We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel downtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hotel Beijing
Ranked #86 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great hotel downtown!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel, while begining to show its age, is still a fantastic hotel for the price in downtown Beijing. It is walking distance from Qianmen, Tian'an Men, Wangfujing, etc. The staff are helpful, attentive and were very accomodating. Breakfast, while a bit Chinese styled, was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank E52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    423
    132
    36
    11
See reviews for
109
184
56
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
195 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Beijing Capital hotel is the typical old 1980 state run large hotel.
Decoration is purely old communist state run hotel style, with very large spaces, like the reception and the restaurants and with something that you think should not really be there, like the always closed silk selling shop at the ground floor or the huge always empty verona bar.
Rooms are comfortable with a very hard chinese style bed, that anyway is very relaxing and gives you a good night of sleep and some soreness in the morning.
Food is good, and service is decent.
They had some problem cancelling my authorization on the credit card once finished, but for the rest service is helpful.
There are for sure much better hotels in Bejing where I stayed , but if you find a bargain this is a decent choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGADOTTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Capital Hotel for 3 nights, it is a large hotel in two adjoining towers completed in time for the Olympic Games. In between the two block, visible but not accessible is a garden and pool with Black Swans.

The foyer is large and spacious, and delightfully cool after the outdoor temperature. The staff at reception was courteous and helpful. There is a large bar/seating area in the foyer, but is only for the use of those paying for a drink! On the second floor mezzanine of the foyer are various expensive boutiques and jewellery shops.

The hotel also has extensive conference rooms, ballroom, numerous restaurants and bars. Though we did not use them there is a gym, swimming pool, snooker, & tennis courts; and also sauna and spa. We only had breakfast in the hotel, choosing to take dinner in one of the many restaurants in the locality. The breakfasts were good with a wide selection of foods available – the service was a little slow and waiting staff rather inattentive.

Our room was spacious, modern, very clean and well appointed. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the sound-proofing excellent. Internet access is available. The bathroom was very well equipped as one would expect in a hotel of this style.

The hotel is in an excellent location for visiting the main tourist areas of Beijing, being a mere 10 minutes walk from Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City etc. It is without doubt a perfect location.

We were very happy with the hotel and would be pleased to stay there on our next visit to Beijing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sionnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This hotel is just within walking distance of the central area nd the subway trains I would stay here again.
very spacious hotel good western breakfast and evening meal if required. Staff ere helpful in arranging trips and with information
Room was not as good as expected would say a refurbishment must be due but little time spent in room. Lounge and relaxing area very comfortable.
Tuscany

Room Tip: Ask for a room not too high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuscany444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Beijing was the first stop on our honeymoon in June 2010. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a suite. Our room was very spacious with separate bedroom and sitting room area. The room was extremely clean and comfortable,although the bed which was large was slightly on the firm side but overall did not cause lack of sleep. Being Irish it was great to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
We enjoyed nice views out over the city with two large windows and different aspects.
We ate breakfast in the hotel each morning and found delicious offerings of both eastern and western influences.
Staff were always extremely friendly and welcoming to us.
We found the hotel had a central location and made exploring the wonders of Beijing very easy.
Overall we truely enjoyed our stay in Beijing and will look forward to returning one way. We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DreamTraveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Do not let the looks of the lobby or online pictures fool you into believing the rest of the hotel is that nice. First room had trash on floor, wet carpet just inside entry way, bathroom reeked of mildew, carpet was filthy, sheets and top covers were stained in numerous places, and dirty stained walls. I paid in advance through Travelocity. Made phone call to inform room was unacceptable. They phoned manager and set up conference call. Shift manager relocated and upgraded us to another room. This was only slightly better. Carpet was dirty. For a non-smoking room, it reeked of smoke. On top of all the filth, the hotel has the audacity to charge for internet.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BE20Jockey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Our room was upgraded upon arrival and we had great views of the Forbidden City. Within walking distance of many attractions including Wanfujing Snack Street and Donghuamen Night Market and the subway stop was not far. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,576 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,123 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#68 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hotel Beijing
Grand Hotel Beijing
#94 of 6,473 in Beijing
413 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#62 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,377 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hotel Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel Beijing

Property: Capital Hotel Beijing
Address: No.3 Qianmen East Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#76 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hotel Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 589
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hotel Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Capital Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing