We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of a disappointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Beijing Peace

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Beijing Peace
Ranked #59 of 5,937 Hotels in Beijing
Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

If you're searching for an affordable hotel within walking distance to the heart of the city, Novotel Peace is not a bad choice for the price BUT don't expect much. The lobby is deceivingly well-furbished but as soon as you're shown to your room, you'd be a little disappointed. The first three days were were in a twin room. It was a pretty good sized room but it was oddly shaped, facing the backstreet, and worst of all, there must have been some plumbing problems because part of the carpet was wet all the time. We didn't complain because we were barely in our room, but on our 3rd day, half the room was soaked! We received a note from the reception saying that they would like to reassign us to an "upgraded" room on the 12th floor. They should have done this a long time ago but we should also have complained. It was a nuisance packing our stuff and moving on our last evening knowing that we'd have to re-pack the next day. The "upgraded room" was a twin-Queen room with a nice view of the surroundings but there was mould living in the bathroom and its condition was worst that our first room.

Besides our rooms, the facilities and service is a meager "ok". The swimming pool cannot accommodate more than two serious swimmers, breakfast (if not included with the price of the room) is pretty expensive for Beijing standards (15 Euros per person) and although the variety of food is great, you'd get a better deal at local restaurants.

Service? There wasn't quite much besides organized tours which was overpriced. My mom and I paid 600 RMB for a driver to take us to the Great Wall and the Ming Courts. We sorta regretted later as the driver was always rushing us. We decided to go for this option in the first place to AVOID the hectic of tours.

One word of advise: take a whole day for the Summer Place. It's worth it and you can get there easily by taxi. Check out the option of taking a ferry from the zoo.

My mom and I decided that we would split up our week's stay in Beijing first staying at a traditional Hutong courtyard hotel 15 minutes from the city center and then move to a more conventional hotel for the swimming pool and travel convenience. All our knowledge about Beijing stemmed from travel guides and internet sites so we didn't really know the layout of the city. Although Novotel Peace is really close to the Forbidden City (20 minutes walk) and to the shopping district of Wangfujing (5 minutes walk), our Hutong (Ji House Courtyard Hotel: www.jihousecn.com), situated close to Gulou was a much better place to stay in terms of sight seeing and nightlife. It gave us a more authentic feel for Beijing, whereas Wangfujing area is over-priced, over-westernized, and not too exciting. However, the second day of our stay at Novotel, we discovered lots of small, wonderful local boutiques behind the hotel great for shopping.

Verdict: I'd will most likely try another hotel next time. If the price is right (we paid 50 Euros per night which was really cheap), and if you don't plan to spend too much time at the hotel, sure, it's not too bad of an option.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelphileGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    954
    366
    112
    44
See reviews for
460
615
178
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We had a fantastic stay at the Novotel Peace. Great location, very close to Wangfujing shopping and the snack street. Walking distance to Forbidden City and Tiananmen. The room was very clean and comfy, with nice furnishings. And finally, the concierges were beyond fantastic. Friendly, courteous, went above and beyond in making sure that our taxi drivers knew exactly where we were going (and we went to some unusual places). They also can quickly and easily arrange a car to the Wall or other popular spots for a fairly standard price. Really a great place; would recommend to anyone. One note: paid internet in the room, but free wifi in lobby and also two computers in lobby for general quick use.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliajane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeaceHotel, General Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, October 9, 2009
Dear Guest,
I sincerely regret that you were not wholly satisfied with your recent stay at our hotel. The concerned department heads and myself have looked into your criticisms and found that obviously we were slow to notice the water leakage in your room (although of course as you mentioned, as soon as it was noticed we responded quickly by offering a room upgrade).
Please note also that we have thoroughly double checked your second room and understand your concerns regarding the discolored marble (although this is not mold). These areas are scheduled for renovation in the coming 3 months.
Once again we regret that you were not wholly satisfied, and genuinely hope that we will have an opportunity in the future to once again try and demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.

Sincerely
Daniel Chao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We booked this hotel after reading the somewhat positive comments on this site, and locating it on a map....
Well, we did found the location to be near perfect....The hotel is facing the Peninsula (wich has a Bank of China international ATM in its basement floor), Lee's Garden Hotel,etc...I did felt a ''western'' athmosphere in this aera, wich is not bad...it kinda allows you to digest more easily the somethimes-intense sightseeing during the day...There's an entire trendy shopping aera minutes away, with a fantastic shopping center at about 10 min walking from the hotel, with numerous and great restaurants;ranging from Pizza Hut to South Silk Road (wich I highly recommend)...

The Forbidden City is at about 15-20 minutes walk, (for the north gate, if not mistaking), but would suggest to take a cab (about 10RMB), and keep your energy for inside the city, since theres already a lot of walking and standing still inside the city)...The temple of Heaven is a couple of minutes away by cab from the hotel, etc...Theres a very nice tea shop just next to hotel (can't miss the waterfall-tea pot outside)...We did avoid it at first since we where afraid to get scammed there, but actually, after comparing it to Xi An tea shops, the prices are very reasonable...

When we first checked-in, they located us in the west-wing. First thing we noticed is the ridiculeous walking distance from the lobby to the room, and the awfull looking carpet waiting for you in the 4th floor hall....It looks like all the toilets from the floor rooms have leaked and spoiled the carpet...all the way...But the rooms where renovated, and had quite a lot of storage facilities...The bathroom was nice, with a separated glass-shower unit.

After our trip from Xi An, they relocated us in the east-wing, in a corner room, and the room, although a bit aged, was huge, with a nice corner wall-window, etc...

The breakfast brunch is ridiculeously overpriced, the internet is free if don't mind standing up and having some people waiting from you in your back, and reading your e-mails with you (only 2 screens) . If you want tu use it the business office, it costs about 3RMB/minute for internet...

But the worst was probably the service....I wasnt expecting an unforgettable consumer service in China (no offence), but since this hotel is proudly french-owned, they should seriously thinking about teaching the staff to be more friendlier....But I guess that tall-french dude who seems to be the manager there is more busy talking about China's car-prices with the bell-boys than talking care of business...

All in all, its really the location that makes it a great deal for us, since the rest is kinda forgettable...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canadiantrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
433 reviews
227 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

The location is perfect for Beijing, just 3 minutes walk to Wanfujing shopping street. Not too far to the subway, I think about a 10 minute walk. The food in the buffet restaurant was really excellent, and a great value for money. I went to other Beijing buffets, most were much more expensive and not have as good or generous as here. The room was fine, about 3.5 to 4 stars, everything worked great, especially the air conditioning. There is an older and newer tower, the newer seems a bit nicer and more recently refurbished. Compared to other Beijing hotels, this is an outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

I stayed in Novotel with my partner for 5 days in Beijing. We managed to get a good deal online for only USD65 per night.

Location was good, just a stone throw from WangfuJing, although it is about 8mins walk to the nearest MRT station, it was ok. Room was rather small but good. Good housekeeping service and free WiFi in the room and internet at the lobby. Clean sheets and hot water!

Only grasp is the bed is hard. Don't be surprised to wake up to shoulder ache for the first 10mins in the morning. Also, breakfast is USD 17 per pax which is ridiculously expensive! But there is a nearby shopping centre which has Mac 24hrs and eatery that opens at 8am.. and at another corner, a breadshop that opens at 6am so no worries there!

Stay here if you are fine with a run in a mill hotel, with good location.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayleyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,Wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

I was impressed the minute I walked in the lobby. We were immediately greeted by a bellhop who took our bags. My daughter and I arrived at midnight and were told that my son who had arrived at 9:00 a.m. had checked in at that time. I assumed he would have had to wait until the afternoon to get into a room. My request for an extra blanket was immediately met. The room was very clean. The concierge was always very helpful. When he made reservations for us to see an acrobatic show we arrived expecting to be shown to the cheap seats that we paid for, but we were taken the center of the front row. The free buffet breakfast was great. The only thing I disliked was the smoking in the lobby and bar. Unfortunately that seems to be the norm anywhere in China.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneVancouver_Wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

I got put up here on a business trip to Beijing, I didnt have any choice of the hotel. After my business trip I spent 2 weeks travelling round China and when I returned to Beijing I chose the Emperor hotel, which is worth checking out, a little pricier, but fantastic.
I thought the hotel was fine as a business hotel, I spent a very happy week here. The location is great and when I had a little time to myself I was able to quite happily see many parts of the city on foot. The breakfast at the hotel is of a good standard and has a wonderful array of choice from Western and Eastern selections.
The rooms are typical Novotel style, if you have stayed at a Novotel or similar standard chain hotel before you will know what to expect.
The taxi hailing staff outside are fabulous, they ran around outside hailing taxis for me at all times of the day and night, in the rain, everything. Big thank-you to them.
A good pick I think if it suits your budget - enjoy Beijing!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 2,320 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 stars 2,571 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#56 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#57 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 961 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#51 of 5,937 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Beijing Peace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Peace

Property: Novotel Beijing Peace
Address: Jinyu Alley NO. 3 Wangfujing West Street, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#51 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#51 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#53 Family Hotel in Beijing
#67 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Peace 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Peace is ideally located in the city centre at Wangfujing, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and shopping malls. This modern hotel features 402 rooms with broadband & WiFi access, plus free Internet access at the Novotel Mac Corner. Novotel Beijing Peace offers easy access to subway lines and 15-minute walk from Beijing Railway Station. The hotel also features airport transfer service, limousine service and tour desk providing customized city tours. Located in Wangfujing area, city center of Beijing, 300 meters to Shopping Malls, within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Hotel is very close to Temple of Heaven, Jingshan, Beihai, Houhai, South Luoguxiang,Lama Temple, Imperial College, Worker's Stadium and Sanlitun. with easy access to CBD, Embassies, Financial Street, MasterCard Center by subway, public transportation or taxi. WIFI is available and free of charge. 2 Minutes to subway Dengshikou line 5. The hotel is well equipped with two restaurants and two bars and offers great leisure facilities including a swimming pool, bicycle hire, a fitness centre, sauna, Jacuzzi and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Novotel Beijing Peace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing