We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, at the Wangfujing Street, easy to shopping.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hotel Beijing
Ranked #86 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Okemos, Michigan
1 review
“Great location, at the Wangfujing Street, easy to shopping.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great location, at the Wangfujing Street, easy to shopping.Can walk to the Imperial Palace and National Museum Of China. It is an old hotel, but has great food and sevice. I will still live there when I go to Beijing next time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank YUNYAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    426
    133
    37
    11
See reviews for
110
186
57
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel mostly for its location - 5 mins walk to Tiananmen Square and subway stations and business distinct.

We stayed in block a where rooms are slightly bigger than block b's. Rooms are big and clean; beds are comfortable.

Restaurants in the hotel are pricy compared to the ones outside albeit nice. You can get Chinese style breakfast from a shop right opposite the hotel for 1/10 of price . Definitely worth trying out. There are plenty restaurants for lunch/dinner in DongDan (15 mins walks) or local business district.

Being quite an "old" hotel, it is showing its age . That said the hotel is undergoing some renovation which will hopefully modernize its facilities.

I can recommend this hotel to first time Beijing visitors.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank raymandoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The Capital hotel is a luxurious hotel at a very reasonable price. We upgraded to the Club suites on previous review advice and were delighted we did. Aside from the obvious language barriers the staff are happy, helpful and attentive. The breakfast buffet is diverse and plentiful. The only downside is the main restaurant seems to be always booked for private functions so you are left to room service if you want some western style food. The rest of the hotel is well equipped with everything a traveller could want. There are plenty of little stores in the back streets to get some stores rather than pay the usual high mini bar prices in hotels. I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again myself.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, KwaZulu Natal
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is an excellent hotel well situated for visiting many of the central historical sights and the metro station. The rooms on the Capital Club floors are big, well furnished, comfy bed, lovely bed linen, two comfy chairs, desk and chair and bathroom with bath and shower. The staff are friendly and professional. Breakfast is included in the daily tariff for a Capital Club room as are sundowners and snacks. Food was well prepared and very tasty. Concierge knowledgeable and helpful when asked about trips, drivers and English speaking guides.

Room Tip: Worth a few extra bucks to book a room on the Capital Club floors. Excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyBenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a good hotel and well kept, although a little dated. The common areas were clean as was my room and the service was good. My bed was not as hard as the typical Chinese hotel which was a plus. In addition, the comforter and pillows were nice and fluffy. The bathroom was very clean with towels made of quality thick cotton. One nice thing is that the floors/towers are separated by smoking/nonsmoking. I had a nonsmoking floor and it smelled great as did my room. The large window in my room was clean inside AND out so I had a good view of the Forbidden City. My only complaint is the internet is sloooooooow and sometimes so much so that webpages would time out. Overall for the price I feel this is a quality hotel.

NOTE: If coming by subway get off at Chongwenmen station and exit to the northwest. Walk a couple blocks West and its on your right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluesTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Absolutely beautiful old style hotel in Beijing. We photographed the entire reception, lobby, restaurants etc of this hotel. Fish tanks lined the walls together with the carved and lacquered wood panels that lined the whole restaurant. Lovely chandeliers and comfy upholstered chairs and settees. Beautiful gardens with pool and gym. The bed was so comfy with the memory pillows. Very clean. We opted for the linen change every 3 days.

The only downside is that the staff are not proficient in English. Dealing with tourists they must have some basic English education. Just to be able to understand the very basic needs of the clients.

Room Tip: Well insulated rooms. No noise from outside. We had a Superior Room on the 27th floor and were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana De S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good points:
Well located
Lots of facilities
Reasonable food (business dinner in private dining room)
Air conditioning worked, room reasonably equipped.
Quiet
Can't comment on value for money as I didn't pay

Bad points
Wifi so slow it is almost unusable. Trying to check email even worse. Wired internet no better (and you have to pay for it)
My room on 11th Floor smelt of stale cigarette smoke

Room Tip: Avoid 11th Floor, Tower B as it's the smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,136 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#93 of 6,483 in Beijing
414 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#71 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,032 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Beijing

Property: Capital Hotel Beijing
Address: No.3 Qianmen East Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#76 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing