We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis Beijing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis Beijing
Ranked #45 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The St. Regis Beijing is a very nice hotel, pretty with attractive traditional public rooms. We had a very clean and nicely decorated suite and were welcomed with fresh flowers and chocolates. The hotel staff were extremely polite and accommodating, every request was met with a smiling "Certainly madam". The hotel is not that centrally located though, every attraction and shopping area is a taxi ride away, but still it is nice to return to the leafy neighborhood where the hotel is situated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApricotHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    200
    61
    18
    11
See reviews for
95
180
82
330
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Of course the St. Regis looks great. Stunning. And we have stayed here many times over the years.

But in the lavishly decorated suite room there is no coffee machine--just
a kettle for heating up water and packets of instant Nestles. Yes, I can call "the butler" and have that person bring a cup of coffee. With great formality, etc etc. But most good hotels now allow the paying customer to brew up his or her own cup of coffee. True luxury is choice. To interact with staff, or not. To have good coffee available in the room.

And we had to replace two
refrigerators in the first five hours--we are on our third and it is the second day. Many phone calls. "We replaced the refrigerator for you. We upgraded your fridge." Huh? The first two did not even get cold. Staff stated that that was the appropriate temperature. We asked that they put their hands inside the warm fridges. Oh! But would not the inspection of the room before guests arrive include checking the mini bar fridge? Will the broken fridges be chucked out? I bet they are in some other rooms now.

What does this mean? For all the butlers and the flowers--which are nice, of course, just let me have a COLD drink from the fridge without running through three fridges and let me make a decent cup of coffee in the room.

Not real world problems, of course. Still...

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginian52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.

Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.

Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that issue’s doesn’t happen in the future.

We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The St Regis in Beijing was kinda disappointing, the room is a bit old and small, and the staff ( front office )was not so friendly ( supposed to have a butler service but I never saw the butler during my stay ), the happy hour at the bar was nice though ( bar staffs and specially the bar manager was very friendly and nice), and the breakfast was great with big buffet and lots of choices, great location too

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirsAmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and detailed opinions about your recent stay here at The St. Regis Beijing.

Our hotel prides itself on providing bespoke services, and when things do go wrong we rectify them immediately.

Please be assured that your opinions are taken very seriously and we will take the necessary measures to do an internal follow up and ensure that issue’s doesn’t happen in the future.

We will be ensuring that your profile is updated and that your stays from now will be everything you would expect and more.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you in near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Beijing after midnight and a long flight. We had arranged an airport pickup from the hotel, and all went smoothly. We booked a "St. Regis suite" which had separate rooms (bedroom, dining/living room) in case one of us was awake due to jet lag. It was a spacious corner room and well-appointed. The hotel has several restaurants and a very nice gym and large indoor pool. We found the location to be very convenient (3-minute walk) to the subway which we used often. Beijing is a sprawling city so access to transportation is key. We used the hotel concierge to arrange a car and driver to take us to the Great Wall for 1/2 day. The hotel staff speak manageable English. The breakfast buffet is very nice and would suit an international clientele.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlustnyc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Simply stunning hotel with exceptionally attentive and friendly staff. I had advised our flight arrived early and our room was ready on arrival which was great after a long journey. I had mentioned it was a special trip and champagne was waiting on ice for us at arrival time - great attention to detail. Room was large and spacious with seating area with sofa and chairs, office type desk, walk in closet and roomy bathroom with seperate shower and bath and fully electric toilet! Initially the coffee we requested was a little watery but my husband does prefer expresso so we simply asked for this and it was super. Any requests were dealt with quickly and efficiently.
Happy hour at the Press Club Bar was super and the manager, a young gentleman from Albania, was always friendly, chatty and helpful. The only reason we didn't use the bar more was that it allows smoking after 7.30 - something we prefer to avoid.
Metro station is close and there are lots of shops and restuarants around the area.
Would definitely return if staying in Beijing again.

Room Tip: As SPG members our room was kindly upgraded - so I suggest you join SPG online
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dnaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The St. Regis is still a gem after all these years. The public areas are beautiful and our room was lovely, spacious and comfortable - even the bed. Unfortunately, the service is spotty at best. Management seems to be aware of its problems and is exceptionally responsive. Kudos to them. Although I understand that the Sunday Brunch is fabulous, the morning breakfast buffet is a shadow of its former self, catering to a Chinese clientele only. On the whole, the food was mediocre at the Garden Court and La Chine restaurants while the service was shockingly bad. The newly renovated pool area is marvelous. The location is great for tourists but Beijing traffic (total gridlock at all times) makes it very difficult for those who need to do business in the financial district (NW) or in areas to the NE. On the whole, a lovely, comfortable hotel that affords a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookshelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service and facilities.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Location was not walking distance to anything but I doubt anyone walks in Beijing so this is probably insignificant to most people.

Room was well appointed although a tad small. No real views from where we stayed.

Service was top notch. Except for the chief concierge who didn't really seem to know which restaurants to recommend (his suggestions were below the top 25 on yelp, at best), everyone was sincere and went out of the way to be of service. Even the cab guys/porters were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ezraulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZeng, Online Manager at The St. Regis Beijing, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to hear that you are satisfied with our service.

It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#21 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#22 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#13 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#8 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Xidan
Raffles Beijing Hotel
Raffles Beijing Hotel
#17 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Beijing

Property: The St. Regis Beijing
Address: NO. 21 Jianguomenwai Street, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#27 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#27 Business Hotel in Beijing
#39 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#41 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#182 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Beijing exemplifies luxury, elegance, and impeccable service and is now relaunched in 2008. Superbly situated in the heart of Beijing's business, shopping and diplomatic districts, it is the hotel of choice for the world's most discerning traveler. Experience uncompromising and incomparable service-hallmark traits of our signature St. Regis Butler Service. Available 24 hours a day, the St. Regis Butler attends to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The St. Regis Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Beijing Hotel Beijing
St Regis Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing