We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very near to every point at Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Ranked #67 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Firstoffall .I have been first time in Beijing.. I like that hotel. Everykind of the entertainment were we have got...Even new year eve night all night were superrrrrrrrrr... Cleaning and service were super either....Loby hall caffe hall .Reception staff..very lovely and smily ..

The street is the main street which is the near all Consulate area businnes area. Shopping area
which they call the street name " women styreet"" were super ...

Hotel rooms street sides is okay...but the backyard rooms super for sleep in quite..

2010 ten 2011 first day including city tour 10 days we have been there January..with full snow....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KIZILARMUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 508 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is good, the room is a little bit worn out, but clean, mostly the bathroom, which is a very positive point.

The bed is good, the pillows are comfortable and there's a range of choice (kinds of filling) to choose from. I stayed at a standard room and found the size quite reasonable (8th floor).

Another positive detail: on the hotel's website, there are lots of promotions, mostly for the weekends and I got one with late check-out (4pm), which was very convenient.

Breakfast, for Beijing's standard, is good. It is not an easy task to get a real western breakfast in China, even in some "western" or international chains. Important detail...breakfast is included in the price, which is not so usual either.

In-room service was quite efficient and good...we arrived late in the night and ordered some snacks...honest price and delicious burgers (I do recommend Club Social and Beef Burger - the french fries were crispy and tasty!).

Very nice and attentive staff! That's, in my standpoint, the best "detail" about the hotel. Courtesy, smile, honest price in China are not that easy at all and one gets all of this at Swissotel. We arranged a private tour to Huanghuacheng (Great Wall) and paid 800rmb. On the net, the cheapest price we had found was 1100rmb for 3ppl. The car was good and the driver spoke English and was very friendly.

Subway station (Dongsishitiao) just out of the front door, which was great! Very convenient!

My experience at Swissotel was really good! I'll be back and I recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrekkingGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I would not stay here every again. Food was terrible and very over-priced. Staff was good. Room was nice. Pillows very comfortable. The location for this hotel is quite good. There is a subway stop just out the front door. Very convenient.


  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank David Samuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We travelled from Uk in July. The trip had been booked via Thomas Cook. Upon arrival at the hotel- after the 12 hour flight, we were allocated one of the shoddiest rooms that I have ever seen in a 4/5 Star Hotel! The wallpaper was peeling off, the bathroom sliding door was broke, the view consisted of a well and the rooms opposite. Needless to say we made our feelings felt and after a very short discussion we were upgraded to a very much superior room with a far better view. I can only think that they initially try to palm "holiday guests" off with their poorest rooms in the belief that these guests are sufficiently unsophisticated and lacking in confidence that they will accept whatever they are given. Big mistake! Be warned. Perhaps it is also something to do with the "arrangement" Thomas Cook have with certain hotels, or am I being too cynical?
Apart from this initial problem I cannot fault the hotel or its staff. As one of your other contributors has commented breakfast was excellent and the internal restaurant and outside bar/bistro offered good food and good service.
There is an upmarket Chinese restaurant "Happy Clouds" built into the hotel. Quite strange. Very expensively decorated with ponds and waterways along with very elegant seating. However, they stop serving at 9pm and when we were there failed to have any Peking Duck. rather strange when one considers that this is the recommended dish everywhere in Beijing!
Whilst in Beijing we had a fantastic time visiting the hutongs by Heihei lake and the Drum and Bell Tower. Of course the Ming Tombs, Great Wall, Forbidden City, Summer Palace, Temple of Heaven are 'must see' attractions. Mr Tea, teahouse, Dung Wu Silk Factory worth a visit along with Pearl City and The Jade Warehouse - all organised via Beijing Red Sun Travel Service Co. Ltd and bookable through the hotel.Tianamen Square and the National Museum a worthwhile halfday excursion. Beijing itself is amazing and offers so many things of interest that 5/6 days definitely not long enough, just enough to whet the appetite for another visit! The food at the Night Market may be another thing! Scorpion-on-a-Stick anyone?

Room Tip: make sure you check everything in your room upon arrival- get a room facin west if poss 10th floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Pros:
- Good and friendly staff; from the doorman Richard (special thanks) to Mr. Chovanec, everybody works to make your stay a memorable one. We will remember ours very dearly!
- We were spoiled by some nice surprises throughout our stay
- Locationwise, it is close to Sunlitun and easy to find good and quality local and western restaurants/venues/clubs in the vicinity
- Value for money considering the real 5-star swissotel experience.
- Great Breakfast, a lot of choices.
- Pool and AC working flawlessly unlike some other comments.
- Good and responsive concierge helping out with all kinds of arrangements and directions in the city.

Cons:
May need to wait long for a taxi depending on the daytime.
The hotel bar seems to be expensive than similar bars
The building is not the most modern building in town, we heard it will go through renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Onur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Great location right on subway line 2 with easy access to airport express. Love the breakfast, good quality, good food, friendly staff. Gym well-equipped, pool isn't full-length, but still works well for lap swimming and is comfortably warm. The sauna at 80°C could be a bit hotter.

The rooms have a nice modern ambience, but some show their age a bit, e.g. with chipped desk legs from the chair banging against it. Also, they aren't all equipped the same, I think higher floors are better. I stayed at the 6th floor once and then on the 11th floor. The room on the 11th was better.

Room prices tend to be on the cheaper end of the scale among Swissotels, but it's still a good luxury hotel, so it's a great value. Overall, I'm happy. I'm in Beijing more often and will very likely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is 20 years old but has European Old World charm. Warm and inviting the staff here make this hotel. Richard, the evening doorman always remembers my name. And Daisy at the Greyline travel desk in the lobby is always helpful and has gone above and beyond the call of duty arranging complicated train tickets for me. The best coffee and chocolate in Beijing hands down. I stay here for a week every month and the service quality is always excellent. I often have business meetings in the Swiss Cafe and the Flow Bar on the first floor. The hotel is a nice walk to great food and entertainment venues like Sunlitun Soho, Sunlitun Village and the Silk Market. My hope is they will add WiFi to the rooms in the near future as it is currently only available in the lobby, cafe and bar. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper and back rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#64 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#63 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,516 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Beijing West Railway Station
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Address: No.2 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#47 Family Hotel in Beijing
#55 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#59 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#78 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $84 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style and warm Asian hospitality characterize this charming downtown hotel. You will love the personalized service, fine dining created by chefs from all over the world, efficient business support and those extra touches for which Swissôtels are renowned. Truly international staff and clientele, located in the commercial and diplomatic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Swissotel Hotel Beijing
Beijing Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing