We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for fine stay”
Review of Jinyu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jinyu Hotel
Ranked #741 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Over the course of past many a years, i have stayed in this place everytime i visited my team in Beijing - primarily because the Beijing Office was in the same premises as this hotel. Great set of rooms - luxury at its best with value rates. Rooms have the aura of royalty - with golden color all over the place. Bathrooms have both the bathtubs as well as separate shower.

They have great airport transportation - the person will meet you right outside the disembarkment point outside the plane. So, you step outside the plane and you are in good hands - though lately i didn't need this but it can be great a facility for someone visiting Beijing/China for the first time.

Breakfast is OK - but then this is coming from someone who always found it hard to align with Chinese style meals. But in general, comapring with other places, i found the food to be lacking. Though you could visit some great restaurants that are right in the same premises though outside the hotel.

Great gym.

And there is a massage parlour right outside and next to it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyManNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 120 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

I've stayed at the Marriott Beijing Hotel West several times, primarily because the location works better than the Chaoyang District hotels for me when I am doing business in NW Beijing. This is an older property, and it is in reasonably good condition.

The only problem I've experienced at this property was a room that had a strong odor, but I was able to get moved to another room when I made the front desk aware of the problem.

My rooms have generally been spacious and in good working order. The beds tend to be firm, and comfortable. WiFi is available in rooms, as well as in public areas.

The breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant is good, not great. It is below average for a Marriott property in Asia. Service (e.g., getting coffee) is mixed.

The Executive Lounge is adequate, but also below average for a Marriott property in Asia. Again, service is mixed. It all depends on who is on duty.

The fitness center actually is a Bally Total Fitness club in a building connected to the hotel. The good news is that there is a LOT of equipment, including machines and free weights. On the down side, the ventilation is poor, so it can be hot, and the staff do not understand or speak English.

Summary, I may stay here again because of the location, but this is not my favorite property in Beijing. I much prefer the JW Marriott. Of course, that is not a totally fair comparison, since the JW bills out at a higher rate per night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Hearing dubious reports about the Kingwing from another group that was touring China ahead of us, our tour guide was able to switch us into the Marriott Beijing West at the last minute. We were very satisfied with the service level and English speaking level of the staff, as well as the spaciousness of the rooms. The bed was excellent (extra large king size), as were the pillows. The bathroom was also spacious, although the tub did not have the advertisded jacuzzi element. Didn't make it to the pool, but it looked very nice. The wireless internet is free to Marriott Preferred Guests (they have an application form waiting it you are not a member when you check in), and it was able to handle decent size downloads and uploads with ease.
The breakfast buffett is outstanding, and the service level of the dining staff is excellent. It is clear that the staff work hard on their English speaking skills.
There is an excellent Korean BBQ restaurant located just a few doors away (not clearly marked, so get the name from the concierge), and if you venture past it to the end of the long block and then turn right, there are several inexpensive local restaurants with indoor and outdoor dining.
Location-wise, it's on the 3rd ring road, and splits the distance between the Forbidden City and the Summer Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

Somewhat a let down for a Marriott… We had planned to stay for two weeks, but after 4 nights, we chose to swap to a better location.

The good: Room was large, well equipped and nicely decorated. The big bath with Jacuzzi was a nice “extra”. Internet access, though wired access, was easy and good quality. Concierge was pleasant and helpful. Most staff had very good English skills. Gym services provided in the facility (4th floor) through Bally club opened promptly at 6AM and has MANY machines that are well maintained.

The not so good:
- The hotel itself seemed "dated" and old. The lobby is not really impressive or special.
- Only 2 small elevators: ended up walking down a couple times since we were on the 5th floor so elevators full in the AM.
- For the 4 nights we were there, we only saw one guy in the Lobby Lounge drinking a beer. No music, no action. Quite dull!
- The shower in the room was OK though fixtures were somewhat dated and getting consistent hot water was an issue
- The lighting in the room was weird: the room was always somewhat dark.

Why we moved to another hotel:
- Location was terrible! Very little of interest around the site. Area was somewhat dirty and rundown. No metro. Limited shopping. I went to work every day, but my husband was stuck. After he toured the CCTV tower there was nothing else to really see here. He ended up taking a taxi to different locations every day to explore.
- We had no interest in eating at the hotel every night and morning. Too high priced!
- There were a couple of interesting little bakeries (not open until 8AM – too late for breakfast) and the area restaurants were few (Pizza Hut and Subway!) and not terribly interesting.
- Getting water at the hotel was a hassle. 2 small waters a day. Most hotels we have stayed at, complementary water is easy – here, not so much. Totally strange for a 5 star!? And no complementary water at the health club: I didn’t think I would need money at 6AM so the “dry” workout was not pleasant and the small waters from the hotel go FAST when on the elliptical…:-(
- The customer site I needed to go to daily was far from this hotel and many taxi drivers could not even find it! From the new hotel, I still need to take a taxi, but I am told taxis there are much easier to get and it is a well known/recognized location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Ok so they are running a special 3 for 2 price of 278 Y each so for < $100 3 people had unlimited wine, sushi/sashimi, steak, shrimp, lobster, dessert bar. Hotel itself is pretty good - we were able to get a special rate (non refundable) of 1100Y which included breakfast on 17th floor. Huge bathroom - free wifi in the lobby & 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daveCarlsbad2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

I honestly expect more from JW Marriot. I was there for 3 weeks, heard kids crying next door every morning for the 1st week, after the family moved out, a teenager is blasting stereo every 8-9 at night..... the room is clean and tidy sometimes, not so tidy sometimes, with spoon not replaced, or cup not replaced.... BTW, the tap water is dirty and stinks even after I boiled it. Location is not good, it is away from CBD, financial street, shopping area and tourist hotspots.

If you have a choice, go to Hilton (Dong Fang Road) or Crown Plaza (Wuzhou), which I stayed and loved.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Well, to be honest, I am disappointed, more so, by going there right after staying in kempinski. So may be my expectations were high. But the building, the first look, everything right from the beginning disappointed me. The lobby was very average, not at all impressive, and I firmly believe that th first impression counts. Rooms were nice but then the heater in my room was not working on day1. What disappointed me even further that they didnt check it before giving the room out to a guest? Also, they have problem if you ask for more bottles of water...am not at all satisfied with their service

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aditimitrasinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#18 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,589 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#66 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#32 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,972 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,192 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Novotel Beijing Peace
Novotel Beijing Peace
#64 of 6,568 in Beijing
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinyu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinyu Hotel

Address: No.98 Xisanhuan North Road, Beijing 100037, China
Location: China > Beijing > Gongzhufen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#384 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: $115 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jinyu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jinyu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Beijing
Beijing Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing