We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“classy, elegant, but a bit dated -- a good option if you can score a good rate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Ranked #69 of 5,939 Hotels in Beijing
Wheeling, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“classy, elegant, but a bit dated -- a good option if you can score a good rate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I booked a stay at the Swissotel after scoring a very competitive rate after doing extensive research on TripAdvisor. The hotel is elegant, classy and sufficient but it is starting to show its age and needs a major overhaul. Here are the pluses and minuses:
Pluses: good location, nice bars and restaurants (although expensive and the Japanese restaurant is a rip off price-wise, and totally empty at all hours). the exec floor is a nice space and a cozy area to hold meetings. Service is good and the hotel is geared towards westerners. Across the street are multiple restaurants, a Starbucks, a metro station,etc.. good location accessible to many areas in Beijing.
Minuses: furniture and decor is dated and showing signs of wear and tear, the gym needs an overhaul and in general the whole place is a bit tired. The biggest drawback is the HVAC system. I was there in the Spring and the hotel and rooms are unacceptably HOT and uncomfortable, depending on the season you may be uncomfortable and miserable. During my stay there was a hot spell in Beijing and my room was an oven and the individual heat/air unit did nothing to cool off -- the staff gave me a fan but when you stay at a hotel of this calibre one expects a better HVAC system.

my advice in any Beijing hotel is to find something new (there are many) -- unless you can score a great rate you may find better options but again my stay was in general pleasant but expect the hotel to be old and dated. If I returned to Beijing I would seek other options.

Room Tip: away from elevators in a quiet area. HVAC a problem in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFFfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    569
    228
    80
    26
See reviews for
103
182
142
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

we (with my husband) stayed at swissotel,Beijing and we really enjoyed our 3 days stay. The hotel was clean,decent and comfortable. The hotel staff were helpful and accommodating. The hotel's location is so accessible to subway . Of course, I will recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives.

daisy carol tan
Philippines

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dstPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed March 2012. Good rate from Expedia. Older hotel but well maintained. Helpful staff. Free Wifii in the lobby.

Best part is the location. No. 2 Line Subway at the door which will take you to all the Beijing attractions. This is a BIG bonus since the traffic jams in Beijing are getting worse and worse. Across the quieter street to the right of the entrance is a shopping centre with a 7-Eleven, 2 good restaurants with Hong Kong style food, a Starbucks and Congen massage (a chain specializing in traditional Chinese massage and much cheaper than the hotel. English speaking).

Note about the pool: hotel require you to purchase a swim cap for health reasons. If you don't want to pay 40 RMB bring your own.

Note about the heating: It was very cold in Beijing during our stay and the heat in the room defaulted to sauna like. Adjusting the controls did not appear to help. Finally we just opened up the windows to let the air in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed here last September but have nothing in Beijing to compare it to...overall good food, drinks western five star prices, staff particularly Joanne in beer garden very nice, room basic and tv channels choice awful. However would stay there again if ever in china again but the chances of that are less than none

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The place was excellent...very good location as the tube is just outside the HK centre and its very convenient...
Rooms were excellent, well furnished and food was great...

Only bad side was that there was no WiFi in the rooms and I had to come to the lounge for access the net...the cable connection in the room wasn't free!!!

Staff were friendly and helpful.

now the ONE bad... the cost of the excursions at the tour concierge was extortionate-- about 300% higher than what we managed to get from calling around...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thegreatA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Anyway a good, nice, pleasant stay in Beijing.
The feeling is warm, little sophisticated but still very natural and comfortable.
My room was good, and price was good too: no complaints.
The only point is that, visiting year after year I can feel a little 'decadence'

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco_Motta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed there for four nights in a junior suite, with access to the executive lounge. The decor is perhaps a bit dated, but still charming and clean. The breakfast is very good, and the service great. We had problems with the free wifi and it was addressed within minutes of us calling the front desk. All very professional. Most of the staff speak very good English.

The location is good, with the subway station in front of the hotel, but also areas of interest in walking distance, including hutongs, the new up and coming high street and embassy area, and the "fake market" (called Clothes Market on the Swissotel map). Be aware, it is all fake there, and a good rule of thumb is to pay 10% - 20% of the original asking price - if you buy anything at all, as it is of very poor quality, and probably will not last a week.

One day we took the subway to Tiananmen square, and then walked back. Only about 4 Km, and a very enjoyable walk with lots of things to explore on the way.

We used tripadvisor to find the best restaurants in the area, but then where unable to locate them (peking duck restaurants). A bit frustrating. We had hand drawn maps, Google maps, and iPhones, but to no avail. We ended up taking a taxi down town to "Made in China" who serve an excellent Peking Duck - and if you never had Peking Duck before, then you are in for an experience. It is fantastic. The taxi ride was only 30 rmb each way.

I do reccomend a great place next to the hotel, Hong Kong House, I think it was called. Great food, english menu, and reasonable price (45 rmb per meal). We checked it out twice, once for lunch, and later for dinner. Both times packed with locals enjoying great food.

We also tried the Chinese restaurant at the hotel and the food was good, and surprizingly not that expensive - unlike the club sandwich at the Swiss bistro.

The hotel is situated at a very busy road, so can be noisy if the window is open, and the place smells a bit of perfume - but then this is China, and things do smell differently.

We spent the last two nights of our stay in the Legendale hotel, down town, at 3x the price, and Swissotel is much better value for money. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#57 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 2,056 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Asia Hotel
Asia Hotel
#139 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#56 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 737 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#67 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 2,336 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#51 of 5,939 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center

Property: Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Address: NO. 2 Chaoyangmen North Main Street, Beijing 100027, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#60 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#70 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#80 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center 4*
Number of rooms: 430
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European style and warm Asian hospitality characterize this charming downtown hotel. You will love the personalized service, fine dining created by chefs from all over the world, efficient business support and those extra touches for which Swissôtels are renowned. Truly international staff and clientele, located in the commercial and diplomatic district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Fairmont Hotels and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Beijing Hotel Beijing
Swissotel Hotel Beijing
Beijing Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing