We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hotel Beijing
Ranked #84 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a bad choice”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It's a middle-aged hotel. But it's holding up pretty well. Not bright, new, and shiny. But not depressingly drab, old, and worn out, either.

Cons: I wish the air conditioning worked a bit better. Couldn't get the room quite as cool as I wanted it. And the fitness center is poor (a couple stationary bikes and treadmills, and that's about it. No free weights at all).

Pros: For about US $100/night we got a decent sized, and decently appointed room, in a decent location (within walking distance of Tiananmen Square, and less than 10 mins walk to a subway station). For fitness, they've got a fairly big swimming pool, which works well for swimming laps.

Also, there's some very nice Asian arts and crafts decorating the hotel. I enjoyed the Asian ambience it provides.

Overall: Wouldn't rate this as a must-stay. But I didn't find any reason to avoid it, either. Btw, I'm an English only speaker, and that was never an issue. Many of the staff speak English quite well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    426
    134
    37
    11
See reviews for
110
187
57
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phil
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel has 2 buildings and we were checked in at the 2nd building(the building on the right when entering the main entrance). Rooms are quite big and the beds are comfortable. Breakfast buffet at the chinese restaurant at the lobby is superb. Location is so-so, near a lot of government offices and 10 minutes walk to tiananmen square. Overall, im satisfied with my stay

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Capital Hotel is about 2 blocks from Tiananmen Square. Our room was on the 18th floor of the Tower A and overlooked Tiananmen, Great Hall, National Museum and Qianmen. The hotel is well decorated with Chinese furniture and art, which feel like to stay in China, not like other western hotels. The room is nice, clean, large and comfortable. I highly recommend staying in Club room because of the good services, free breakfast, Club Lounge and late check out. It was good value because food and drink in the hotel are relatively expensive. The best of the hotel is the central location. You can walk to Tiananmen Square, National Museum, Forbidden City and Wangfujing shopping area because traffic is very bad in Beijing. You can ask the front desk for a free map of Beijing. It is also a short Taxi ride to see performances in National Theater, and Tianqiao Theater. If you have time to spend in Tiananmen Square, I suggest visiting Zhongshan Park that is next to the west of Tiananmen and Forbidden City. The park is nice, very quiet, peaceful, a good place for bird watch, only charge 3 Yuen for entrance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny201110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a very nice room (with the Club part) that included breakfast and some extra services (drinks from mini-bars, 1 laundry, fruits...)
The situation is quite nice, 10 minutes walk from Tiennamen place... 7 minutes from subway station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissfabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent three nights here (one of many Beijing hotels with ‘Capital’ in their name), as part of a tour group. Had room #1040 in Tower B which overlooked the tennis courts but sadly not Tiananmen Square/Forbidden City which is a 2-kilometre (1.2 mile) walk from this hotel. Room had a dull beige and brown color scheme but was clean with a comfortable bed (but then I prefer a hard mattress). Bathtub drain was slow so at the end of a shower you were up to your ankles in water. Bathroom came supplied with hair dryer, tissues, soap, shampoo, conditioner, bath gel and body lotion plus toothbrush, toothpaste and comb for the truly absent-minded traveler. Two bottles of water were provided per person per day since the faucet water was iffy and a sign at the in-room tea/coffee service said to boil water thoroughly before using for beverages. When we arrived we had an excellent buffet dinner on the 20th floor of Tower A (not in the Italian Ristorante Bologna also on this top floor) with a great night view of the lighted buildings around Tiananmen Square. The extensive breakfast buffet off the Tower A lobby had both Chinese and Western food choices and I arrived shortly after 6:30 AM opening for freshest selection and fewest people. The walk between the two towers provides modest exercise but there is an indoor fitness center with swimming pool and gym plus morning tai chi lessons are given outside at the front of the hotel. A couple of souvenir shops (pearls, painted snuff bottles, small figurines, cloisonné pins, clothing, watches, liquor, packaged snacks, etc.) were open on the second floor but other retail space was vacant. The front reception desk handed out little cards with the address in Chinese so you could show this to a taxi driver to get back to the hotel. I gave reception two postcards to North American with five Yuan (about 80 cents) each for postage and the cards arrived, stamps and airmail stickers attached, at their destinations three weeks later. All told, a pleasant stay. Not the most modern hotel I have ever been in but quite acceptable for a Westerner on a first visit to China. I would come here again (the hotel and the country).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on a high floor with a view of Tiananmen Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xygb7dklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I am extremely fussy, cleanliness is a huge deal for me. This hotel is rather outdated, but service is very good and the rooms and bathrooms are clean. They staff are friendly and the only problem we had was the language barrier. The hotel itself is huge and has an old Chinese feel. Its pretty central and has a foreign exchange machine in the lobby which makes life simpler. They also provide little 'take me to' cards written in English and Chinese in at the info desk in case u need to take a taxi. U can send postcards at the front desk as well (stamp costs 1.50 RMB). There in house restraunts (not my thing, the smell of the food made me wana puke)...

There is a souvenir store upstairs u might wana check out, please check it out 1st coz sometimes the stuff in that shop is much cheaper than what u pay for outside (the locals can be tricksters, but just bargain).

The hotel is close to the Forbidden City and a few malls. Be sure to check out SOSHOW (its what they call a market but is in fact a mini mall)!!!

If ur Indian I suggest u carry some noodle or something to eat in ur bag! :p

Room Tip: Try booking a room in the new wing that's been built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusTy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was nice inside with okay rooms (very stained carpet). It was easy walking distance to many sites. The hotel has a rather odd use of the many facilities in the hotel, many not appearing to be used at all. They had many shops that appeared to be dead with no visitors. The spa was pitch black with nobody to greet you. The bowling alley is now a virtual golf room but nobody seems to use it. They have a Mahogony furniture store with noone ever inside except a group of men playing cards. the restaurants, although very nice, have only two tables filled during dinner. The fitness room is a sorry site for those who want to pump some weights - they dont have any, just a bicycle and treadmill. Very annoying that the fitness person follows you into the pool or gym to watch you the entire time. The whole fitness center seems not to be used anymore, with many things not working, like the sauna. I was really surprised that they charged 5$ for the little packets of instant coffee powder in the rooms. i never would have used them if I knew this. The hotel breakfast got very old after one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,138 reviews
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#70 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#61 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#97 of 6,483 in Beijing
414 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#72 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,032 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Beijing

Property: Capital Hotel Beijing
Address: No.3 Qianmen East Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#74 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing