retreat in the heart of the diplomatic district. The hotel combines legendary bespoke Butler Service with exceptional design and facilities to ensure guests feel relaxed and rejuvenated throughout their stay. After a hectic day in meetings, one can enter a world of wellness at the elegant Iridium Spa, a peaceful sanctuary where guests bathe in healing waters that rise up from natural hot springs. A stunning glass-walled swimming pool provides an inspiring setting for a swim, and outside guests can stroll the elaborate landscaped garden, the biggest in central Beijing. Guests are invited to indulge in fine culinary experiences including rustic Italian at Danieli’s or flavoursome Cantonese cooking at the Celestial Court. At the end of the evening, luxuriously appointed guest rooms and suites offer city views and a peaceful night’s sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Beijing Hotel Beijing
St Regis Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing