We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price for an upscale area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Beijing Peace
Ranked #62 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights in mid-December. We called a few days ahead to see if they would be able to do an early check-in for us. We landed straight from LA at 5:30 in the morning, got to the hotel around 6:30am and our rooms were ready. The room was a little small, but manageable. I giggled at first to see we had received 2 twin sized beds (I believe it's pretty standard in China). However, the beds were quite firm, but we slept fine. Anything better than sleeping on an airplane right? Bathroom was updated. A great price for the area on the same strip as the Peninsula and a Waldorf Astoria. I felt like it was definitely a smart decision to book the Novotel Peace for our stay in Beijing!

We did not get a chance to check out the food in the hotel, as we were on vacation in a foreign country and wanted to test out all the local restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thisiscynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were delight to read that you enjoying your stay with us and particular satisfying with our service, location and early check in. It's always good to receive positive comments from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely,

Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 2,516 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our second trip to Beijing at this time of the year! Both hotels in Wanfujing, and this hotel would run a distant second to the Park Plaza. Having said that I can find no serious flaws with the Beijing Peace! We booked via Accor, 2 rooms, and as seems to be standard when booking via the hotel websites, there is mass confusion and never the right rooms or right fitments required. We asked for a double room for one couple and a family room to include a double bed a childs bed and a cot for an infant. We got those rooms OK but on opposite sides of the hotel and different floors and different not connected wings. However "If you like to pay a surcharge of 125RMB per night we can give you the same type rooms but connecting" of course no con or scam to drag a few extra bucks just a consideration for the hotel helping us to stay together.
I had paid via the Accor website but the hotel "Cannot find any record of the payment actually being received" so I have to pay again, then when we get home sort it out between Accor and the MasterCard people. Three times we booked through web sites and three times we have been shafted, so I will seriously consider using travel agents for future trips, more expensive but my China agent is available 24/7 to sort problems but Agoda (Who suck big time) takes 5 days to reply to an urgent email) and Acorn don't seem to have anyone who can assist in a fast manner.
Rooms were suitable but small when compared to some. Internet was very good as it is in most Chinese hotels nowadays and of course free. As is the Wi Fi. Bathroom was OK, but first time I have stayed at Chinese hotel with no bath, shower only, one excellent feature is the large shower rose in the ceiling of the shower, great for washing hair and especially as the Chinese showers are set at 5foot nothing and people of normal 6ft size get a sore back trying to wash your hair.
Room service food is excellent, best I have ever had I think, the pizza was great and although a "single" 2 of us just made it through one. Our other family also reported great satisfaction with the room service food, after just coming from a hotel in Nanning which was awful this was a great change.
Restaurant was very good, we were here for New Year Eve so had the seafood buffet, which did not actually have much seafood, but the rest was great as much as you like and freshly cooked.
Breakfast was OK but if you are early (6am) they are not ready and you have to either wait for 30 minutes till they are or just take whatever is ready, which we had to do as we were often in a rush, but if late (8am) it is so crowded it is easier to go elsewhere for food.
There are some great restaurants close by in either direction on the road the hotel is on and we tried different ones every day!
Of course the women liked Wanfujing street and shopped tilled the men dropped and then left the men to go and do more shopping. I have never seen more expensive watch shops in my whole life than in Wanfujing and surrounds.
Only a 1200m walk to Tiananmen and the Forbidden Palace. (Well more like 2k when you add in the fact that you have to walk to the front of the Palace, but walk it don't use a cab, you can't get lost and it is well worth the time to see all the locals.
All in All a pretty good hotel and would have no problem staying here again, as I said it is hard to match up against the Park Plaza Wanfujing which I still hold as the best hotel I have ever stayed at and that is from a more than 20 year 3rd passport traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest
Thanks for chosen Novotel Beijing peace as your accommodation in Beijing .
We appreciate you sharing your comments with us .
We were regret to read that the reservation and room allocate was not meet your expectation . We apologize for the inconvenience caused .
On the other hand ,we were glad to know the location and restaurant were satisfying!
We wish you have a great year in 2014 , we looking forward the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Regards

Patty Pang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at the this hotel in April 2013 and was not very impressed. When I arrived to the hotel no one came out to greet me and take my bags from the taxi, so this was up to myself to do. Bed was very hard and room was rather dirty. On a positive note the buffet breakfast and food at this hotel were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Thomas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were regret to read that the concierge service not meet your expectation. We’ll take this into our consider to improve it in the future. Please accept our sincerely apologize for this.

On the other hand, we were glad to know that the breakfast was particular satisfying!

We are looking forward your next visit!

Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Ok hotel, average. Was clean, comfortable but nothing special. Felt at was rather drab in places. Customer service was acceptable. English speaking was decent. Breakfast was ok, large selection. Location good, close to Wong Fu Jing. Good food markets to wonder around there and visit

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Suely T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were regret to read that the average service not meet your expectation. We’ll take this into our consider to improve it in the future. Please accept our sincerely apologize for this.

On the other hand, we were glad to know that the location, cleanliness and staff English were particular satisfying!

We are looking forward your next visit!

Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights..reached hotel in about 45 minutes on Saturday afternoon in a prebooked airport pick up..check in was smooth with minor surprises. The double bedded room I had requested was not available and it was 1 pm. They told me that it will take 30 minutes to get that room ready else they can offer me a bigger room that is twin bedded...we contemplated for a moment and because of long incoming flight and lure of a bigger room , we took that room. Frankly, we were not disappointed. Room wa quite big and well furnished. My only concern was that it was next to the elevators but the sound proofing was exceptional in the room. Beds were soft and TV had more than few English channels. Complimentary tea & coffee were really good. View from the room was not too great but hotel's location is excpetional. Walking distance from Wangfujing road , forbidden city and Tianeneman square. I would stay here again for sure..breakfast spread was huge and open for long 4 hours..while returning , took the cab with the help of hotel doorman..about 110 RMB to the airport ....fair & square ...

Room tariff also very reasonable with breakfast inclusive..

Room Tip: Superior rooms are good but standard rooms are also not bad at all..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkitSaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were delight to read that you enjoying your stay with us and particular satisfying with our service, location, room and breakfast. It's always good to receive positive comments from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely,

Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Enjoy the wonderful days in Beijing as the tour desk of this hotel helped us a lot.
The location of hotel is really good. All the staff provided the excellent services. They tried to help & satisfy all we needed. We felt comfort in staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Beijing Peace as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Beijing and at the same time taking the time to sharing comments with others here .

We were delight to read that you enjoying your stay with us and particular satisfying with our service, location and tour desk. It's always good to receive positive comments from you.

We all look forward to welcoming you again to Novotel Beijing Peace.

Sincerely,

Quality and Training Manager
Novotel Beijing Peace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Hi...i spent 7nights in a standard twin room...room was a bit small but facilities are good. Housekeeping staff was efficient...front office too. And not forgetting the concieges team. Breakfast was good..varities of food to suits international guest. Many western guest stays here.
But one thing i m not satisfied with is when i report for a lost item(my gold ring) ..they dont really care,3 especially this one particular lady front officer..she talk a bit rude with us as if we made up the story. I am confident i accidently left it in the toilet where i always put my ring. But she said ., nobody found it. Its impossible!!! Somebody must have took it when cleaning the room after we check out. So, to notovel please be responsible and alert with this kind of cases.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank RISMANSUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,681 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#30 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,962 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,568 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,565 in Beijing
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Beijing Peace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Peace

Address: No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#50 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#52 Family Hotel in Beijing
#54 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#65 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $75 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Peace 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Peace is ideally located in the city centre at Wangfujing, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and shopping malls. This modern hotel features 402 rooms with broadband & WiFi access, plus free Internet access at the Novotel Mac Corner. Novotel Beijing Peace offers easy access to subway lines and 15-minute walk from Beijing Railway Station. The hotel also features airport transfer service, limousine service and tour desk providing customized city tours. Located in Wangfujing area, city center of Beijing, 300 meters to Shopping Malls, within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Hotel is very close to Temple of Heaven, Jingshan, Beihai, Houhai, South Luoguxiang,Lama Temple, Imperial College, Worker's Stadium and Sanlitun. with easy access to CBD, Embassies, Financial Street, MasterCard Center by subway, public transportation or taxi. WIFI is available and free of charge. 2 Minutes to subway Dengshikou line 5. The hotel is well equipped with two restaurants and two bars and offers great leisure facilities including a swimming pool, bicycle hire, a fitness centre, sauna, Jacuzzi and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Beijing Peace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing