We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A genteel hotel, well placed for the centre of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Beijing
Ranked #33 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A genteel hotel, well placed for the centre of the city”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This hotel has a little bit of the feel of somewhere an elderly relative might stay. Not that old a relative, one who has just retired to Switzerland maybe, and one who knows how they like things and still enjoys a game of tennis. Given that, it was a remarkably good place to stay with the family for a few days. The pool was big and great for the kids. My suggestion would be get to the pool at 4:00 swim for an hour or so then join the 'wine ritual'. I think that is what they called it. Essentially this is free drinks and nibbles and goes on until 7 pm. My kids loved the cheese! The wine was very good too!

The location is great, just outside the second ring, and next to a subway so no problem with transport. But do get a taxi card from reception as the room key does not have the address in Chinese as we found out and even though we speak some Mandarin a lot of the taxi drivers know it by a different name! I did drive upto Sanlitun a Friday night which turned out to take a lot longer than expected due to the traffic. It should not take more than 5 to 10 mins. So easy to get to restaurants and bars in that area. Ritan park is right on the door step, do go there for a walk morning or evening there is always something going on. You can meet the locals and if you want to keep fit you can try out the parallel bars.

What else to say service was excellent, room very nice, and there was even a telly in the bathroom mirror!

Net, a good option for this type of hotel int Beijing, there are lots of other great options too though, see some of my other posts

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chomolongma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    222
    69
    18
    12
See reviews for
106
193
94
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

In Oct. 2011 we stayed at the St. Regis for 7 nights. We had a two room St. Regis suite with butler. We are experienced luxury travelers who have stayed at some of the top rated hotels in the world; we were very happy with the St. Regis and recommend it highly. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Unlike another reviewer below, we had no trouble controlling the room temperature (and I'm fairly picky about that sort of thing). We found plenty of good tasting and well presented food at the breakfast buffet. The spa is good. The airport pickup/drop off service using their fleet of Audi's is very comfortable and efficient. The hotel is in a very pleasant area of the city. We went back to the St. Regis for 2 nights at the end of our trip, and they welcomed us back like family (they even gave us a nice welcome-back gift). We will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

not too expensive with great asian style service, good facilities for executive level guests, rooms good, butler service good, food is good - obviously cheaper outside the hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthsurfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This has long been one of the top choices in Beijing for business travelers and it is my top choice in the capital.

Service here is among the best in Beijing. I did not use the butler service, but check in was smooth and efficient and the bar/lounge service was very good.

The rooms are generously sized and the fit is good. The decor is not my style at all, but everything is very comfortable. My room had a beautiful view of the old embassy district, which was nice.

Location is kind of subjective in Beijing, depending on where you need to be, but you can't get more central than this. I usually like to stay on the east side, but I had no problems finding taxis around this area, which is a huge deal in Beijing.

No real negatives here, except that the price is definitely on the high end, though that is probably appropriate for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donggei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last year so I apologize for my late review. It was beautiful hotel and we were given an upgrade to a suite since we are SPG gold members. The room was nice even though it was not decorated in a modern style. We had a package that included a wonderful, big breakfast buffet. They had everything you would expect for a traditional American breakfast, including an egg station, along with traditional Chinese dishes, and items that would be more for lunch like made to order lamb chops and chicken.The biggest drawback was the location. As tourists, we like to walk around and check out restaurants and enjoy the beauty of a city, but we found that to be difficult from the St. Regis location. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would stay there again if we go back to Beijing. Tip: do not forget to take the business card they give you with the hotels address written in Chinese, you NEED it to hand to the taxi drivers to get back there if you are returning in a taxi, they do not speak English!

Room Tip: Try to find a package that includes the breakfast buffet. Dont forget the business card they give y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn9293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The hotel is excellent in terms of service, the rooms are nice and the location very good. Good breakfast and food was generally excellent. The only drawback was the business center - it closed at midnight and I had a document that had to be scanned and sent out urgently at 2m (was still on European time) - they couldn't do that, the scanner was not working, so it's overall pretty unreliable. Also, the scanner didn't look like it was capable of scanning a 50 page document - it's one of those old machines that scans the document page by page from the glass.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Excellent hotel, decor is modern and stylish and there is a lot of attention to detail with a wide selection of in room amenities.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and room service is always less than 30 minutes.
I highly recommend this hotel.
Extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank March888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
Waldorf Astoria Beijing
#11 of 6,474 in Beijing
501 reviews
Guomao
Park Hyatt Beijing
Park Hyatt Beijing
#38 of 6,474 in Beijing
797 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
W Beijing Chang'an
W Beijing Chang'an
#35 of 6,474 in Beijing
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#15 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,353 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The Peninsula Beijing
The Peninsula Beijing
#48 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,333 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,474 in Beijing
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Beijing

Property: The St. Regis Beijing
Address: No.21Jianguomenwai Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Beijing
#21 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#27 Business Hotel in Beijing
#31 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#41 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#152 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. Regis Beijing exemplifies luxury, elegance, and impeccable service and is now relaunched in 2008. Superbly situated in the heart of Beijing's business, shopping and diplomatic districts, it is the hotel of choice for the world's most discerning traveler. Experience uncompromising and incomparable service-hallmark traits of our signature St. Regis Butler Service. Available 24 hours a day, the St. Regis Butler attends to every detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Beijing Hotel Beijing
St Regis Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing