We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,767)
Filter reviews
2,767 results
Traveler rating
737
1,271
516
168
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
1,271
516
168
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationforbidden citysuperior roomnew wingwalking distancepremier loungewangfujing streetnight markettour deskwaldorf astoriacentral locationbuffet breakfastshopping districtbit datedlobby barmajor attractionsfour nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,713 - 1,718 of 2,767 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This was my first trip to Beijing, so I didn't really know where to start when looking for the right hotel for my needs. Novotel Peace came recommended by friends who had stayed at the hotel. Air France and SAS use the hotel as their overnight base. It's quite a large hotel right in the very heart of Beijing city. You won't get any closer to the shops and the famous food street, and all for a reasonable price.

Ups:
- Large rooms
- Newer and delicate bathrooms with complementary bottled water
- Clean
- Great breakfast buffet, you will be surprised!
- Friendly, English / French / Chinese speaking staff
- Complementary Taiji classes on the roof top early in the morning ( a real treat! )
- Well equiped gym
- Swimming pool
- Flatscreen tv
- Very good aircondition

Downs:
- Showers in the changing area ( pool / gym ) are in poor condition and the overall imp-
pression is rather shabby
- The rooms are decorated in brown tones, which gives a little outdated impression
- Internet is really really slow, so don't bother bringing your laptop. Checking your mail is
possible on the two Macs down in the lobby
- The beds are clean and big, but quite hard
- Very few English spoken tv channels, mostly Chinese
- Doors are poorly isolated, so privacy is limited

Overall a very pleasant hotel with lots to offer. Some aspects of the hotel could be improved, like in most hotels, but if you are not too picky you will be surprised by how much you get for your money. If you use Hotel.com when booking, make sure to pick a package which includes breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPeaceBJ, General Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear Lindusen,

Thanks for your fair and comprehensive review of our hotel! I’m glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and we will certainly continue to improve in the areas you felt could have been better!

I’m especially glad that you enjoyed out Taiji classes – and I hope you can continue at home – I’ll look forward to seeing your progress when you return!


Best Regards

Daniel Chao

General Manager

Novotel Beijing Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Our travel agent recommended this hotel for our stopover nights on flights to and from Europe. We hesitated at first thinking we might prefer somewhere with authentic Chinese character and somewhere a little cheaper, but were swayed by our agent's advice. We were so glad that we were. Arriving very tired at 2am after our 11hr flight and all the preceding preparations etc, we appreciated the comforts, space and cleanliness of our room and the public areas. The staff were all lovely, breakfast was amazing. We were ready after five hours sleep to spend the day at the Great Wall and then at the Summer Palace. On our return visit we were upgraded to a suite which was great for sorting out all the shopping we were able to do on that visit. Beijing Peace is a very short walk to a popular shopping district, great and cheap restaurants, hutongs and Tienanmen Square. It is one of the few hotels in Beijing with a pool. Refreshing after a full day of sight seeing and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowenabarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelPeaceBJ, General Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Dear Rowenabarton,

Thanks for your great comments about our hotel! I am genuinely happy that you so thoroughly enjoyed the Novotel Beijing Peace and our service!

With luck we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future – and in the mean time please pass on our special thanks to your travel agent for recommending us!

Sincerely

Daniel Chao

General Manager

Novotel Beijing Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Guests at this hotel come from many nations, speaking many languages. From the staff who clean the rooms the general manager, most hotel personnel go out of their way to make guests feel welcome. There is a genuine willingness to "strike like lightening" to meet guests needs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimwilliamszhongguo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesMarketingDept, General Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Dear Jimwilliamszhongguo,

Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback! We truly appreciate your positive comments and look forward to seeing you often in our hotel!

Sincerely,

Daniel Chao

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at Novotel Peace hotel and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We were "upgraded" to a suite room in the West wing, which we discovered the next morning was the room closest to the construction site next door, which started work at 7am (even on Sunday morning). Additionally, our "non-smoking" room reeked of smoke (so much so that when we arrived home we even had to put our clean clothes through the wash to get rid of the stale smoke smell). When we requested a change of room, we were told that we had already been upgraded, the only other room available was on the same floor, a few doors down.....there was no difference to the noise or the smell! Additionally, our shower drain was clogged so our bathroom flooded twice - despite a service call to get this fixed and our toilet also clogged.

On the positive side, the breakfast is nice and the location is good - although there are quite a few hotels in the same area so it's probably better to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honkers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesMarketingDept, General Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2010

Dear Guest,

We truly regret that your recent stay with us was below your expectations. We especially regret that we were not able to attribute you a room corresponding to your wishes. It is our sincere wish that we will have an opportunity in the future to win back your confidence, and should your travel plans bring you back to Beijing please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to ensure that your next stay is up to the standards you expect.

Sincerely,

Daniel Chao

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Incredible hotel for an incredible price. We took the executive room which has personal concierge service and was only 90 Euro. Breakfast was on top but SO worth it! Continental breakfast with pancakes, bacon, muesli, smoothies, crepe, fruits, scrambled egg and whatever you need....We really enjoyed it as a break between the yummy stir fry chinese food.

The hotel staff was incredible nice, the room was very clean, also the bathroom, nothing to complain about. Everything exactly how you would expect it and wish for....

The hotel is just around the corner from everything important in Beijing. 100 meters from the night food market, 100 meters from the main shopping road, 10 minutes on foot to forbidden city and Tian an meng square. Taxis just all around to grab and go to sights.

We had an incredible time there and can only deeply recommend going to Novotel Peace. It was the perfect stay. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louwuselchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesMarketingDept, General Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Dear Louwuselchen,

Thank you very much for your very kind comments about your experience in our hotel! We greatly appreciate that you choose to stay with us, as well as the extra effort you made to let others know how you felt.


Sincerely,

Daniel Chao

General Manager

Novotel Beijing Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews