We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe I'm biased..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Ranked #73 of 6,449 Hotels in Beijing
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Maybe I'm biased..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

because I stayed in a junior suite, (courtesy of my employer) but my room(s) were huge, spotless, and with every facility you might care for, including (most important for me) an excellent large firm supportive bed. The breakfast buffet was well stocked if perhaps a little chaotic (the hotel was bursting at the seams when I was there), and the meal I had at the Happy Valley restaurant inside the hotel was both extremely tasty and came in generous portions. Yes maybe the decor is a little old style, but after the modernity of the city in some ways this is a welcome contrast, and its spotless cleanliness keeps it feeling spic and span. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boatmusdir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    605
    239
    86
    29
See reviews for
109
193
146
530
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

PROS:
-The best part of this hotel is the location. There is a main subway station right outside the front entrance! So close it looks like it's almost part of the hotel which was VERY convenient. Taxis are not always reliable and so it was great to fall back on the subway which was only 2 yuan(.32 cents) one way for even the furthest parts of the city. Subways are easy to use and saved us a lot of headache with taxis and money.
-Location also has a few restaurants in the next block, Starbucks, Seven Eleven for your convenience.
-Good breakfast selection
-Service was good. Friendly & accommodating. The friendly doorman was our favorite!
-Bank/ATM connected to the hotel to exchange your money.

CONS:
-The rooms are not 5 star worthy...more like 3 stars so it's not bad, just average. Nothing special about the rooms...they're outdated, bathrooms can get their own star ratings of 2. Cracked tiles, peeling paint - something you would never see in a "FIVE STAR" let alone a 4 star hotel.
-No wireless internet in our rooms. Free WIFI available in lobby only.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the front entrance. Nice view of the city and mountains behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slee06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Perfect location, reasonable room price, expensive breakfast (room for 2 and b'fast for 2 almost same price), subway from and to airport and subway station is a few steps from lobby. Highly recommended. Ridiculous rules of trip advisor (min 200 characters ) should be fulfilled.......,..., ..............................

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabanozh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelBeijingMgnt, Manager at Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback with us regarding your recent stay. We aim at providing best value with personalized service at Swissotel Beijing and are very glad to learn that you had enjoyed the stay with us.

Again, thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Swissotel Beijing in the near future.

On behalf of Swissotel Beijing Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week. The hotel looks very nice when entering the lobby and well, there isn't anything specifically WRONG with the hotel but I think the accommodation experience still doesn't quite reach the same level as the public areas would lead you to believe... The rooms are ok, but need to say the bed was the worse I have experienced in years. Like would have been laying in a bed made of rocks..! The staff don't smile that much and when you're requesting services such as car transport (which by the way is really expensive even though no surprise...) they're trying to multitask which leads them not doing anything well and everything takes long time... Also maybe this is just my perception, but I've kind of got used to in this level of hotel, when you're asking for something from the staff to be arranged, such as e.g. the car, the reply normally is "certainly, we'll arrange this" but here the reply was "well, I need to see, I will try to look" -- and it wasn't anything that complicated, it was again about the car...

Breakfast was ok, lots of selections available. However what really bugged me was the so-called efficiency from restaurant service... They served tea & coffee to the table, but if you wanted to get a refill, then you needed to chase them because staff seemed to avoid eye contact... Also if you happened to get up from the table to get some more food, then your table got cleaned for next customer...

Location I understand was around a business area. Within close proximity there were coffee shops and 7-Eleven and some nice looking restaurants. Within around 10-15mins walk there were also shopping places, a westener mall as well as more local clothes mall.

English wasn't very widely used, but I guess that is more Chinese thing than hotel thing. Somehow I would still have expected that this level of hotel would have had better English skills..

I stayed here for business and I guess I'll be accommodating here in future as well. If it were only up to me, I'd maybe try to see for alternative, but all in all I guess hotel was ok enough so that I don't have huge problem staying there in future. But as you may understand, I wasn't that impressed...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeRaLaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelBeijingMgnt, Manager at Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear TeRaLaRa,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid experience. We value your comments very much, especially the details are the most appreciated.

We regret that we failed to impress you with our Swiss hospitality during your stay. And our apology for the lack of professionalism in dealing the situations you had indicated. Your candid feedback has been shared with senior management and relevant departments for further improvement. Therefore, we thank you for allowing us another change to demonstrate that we are able to make things right. Please do let me know at jason.wang@swissotel.com for your next visit. Looking forward to welcome you at Swissôtel Beijing in the near future.

On behalf of Swissôtel Beijing Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Like many travellers, our stay at the Swissotel was average but satisfacroty, espcially considering the price paid (we booked online and got a room for arounf $80AUD).
The location is excellent, being on top of Dengshisitiao subway station. It's a lengthy walk to the Yashew clothes market and the Sunlitun bars. Taxi's are not that easy to get, but for short local trips it's quite easy to get a local to take you in their pedi-cab for ¥10.
The Swissotel is NOT 5 stay hotel. It more of a 4 star. This is reflected in the dated room decor and the general clenliness - dust on the windowsill was a common complaint of many reviewers and our experience was no different. The room did not smell noticibly of smoke. The beds were hard - another complaint of other travellers. The bathroom was pretty clean - no large colonies of mould like I've seen in other Chinese hotels for a similar price.
Breakfast was expensive so go across the road to McDonalds or to Starbucks just up the road.
There are lots of good local restaurants around the hotel.
All in all, it's a good choice for a night or two, especially for access to the airport. Very good value for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priscbazaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

During September we stayed at this hotel on three separate occasions. We were not disappointed. As described in the other reviews, the hotel's location is convenient. The metro stop is directly in front of the hotel. Although the rooms were a little worn, they were clean and quite adequate. The entire staff was friendly, professional and always helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_los_angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissotelBeijingMgnt, Manager at Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your feedback about your last stay at Swissotel Beijing.

Overall, we are very pleased to see that you had enjoyed your stay with us. And looking forward to your return in the near future.

On behalf of Swissotel Beijing Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldcoast
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I just stayed at the Swiiss in Beijing for a total of five nights.

I found this older hotel to be in a great location with very friendly staff ,

from Richard who always warmly greeted me ,
to the front desk and even the managers and the room attendants.

I stayed in two different rooms,
the first was pretty worn , especially the bathroom. the second room had a newer bathroom and was in better condition.

Like most Asian beds I found it to be way too hard, so after chatting to the front desk , a mattress topper was added to the bed which did help.

but still very firm.

the only down sides to me was the cafe was quite expensive if you just wanted a break from the beijing crowds.

I think wi-fi should be in every up-market hotel room now.

And I had to wait half an hour for a taxi to the airport on my departure after booking a cab .. I understand cabs in Beijing a little bit,
but there must be a better way.

Overall very happy and would stay again.

Overall a good choice

Room Tip: Pay a litte extra for upgraded room not for the extras just seem nicer condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#72 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#121 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#58 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#97 of 6,449 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Property: Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Address: No.2 Chaoyangmen Beidajie, Beijing 100027, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#53 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#64 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#80 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style and warm Asian hospitality characterize this charming downtown hotel. You will love the personalized service, fine dining created by chefs from all over the world, efficient business support and those extra touches for which Swissôtels are renowned. Truly international staff and clientele, located in the commercial and diplomatic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Swissotel Hotel Beijing
Beijing Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing