We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beijing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hotel Beijing
Ranked #89 of 6,596 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is an excellent hotel well situated for visiting many of the central historical sights and the metro station. The rooms on the Capital Club floors are big, well furnished, comfy bed, lovely bed linen, two comfy chairs, desk and chair and bathroom with bath and shower. The staff are friendly and professional. Breakfast is included in the daily tariff for a Capital Club room as are sundowners and snacks. Food was well prepared and very tasty. Concierge knowledgeable and helpful when asked about trips, drivers and English speaking guides.

Room Tip: Worth a few extra bucks to book a room on the Capital Club floors. Excellent value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyBenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 829 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a good hotel and well kept, although a little dated. The common areas were clean as was my room and the service was good. My bed was not as hard as the typical Chinese hotel which was a plus. In addition, the comforter and pillows were nice and fluffy. The bathroom was very clean with towels made of quality thick cotton. One nice thing is that the floors/towers are separated by smoking/nonsmoking. I had a nonsmoking floor and it smelled great as did my room. The large window in my room was clean inside AND out so I had a good view of the Forbidden City. My only complaint is the internet is sloooooooow and sometimes so much so that webpages would time out. Overall for the price I feel this is a quality hotel.

NOTE: If coming by subway get off at Chongwenmen station and exit to the northwest. Walk a couple blocks West and its on your right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluesTraveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Absolutely beautiful old style hotel in Beijing. We photographed the entire reception, lobby, restaurants etc of this hotel. Fish tanks lined the walls together with the carved and lacquered wood panels that lined the whole restaurant. Lovely chandeliers and comfy upholstered chairs and settees. Beautiful gardens with pool and gym. The bed was so comfy with the memory pillows. Very clean. We opted for the linen change every 3 days.

The only downside is that the staff are not proficient in English. Dealing with tourists they must have some basic English education. Just to be able to understand the very basic needs of the clients.

Room Tip: Well insulated rooms. No noise from outside. We had a Superior Room on the 27th floor and were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana De S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Good points:
Well located
Lots of facilities
Reasonable food (business dinner in private dining room)
Air conditioning worked, room reasonably equipped.
Quiet
Can't comment on value for money as I didn't pay

Bad points
Wifi so slow it is almost unusable. Trying to check email even worse. Wired internet no better (and you have to pay for it)
My room on 11th Floor smelt of stale cigarette smoke

Room Tip: Avoid 11th Floor, Tower B as it's the smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod_campbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel has a faded charm and was very good value. Its location Is perfect for sightseeing and for the subway. I was upgraded when my room was not ready after a long flight and, although the staff struggled with English, they were extremely accommodating (for which I am grateful as I know only 2 Chinese phrases). I did not use the fitness centre but enjoyed the warm swimming pool - which is open until 23:00hrs. There was a great range of toiletries in the room, along with tea and coffee-making facilities and free wi-fi. The room was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. It wasn't the height of luxury and it has definitely seen better days but I recommend this as a bargain hotel for those wishing to be in "downtown Beijing".

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectraCooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We walk a couple of blocks to the closes subway entrance. (They are in the process of building a subway entrance right across from the hotel.) Once we got used to crossing the streets and dodging on coming cars we enjoyed the walk. We walked to the street food market, Forbidden City, and a maze of shopping malls.

Hotel is clean. They gave us disposable slippers. Suite was nice because I had jet lag so I watch TV in the living room while hubby sleep like a baby. Exchanging money at the hotel was easy and fair. Breakfast was expensive so we ventured outside to the local bakery and neighborhood vendors. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hasammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel may have seen its heyday but it still has the elegance. Location is also good especially if you are used to walking. We came in at around 2 am and the staff on duty was very courteous and spoke good English. I appreciated the ATM that changes various currencies because it truly made it so convenient for us, especially for families travelling together. The lobby was huge and we were allowed to sit by the restaurant while waiting for our tour. My kids loved the pool - they were the only ones swimming there at night...and their lockers are well maintained :) Their restaurant off the side of the hotel where the pool is located was a disappointment though - eat out to get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
The Emperor Beijing Qianmen
#86 of 6,596 in Beijing
326 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#73 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,056 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,596 in Beijing
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#91 of 6,596 in Beijing
924 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#66 of 6,596 in Beijing
2,545 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#70 of 6,596 in Beijing
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Beijing

Address: No.3 Qianmen East Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#79 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $76 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing