We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Beijing Peace
Ranked #64 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The location is really great: 2 blocks from a 5 story mall, near the night food market (local, street fare set up nightly), across the street from the subway (which is actually very easy to get around on - and believe me, I don't speak a word of Chinese), near high/upscale shopping, and a few blocks from Tiannaman Square and the Forbidden City.

Rooms were pretty basic, but comfortable. Down side is bed was realllllly hard, like sleeping on a floor with a thin mattress. Internet connection was very slow, and not reliable.

Staff were very helpful and personable.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betdonoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Beijing Peace.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,129 - 1,135 of 2,528 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Novotel an a club floor, and were delighted with our stay. Rooms are well appointed, spotlessly clean, and maintained to an extremely high standard.The Club lounge on the top(19th) Floor serves continental breakfast(included), and a complimentary happy hour (2 hours in fact) every evening. The breakfast served on the ground floor level is copious and well served. Location is good, but since Peking is so vast( 20 million population) you will need a taxi (make sure the meter is working) to get any where you want to go, unless its across the street to the Peninsula Hotel shopping arcade which has EVERY luxury brand you ever heard of and probably a few you haven't! Also walking distance is the pedestrianised shopping street, and the night food market ( open air street food)
.A very pleasant hotel on all counts

Room Tip: Try the club level floors, worth the extra few €'s with all the free stuff you get
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveled-Gourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Beijing Peace.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

couldn't be better for my affordability. loved the use of sauna & pool each day, the buffet breakffast & watching the people & activity on the street outside, plus the internet in the foyer, map & directions, very welcome enviroment

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank nehahello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
li b, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for chosen the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace as your accommodation during your recent visit to Beijing and at same time taking the time to sharing your comments with others here.

We were delighted to read that your overall experience were satisfy! I will share your satisfaction with our team.
We all look forward to welcoming you again to NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.

Sincerely
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Picked this hotel based on reviews and pictures. Wanted something that was central, clean and of decent (international) reputation. This hotel mostly fit our needs. Took a taxi from the airport directly to the hotel (luckily I had come prepared and had our hotel written in Chinese characters as the drivers do not understand english - we also had to ensure that we weren't ripped off on price which they tried!!) First impressions were good, the reception staff spoke english. We were taken to our room which was in the west wing which was slightly older than we understand the other wing is but our room was clean, decent size, shower, toilet (western style - which was crucial!!) was cleaned daily and shampoos etc replaced when required. We used room service and it was fine. We had included buffet breakfast which was good. There was a mixture of western and chinese cuisines, made to order eggs and pancakes, fruits, danishes, cereals, toasts, hot foods etc. The station is about 10 mins walk up wangfujing street and inside a massive shopping centre. Each trip is 2 RMB which is cheap as chips. It was very easy to follow and the machine to purchase your tickets is written in both chinese and english. There were however 2 things which disappointed us. 1 was that the smell of the smoke on the smoking levels was overpowering and it was annoying that we were on level 6 (non smoking) but had to walk past the smoking rooms to get to the lift and 2 we had pre-organised tours not organised through the hotel to central beijing (forbidden city, temple of heaven, summer place etc and the great wall) but had decided to purchase our tickets for the acrobatics show through the hotel. We went to the tour desk and organise the which day we wanted and paid for it. We were told to come back the day of the show about 5pm to collect our tickets. we did this but as the tour lady wasn't there we were told to come back in 30 mins on her return. we decided to go past on our way to the show. we had to wait as she was serving someone else. she then gave us a note that told the taxi driver were we wanted to go and said that we were to pick up our tickets at the thearte and just show our receipt! we explained that we were using the subway and should have just been told this at the start. after a bit of hassle trying to find the correct exit at the subway we went to the ticket box where we were told to go inside, inside they looked at our receipt but didn't really understand or know what was happening. after about 10 mins of them just standing around and making 1 call i went up to them and in basic english asked what the issue was. they asked us to just wait for a bit. i said we had already missed 10 mins of an hour show and reluctantly they let us in. about 30 mins later someone had provided us with our tickets. i wouldn't have been pleased if we had missed half the show! the ticket fiasco could have been better organised. either we collect the tickets from the hotel or the thearte people are made aware of what our receipt means.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Beijing Peace.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I have been to Beijing several times and this trip booked the hotel through a travel agent that had arranged a tour for us as well....so the price was right. The pluses: aside from a good rate, the location was close to the sights, shopping and restaurants. The bar was adequate after a long day of touring and the breakfast had a selection with something for everyone. The minuses:the room was small (but many are in Beijing), a bit dated and warm - we ended up opening the window at night. The biggest drawback was that we had to take 2 different lifts to our room and then walk up a flight of stairs. My Mom has a bad knee and it got to be a bit much for her after 3 days.

Room Tip: Get a room closer to the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.

We were regret that room not meet your expectation ,we apologize for all inconvenience caused by us.

On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that you appreciate our location . .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Can't beat the location of this hotel. It's maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the subway and 5-10 minute walk to Tiananmen (very central). There's shopping and lots of food places near.

The morning breakfast is AWESOME! Make sure you get it included in your room because it's pricy.

Also make sure to check out the gym (very nice as far as hotel gyms go), sauna, and pool. All were very much above hotel standards. I thoroughly enjoyed working out and swimming there. Plus the locker room was very nice too.

The room was decent, bathroom was nice. But my goodness, the bed was the hardest thing I have ever slept on. It felt like sleeping on a board. I flipped over the covers & "the mattress" looked like only a box spring. I called the front desk to request a "more comfortable mattress" (a sign on the bed said this was possible) and they brought up a mattress topper a la college (one of those small foam things). I kid you not, my college dorm mattress was more comfortable. I'm not sure if hard mattresses are just standard for China or if Novotel was cutting corners, but it sucked. I may be spoiled from our foam mattress at home but this was beyond ridiculous.

Despite the mattress issue (which I'll just chock up to Chinese mattress standards) the breakfast and overall quality of our room and the gym makes this hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Novotel Beijing Peace.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty pang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The entrance to the lobby gave good impression but the room did not measure upto the Novotel standards. More like cheap hotels, both from size and from decore perspective. Also, it is so inconvenient to reach the rooms since there are no direct lifts.
Unlikely to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Harish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pattyp537, Manager at Novotel Beijing Peace, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the NOVOTEL Beijing Peace.

We were regret that our standard room not meet your expectation ,we apologize for all inconvenience caused by us. we hope we will have opportunity to welcome you back to experience our superior or premier room which located in main building in the future.

On the other hand ,We are pleased to read that the entrance of lobby were satisfying!. .It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and in the meantime, if I may be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Patty Pang
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#67 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,691 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,586 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
Hilton Beijing Wangfujing
#25 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Beijing Peace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Beijing Peace

Address: No.3 Jinyu Alley, Wangfujing, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100006, China
Location: China > Beijing > Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#50 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#52 Family Hotel in Beijing
#56 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#65 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $77 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Beijing Peace 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Beijing Peace is ideally located in the city centre at Wangfujing, within walking distance of the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square and shopping malls. This modern hotel features 402 rooms with broadband & WiFi access, plus free Internet access at the Novotel Mac Corner. Novotel Beijing Peace offers easy access to subway lines and 15-minute walk from Beijing Railway Station. The hotel also features airport transfer service, limousine service and tour desk providing customized city tours. Located in Wangfujing area, city center of Beijing, 300 meters to Shopping Malls, within walking distance to Tiananmen Square and Forbidden City. Hotel is very close to Temple of Heaven, Jingshan, Beihai, Houhai, South Luoguxiang,Lama Temple, Imperial College, Worker's Stadium and Sanlitun. with easy access to CBD, Embassies, Financial Street, MasterCard Center by subway, public transportation or taxi. WIFI is available and free of charge. 2 Minutes to subway Dengshikou line 5. The hotel is well equipped with two restaurants and two bars and offers great leisure facilities including a swimming pool, bicycle hire, a fitness centre, sauna, Jacuzzi and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Beijing Peace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Peace Beijing
Novotel Peace Beijing
Novotel Beijing
Beijing Novotel
Novotel Peace Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing