We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel and wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Capital Hotel Beijing
Ranked #83 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
534 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and wonderful location”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were traveling with a group. The hotel lobby is magnificent and contains a number of restaurants were we had breakfast buffets. The first night we ate with friends also on the trip and a number of the things we wanted to order for dinner were not available. Rooms are very nice and staff friendly. I stayed here 15 years ago and there is now a new tower of rooms added. (Tower B). Last time I stayed was in the original area where the rooms were much larger and had a view of Tienanmen Square which is within walking distance. This time in tower B which faces the main road in front of the hotel which does provide you with some noise throughout the night. Best thing about this hotel is the location but no complaints on the room, cleanliness or service. Good experience.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in the original tower rather than tower B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Don_Francisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    426
    135
    37
    11
See reviews for
111
187
58
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

stayed there for couple of days for business, not far away from tourist attractions, from retail shopping strips, from CBD...and so forth. it has got a lovely lobby and plenty of art work. BUT, i think the interior is a bit tired now. well, it's for business trip. it does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank europaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was impressed by the Capital Hotel in Beijing. It is a 5 minute walk exactly between two subway stops (Chongmenwen - a major transfer hub and Qian Men - Tiananmen Square) on the north side of Qianmen East Street and close to major attractions as well as a small market with fresh food, a couple of convenience stores and some half-decent restaurants.
The hotel has an impressive lobby and check-in was quite quick. This is a large hotel with different restaurants (including a karaoke bar!) and good food at regular hotel prices. If you are willing to make a short walk across or down the street there are better selections for better prices. The front desk people will help you in booking local attractions and giving suggestions if you ask. There are also a few shops in the hotel including a tailor and jeweller. Be careful of scams with people approaching you as 'teachers' or 'artists' inviting you upstairs: they are not real and seem to go about their business without hotel interference.
The hotel has an 'A' and 'B' tower with a variety of configured rooms that are quite spacious. I was in the 'B' tower on a higher floor which gave me a slight view, while a colleague stayed in the 'A' tower, same issue. While I was technically on a non-smoking floor there were ashtrays in the room and on the floor although the room did not smell like smoke. The rooms were not tired looking and upkeep was excellent each day.
The room had two super-single beds that could be combined to make a king. They were comfortable by Chinese standards. There was also a fridge, mini-bar, safe and the bathroom was great with complimentary amenities. The room was quite quiet at night and did not hear a sound outside the door or on either side even though the floor was quite full.
Two bottles of drinking water are complimentary each day. Do NOT drink the water or use at all, even to brush your teeth. If you pay more than 5 RMB for a bottle on the street you are paying too much.
If and when I come back to Beijing I will stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor on the south side you can get. Ensure you ask for non-smoking floor as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrHearsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganey Tikva Israel
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel is big and has an impressive lobby; everywhere you look is nicely decorated.
It is located near the city center not far from Tiananmen Square the Forbidden City and the night food market, (all are a must see attractions while visiting Beijing).
Upon arrival we asked for a non smoking room and were upgraded to a Deluxe room which was a pleasant surprise.
The room is spacious and nicely decorated, there is a flat TV screen, mini bar, complementary tea coffee and water, a safe, and working table with free Wi-Fi internet.
The double bad was a bit firm, so we asked them to solve it, and right away they added a thick blanket over it and then it was pretty good, the pillows were a bit firm too.
The room and the hotel are tidy and clean.
The water pressure in the shower is not so good and there is no curtain in the bath, and the shower door was unable to prevent water to spill on the bathroom floor.
Breakfast is excellent with a very large variety for everybody’s taste.
The service is good and people in the reception are helpful and spoke Chinglish, but all other employees not a word…
All and all a recommended place to stay in Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlonGaneyTikvaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were looking for a hotel that was budget friendly, close to attractions & with a pool, as we were staying with our two younger children. The room was a good size with comfortable beds, the Internet connection was spotty, I had to go to the lobby to connect to certain websites. The breakfast buffet had many choices of western and Asia food. There weren't many choices for restaurants close by (at least we didn't find any). The location is a short taxi ride to most of the major attractions. The front desk & concierge staff were incredibly helpful. Good place to stay if you get a deal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Upon arriving in Beijing, we asked a few people their thoughts of Capital Hotel. Their comments were all positive and I'm glad I listened to them. The room is spartan, but the staff and location was quintessential to our stay here.

We were close enough to sight seeing attractions (Tiananmen Square, Wang Fu Jiang, etc) and local people. The local element was a nice surprise as we were able to ask questions of life in Beijing (my mother spoke Mandarin, I'm super American so only English).

The only detriment to the hotel was lack of good internet access. If I wanted to facetime back home, the connection would drop.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank georgeu761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Me and my wife stayed for 3 days at the place and love the hospitality extended by the Staff . Check in , Check out was Smooth ..Breakfast was up to mark serving all type of dishes .
Rooms were cozy with all basic facilities like Electric cattle , Toilateries , Complimentary Water .

Only issue was language & unavailability of Veg food but these are pretty standard across properties in china .

Proximity to Forbidden square is a plus for Tourist .

Recommended for all type of Travellers

Room Tip: They have A & B wing and all rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandresh_jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,149 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,609 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#58 of 6,520 in Beijing
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#67 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,041 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#108 of 6,520 in Beijing
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Beijing

Property: Capital Hotel Beijing
Address: No.3 Qianmen East Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#73 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing