We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Ritz Travel Group stayed here 4 Nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong
Ranked #39 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“My Ritz Travel Group stayed here 4 Nights”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I found this to be an outstanding hotel. They made every effort to accomodate the Americans by setting up an American Breakfast each morning. I had a chef make my favorite western omlette just the way I like it back home in the states. This is a 5 star hotel in every way. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: When you travel with a tour group your rooms are selected for you but this hotel was willing to make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    341
    87
    10
    6
See reviews for
104
112
68
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The New Otani Chang Fu Gong Hotel is very comfortable and well situated in Beijing. The amenities and staff are plentiful. Service is great and helpful. Unless you wanted to pay a lot for food, it was not as good as outlying cities.

Room Tip: If a couple, ask for a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed 4 night in the hotel as part of our tour to China with Ritz Tour. We ask and paid for an upgrade to king size room for my husband and me and my daughter travel as a single occupancy but we requested her room to be in the same floor. They gave us a beautiful, super modern, clean and very comfortable King size room as well an identical one for my daughter just next door.

Some other people in the group complained that the rooms were not so clean and the bathrooms had mold.

The breakfast buffet was very nice, excellent pastries and a very good selection of western food. The view of the gardens is beautiful and they have a demonstration of Tai Chi every morning. One night we had diner in the restaurant and it was average.

The location is very good, there are several restaurants at walking distance, upscale shopping and the Silk Market very close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keladykman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As others have stated, when you pull up to the hotel and walk into the lobby, you think you are staying at a "7-star" Beijing hotel. The outside and common areas appear to have been newly renovated and are probably on-par with the top hotels in Beijing.

Once we got to your room, our opinion changed. Our room was on a double-digit floor (10 or 11, I believe) and it had not been renovated like some of the pictures others have posted. Although it appeared 'clean', the carpet had several small stains. The tub tile grout was moldy and the bathroom fixtures looked to be from the 80s at best. The room reminded me of a typical room you get nowadays at at an original Hilton hotel, rather than a newer Hilton property like a Doubletree.or Embassy Suites. It wasn't terrible, but it certainly was not on par for a top notch hotel, at least by Western World standards.

The Good:
- The breakfast buffet was pretty good. A large selection of western world food like scrambled eggs, bacon, croissants, etc. as well as Asian fare.
- Free WIRED Internet in rooms. This wasn't really a good thing for us, as we only brought an iPad and they charged for a wireless connection. So beware if you only have an iPad and not a laptop.
- ATM machine in lobby worked with our U.S. debit card.
- Room size was on par with a typical U.S. brand name hotel
- Our room overlooked the nice garden at the back of the hotel
- Metro stop just across the street which is only a few stops from Tiananmen Square.

The not-so-good:
- Bed was very firm. But this seems to be the standard in China.
- Stained carpet and moldy tub
- Taxi stand can back up since hotel caters to Japanese and Australian business people.
- No free wireless Internet

I'd rather give an overall rating of 3.5. Since that's not an option, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt with a 4.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have a nice view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E-Monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the hotel for 10 days. We were very happy about hotel.

-Location: in the center of shopping, restaurants, two subway line stop right across the street, a park, Starbucks and tree-lined embassy area 10 min. walk
- Management: top notch. All of the staff are very professional and friendly. My husband was sick during the stay. The lobby managers (Ms. Li and Mr. Xin) went out of their way to help us get medicine in the middle of the night, and arranged special food delivered to the room for 2 days. Cafe's manager also took immediate action after we gave some feedback on the food. We feel that they really took customer care to heart. A notch above other 5 star hotels we have stayed in BJ or in other countries.
- Quiet rooms. The central a/c is dead quiet and efficient! The deco is very modern, clean lined that makes the room feel very spacious. Even standard room is spacious enough. Nice bedding, bathrobes, slippers, etc.

The only area that needs improvement is their breakfast buffet. The hotel tries to provide a big variety for westerners, Japanese and Chinese. But the quality is not on par. The western food lacks quality bread, cheese or cold cut meats. The Chinese food are not well done. 4 different Chinese rice soup are offered very morning, but they are too overcooked. Dumplings and hot noodles are mediocre. I feel the hotel can improve its breakfast offerings by focusing on quality and even reduce the variety. Maybe a trip to some other top hotels and try out their breakfast may provide some nice benchmark.

But all in all, this is a very good hotel. It will always be our choice of 'home' whenever we visit BJ.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chic2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

New Otani is good. Squeaky clean (I suppose the Japanese influence). I stay twice in June '12. One time in an older room - a little dated, but ok. And one time in the re-modeled rooms - which a very nice. Good stay, good beds, good location. Mt room rate came with breakfast, also good.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanghaidAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed four nights in early May. The room was spacious clean and comfortable with all amenities in the bathroom in case you forgot something(notably toothbrush and tooth paste).The carpet was as others have said oddly stained, but I think perfectly clean.
There was a more than adequate breakfast that met all needs, and the restaraunt seved at least some western food, enough again to satisify.
The area in which the hotel is situated had a lot of western comforts including Mc Donalds and starbucks ,Seven eleven and KFC. Also there was a fair amount of deep discount shopping fairly close at handIf I ever travel to Beijing again, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. The big stopper for ever returning to Beijing is the air quality. A very serious issue. My eyes were burning as soon as we got off the plane.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angusmcsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,432 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#22 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,149 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,888 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong

Property: Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong
Address: No.26 Jianguomenwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#43 Family Hotel in Beijing
#44 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#64 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel New Otani Chang Fu Gong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Otani Beijing
New Otani Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing