We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Novotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Beijing Peace
Ranked #62 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Novotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a great stay for three nights at the Novotel. The gym facilities were used and enjoyed, and the pool was great. Two pools, one inside and one outside. The temperature was around 30 so the outside pool was great. The room was lovely, bed a bit hard for me, but otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were delight to read that you enjoying your stay with us and particular satisfying with our service and facilities. It's always good to receive positive comments from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    628
    1,092
    424
    138
    55
See reviews for
532
737
201
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

My family & I (2 adults, 2 kids age 12 and 10) have just had 4 great nights at the Novotel Peace Beijing and thoroughly enjoyed it. We would definitely stay again.

All the other positive reviews are true: very central location (Wangfujing, Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square all within easy walking distance); good level of luxury for much better value than the surrounding 'posher' hotels; good customer service. We disagree with some of the recent negatives: the food was great, both the breakfast and the evening Thai buffet; wi-fi was fine in our room and in other parts of the hotel.

Other parts that were good included the driver arranged by the hotel that took us to the Great Wall at Mutianyu (ask for Ajoe - my spelling - very smooth driver) for a reasonable 700 Yuan and general hotel cleanliness, and also the adjoining room for us and the kids which made it feel like a suite - really handy.

We gave it 4 rather than 5 stars for a couple of minor-ish points. Firstly our two bathrooms smelled a bit odd. Not horrendous, just a bit 'meaty' is the best word. They certainly were not unclean however. Secondly is the swimming pool which is a bit subterranean and in need of a refurbish. The changing areas were a bit musty and the pool itself was cold, no other word for it. This was fine after one sweltering day but at other times was a bit much. It's a pool to have a quick dip into rather than to spend a couple of hours around.

But they are relatively minor negatives and ones that definitely would not prevent us staying there again. It really was excellent value for money in a very central location.

One other thing, the hotel is only just around the corner from Dengshikou subway station. We travelled from the airport via airport express train and then subway. It cost barely more than a tenner. If you aren't put off by underground travel, are reasonably fit without gargantuan cases and have printed off a Beijing subway map in advance, then this mode is definitely worth considering; the subway signage is excellent in English as well as Chinese.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for an adjoining room, if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were regret to read that the bathroom and swimming pool not meet your expectation. We’ll take this into our consideration to improve immediately for the guest satisfaction. Please accept our sincerely apologize for this.

On the other hand, we were glad to know that the service, food, Wifi, and location particular satisfying!

We are looking forward your next visit!

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We booked a stay at the Novotel for 7 days in July. The hotel itself is beautiful and has a very comfortable lounge where many drinks were enjoyed. We were in a standard room in the west wing which is the older part of the building, this included a double bed, ensuite bathroom which was very large, TV, robe, and study desk, there was even space to place a suitcase. The services provided were exceptional, the hotel staff were always very polite and the room was cleaned to a very high standard – usually they would clean it while you were at breakfast. It was expected that being in the older part of the building that some of the fixtures would be tired and they were however still functional.

A few issues that we did have was the bar fridge did not cool our drinks, even after several attempts to change the temperature and the airconditioner was comfortable however would have been nice to be 2 degrees colder – we did not bring these issues up with management as it did not affect our comfort to much while staying there.

I would recommend getting the breakfast included when you book your room, I have had the pleasure of staying in hotels which include breakfast in quite a few Asian countries however I have never seen a spread so large before. The breakfast caters to all walks of life, you will find cereals, multiple types of breads, croissants and other pastries, freshly made waffles and crepes (made in front of you), eggs in any way you want, bacon, sausages, hash browns, salad items, fruits, yoghurts, cold meats, sushi, fried rice, noodles, spring rolls, dumplings and other Asian foods.

We ordered food from the hotel on a few occasions; we ordered room service once but preferred to order down at the lounge as it came out hotter. The food wasn’t amazing but it satisfied our western needs enough. If you order the burger you will be looking at 88RMB and 25RMB for a coke, so it is a little expensive.

The hotel is in a very convenient location, only a 5 minute walk from the Wangfujing shopping street which was nice to walk through on several nights; there are also nice restaurants on the 5th level of the first shopping mall of Wangfujing street for an alternative to the hotel. There is also convenience stores and ATM’s close by.

All taxis but one knew our location when we showed them the Hotels taxi card which meant we always got back ok.

We felt as though the standard room was sufficient for our purposes, we were usually out for majority of that day and the hotel was a clean and comfortable oasis for the night. The best part was waking up to the best breakfast which fuelled you for a big day in Beijing.

Room Tip: If you like to get into an elevator and go straight up to your room do not stay in the older wing as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Accajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were delight to read that you enjoying your stay with us and particular satisfying with our service, room, breakfast, and location It's always good to receive positive comments from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely,

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Very nice foyer and lounge upon arrival. Offered room upgrade to standard suite. Was comfortable and clean. Some of the features were a little tired; I can be picky however and still found it quite alright. Very high standard room cleaning.

Room service food was average and at times delivered cold. Restaurant buffet was outstanding and highly recommended for dinner.

2 unfriendly female staff members on the front desk were quite unhelpful and are probably better suited to work that doesn't involve customer service. Excellent service provided by manager however when complaints were made in regard to them.

Overall a good hotel and relatively chic for a good rate. Would not be surprised if one of the best hotels in the price range.


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrisjames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were regret to read that the Room Service food and front desk service not meet your expectation. We’ll take this into our consideration to improve it immediately. Please accept our sincerely apologize for this.

On the other hand, we were glad to know that the overall stay, room and its cleanliness, and buffet were particular satisfying!

We are looking forward your next visit!

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we received a room upgrade from standard to suite and the room was pleasantly spacious. The decor is something to be desired and the window view was poor. The bathroom was nice and very clean; marble floor and sink. The housekeeping did a fantastic job on a daily basis.

The breakfast was good and diverse, but ending at 10am was a bit early for us. The dinner was very good, and although it's expensive (198rmb), it's better than anything else I had in china. The dessert at the dinner buffet was outstanding.

I have two main complaints. Firstly the staff at the reception often lacked sufficient English to understand queries or complaints. They came across as quite blunt and rude when they failed to understand, and I expect better customer service than that. Luckily the manager was well spoken and helpful each time he was required. Secondly the laundry prices are outrageous. I don't understand how they justify $4 to wash a single tshirt or $3 for underwear. I therefore had to buy washing powder and do my own clothes. This really ruined my whole feeling of staying at a nice hotel since I refuse to pay $40 for a small bag of washing. They hotel staff said nowhere in Beijing is cheaper.

Overall it's worth the stay because after travelling around china for 2 months I can say that customer service is not their strong point.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Youngishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were regret to read that the service of receptionist and laundry price not meet your expectation. We’ll take this into our consideration to improve it in the future. Please accept our sincerely apologize for this.

On the other hand, we were glad to know that the room, housekeeping, breakfast and dinner particular satisfying!

We are looking forward your next visit!

Duan Liming
Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#68 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,824 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#71 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#61 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#56 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Beijing Peace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Peace

Property: Novotel Beijing Peace
Address: No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#51 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#52 Family Hotel in Beijing
#55 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#66 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Peace 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Peace is ideally located in the city centre at Wangfujing, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and shopping malls. This modern hotel features 402 rooms with broadband & WiFi access, plus free Internet access at the Novotel Mac Corner. Novotel Beijing Peace offers easy access to subway lines and 15-minute walk from Beijing Railway Station. The hotel also features airport transfer service, limousine service and tour desk providing customized city tours. Located in Wangfujing area, city center of Beijing, 300 meters to Shopping Malls, within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Hotel is very close to Temple of Heaven, Jingshan, Beihai, Houhai, South Luoguxiang,Lama Temple, Imperial College, Worker's Stadium and Sanlitun. with easy access to CBD, Embassies, Financial Street, MasterCard Center by subway, public transportation or taxi. WIFI is available and free of charge. 2 Minutes to subway Dengshikou line 5. The hotel is well equipped with two restaurants and two bars and offers great leisure facilities including a swimming pool, bicycle hire, a fitness centre, sauna, Jacuzzi and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Beijing Peace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing