We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“time up for a full make over / renovation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel
Ranked #1,622 of 6,461 Hotels in Beijing
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“time up for a full make over / renovation!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I traveled last March with Chan Brother Travel - the travel agent booked this hotel.

Room were really old - carpet worn out, bathroom vanity top and bathtub grouting badly needs a make over!! Linens were with stains.

The air con compressor were soo noisy but as we were overly tired we sleep without disturbance :p

The breakfast was really bad (as we were travelling with the travel agent) thus the breakfast were not at the main restaurant hence make it worst!!

As for the reception staffs - PLEASE learn your chinese before hand, otherwise stay elsewhere!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurSharlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    479
    325
    124
    84
See reviews for
100
132
78
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This could be the cheapest 5 star hotel in Beijing CBD. This could also be the oldest 5star in Beijing (besides the ones right next to tiananmen). I stayed here about 16 years ago and it was a luxury, problem is it still looks the exactly same today.

The room is tidy and clean, but everything is old, you will have the British sockets, old Philips TV, and no wifi in the room. The staff at reception for SPG member are very helpful. Breakfast is good.

I got an embarrassing experience once with the guy opens elevator: he insisted me showing my room card after asking my room number while he didn't ask anything to other 2 men walking into the elevator at the same time. So I believe that I was suspected as prostitute, sarcastic enough that this is the hotel ran beijing's most famous escort service in their lobby before it was shut down by police last year. It was offensive for young woman but for other guest it helps prevent unnecessary harassment which is usual in china sometimes. (But for the record I was wearing coat long enough to cover my knee and sweater)

The location is convenient: right next to Lufthansa center and landmark plaza...

The lounge bar is famous: Filipino singers make good live music. They are good entertainers though maybe not the most amazing voice. (but u will be impressed if u haven't seen too many filipino bands yet) There are people going just for the band.

So it's up to you: you will hate it if you like modern beautiful rooms; or you can accept it as a place for guaranteed service, clean room (ok for 4star standard) but in convenient location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEchoechoecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stay here all the time on business trips, but only staying at another hotel close by this week made me aware how nice it is - so I want to share my experience.
This hotel makes you an SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) made on your first stay, and already after a few stays you get to profit from this (nicer rooms, discount at restaurant, extra water etc). It is nice. Reception staff is super friendly, even when busy and always greet you by name as soon as they have your passport in hand.
The hotel is old (one of if not the first international 5-star in Beijing), so you may encounter stained carpets, or other small problems in the room, but all is resolved quickly if you just tell them. Decorations are nice, rooms have windows that open and close properly, beds just just fantastic and the service is really nice.
Internet is not the fastest in the rooms, so one might have to use the free wifi in the lobby or other public areas.
Fitness club is well equipped and the pool is good for real swimming (even though the floor of the pool is stained...). Sauna is small but functioning.
In summary, for the company rate we have, this is always a great deal.

Room Tip: Avoid 5th floor close to the elevators unless you like to hear the live band that plays in the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chinamaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

ohhGaushhh...i would wonder if someone calls this as 5 or even 4 star hotel.. stayed here for 5 noghts without WIFI.. it is very outdated hotel form the amenities, technology etc... and badly need renovation. Breakfast is somewhat considerable but getting a taxi is hassle...not worth for the money and lot of options available in the same price..

Room Tip: advise not to book
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocks9189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Let me start by saying that this was the third time staying at the Great Wall Sheraton and I've previously written good reviews of this hotel.

The hotel is in a decent location in Chaoyang district on Beijing's 3rd Ring Rd close to the embassy area with shopping and subway line within a few blocks walk.

The property is obviously long overdue for a refurbishment as it is is getting quite dated with old furniture and fittings in the public areas as well as the rooms, particularly the ensuite which has shower over bath and old shower curtains.

I was upgraded to an exec/junior suite (SPG platinum member benefit) however the suite is still quite small compared to other Sheraton properties that I've stayed in.

Concierge staff speak little English however the staff in the Club Lounge are quite good, also breakfast selection in the lounge is pretty decent.

The major issue that I had was with the ventilation. I was on a non-smoking floor however there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway and in my room, I suspect that it was the people in the room next to mine that were smoking.

When I called the night duty manager at about 11pm he immediately came up with security staff to investigate however said that all he could do was suggest that I open the window to let some 'fresh' air into the room. This was during mid winter when the temperature outside was -14C and during the week that Beijing suffered the worst air pollution ever!

I again complained to the night manager and he said that the smoke was probably coming through the ventilation/heating system and there was nothing that he could do.

The following day I checked out of the hotel early and spoke to the shift manager on my departure, upon finding out that I was dissatisfied and leaving he offered to put me up in a better room however I refused as I has already made other arrangements and was even more disappointed that I had not been moved to another room the night before.

The day shift manager then promised to send me an email advising on what they would offer to encourage me to return to the hotel in the future however its been almost two weeks and he has failed to follow though on his commitment.

Needless to say that I will not return to the Great Wall Sheraton again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreyZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very nice Hotel, located next to the Embassies quartier. Excellent restaurants and breakfast, cosy atmosphere of the bar especially with the Filipinos Band playing.
Rooms are superbe, spacious, and bathrooms are provising everything.
Don't miss the discotheque, you'll be amazingly surprised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was here for 2 nights, arriving afer midnight and found that the reception and check in was as efficient as I'd expect from Sheraton properties. The room was fine and comfortable, and as others have noted the breakfast buffet is a good one.
I do feel that the hotel has not kept up with renovations and facility updates, giving the look of a rather tired, older establishment.
The neighborhood was safe, but had only a few walkable shops and a small mall nearby, and wasn't attractive to me at all.
I was able to arrange taxi transportation for sightseeing without any problem, but felt that the location was a bit far from the main tourist sites of the City.
All told, I have no complaints about the Great Wall, Sheraton, but on a return visit would likely seek a different location. In fact, I had been booked into a Holiday Inn property for my second two nights, and was equally or a bit more satisfied with that one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Anzhen
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#48 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
#32 of 6,461 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel

Property: The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel
Address: No.10 Dongsanhuan North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100025, China
Location: China > Beijing > Yansha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#260 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 827
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great Wall Sheraton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Great Wall
Great Wall Sheraton
Sheraton Beijing
Sheraton Hotel Beijing
Beijing Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing