We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Chinese hotel”
Review of Hyde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyde Hotel
Ranked #172 of 1,419 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Staff speaks English and there is a nice café for breakfast, snacks and dinner next to the lobby. Rooms are clean and comfortable although the beds are very (!) hard. We had no problem with hot water. We rented some bikes from the hotel, very nice to bike around Beijing.

The hotel is a bit difficult to find in the Hutongs but if you take the subway to Qianmen take exit C turn left (across the busstation) and walk through the new shopping street. When you pass the H&M turn right and walk in this street (you will see a train ticket office on the corner of the street behind the shopping street) walk straight on and you will see the red sign of the Hyde hotel on the right side. (walking takes max 10 min from the subway)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 55 of 121 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved the room, no closets but that is okay because they have wall pegs to hang clothing. The bathroom was a wet room, nice and clean with no mold. The only draw back was the stairs. I have bad knees so I limited the number of times I had to climb the stairs. The staff helped me by carrying my luggage for me and I want to thank them for there help.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheerytravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The main advantages of this place is in its value for money, and the good location. However, the place has many disadvantages: the rooms are very small, the bed is very uncomfortable (even in comparison to the regular uncomfortable beds in China), the water was not that hot, and it was really amazing that the hotel stuff did not know basic stuff like how to get from the hotel to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadavAmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My husband and I seniors stayed in September for 9 nights. Staff are so friendly and helpful to us. The hotel is just 10 minutes walk from Forbidden City and just aroud the next corner is a traditional street that you can buy your souveniers cheaper than the tourist markets. The hotel is so clean. however do face the fact that the beds are hard which is the traditional chinese way. Would recommend it to any seniors that may be a little nervous about doing their own sightseeing.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cooky1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Good value for money. Very nice and helpful staff. Cosy building, but the the room was small. The bathroom was okay clean. WiFi coverage was rather unstable.

The breakfast was okay, tough heavily overpriced.

Location is great, close to the Tianamen square. The hotel can be a bit difficult to find. Make sure you find the small alley where it is placed by going along Meishi street, as the street sign at Qianmen st is only in Chinese.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGNcph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Booked the hotel well in advance for two people, myself and a friend who lives in China, and the price was amazing. It took us a while to find it, but that was because we didn't come prepared, so the fault in that lies completely with us. The location of the hotel couldn't be better, as it had the subway station mere 5-10 minutes away, the Forbidden City was not that further out, as well as the shopping street nearby and a lot of restaurants on the other side, with a little gem of a bakery close by. The staff were friendly, the room was nice and clean, with kettle and two mugs, although no tea/coffee, so we had to get it ourselves. I didn't ask for breakfast to be included into the price of the stay, although that was possible, so we had to pa for it, but it wasn't expensive and was rather lovely. The only downside to it was that on our last day we had to wait so long for the person to appear to take our orders that we decided not to bother with having the breakfast as we didn't want to miss our flights.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Katya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was our 2nd hostel during our Beijing section of the trip. Location was key, as it was about 10 minutes from qianman metro station, which is a main line station, making it easy to get around. Located in a hutong which has been slightly redeveloped in areas artificially, but certain areas remain authentic to the hutong residential areas.

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm, which was VERY comfortable. lots of space. No air con, and as we travelled in July, we suffered but no more than we did anywhere else on our trip. No western toilet, but one shouldn't really expect one anyway. Great shower. Good bar and helpful english speaking staff. lockable cupboards in rooms too.

Room Tip: 4 bed dorms are cheap and private enough to enjoy your space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BearFarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
#2,648 of 6,564 in Beijing
12 reviews
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#192 of 6,564 in Beijing
318 reviews
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,419 in Beijing
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Nostalgia Hotel Beijing Yonghe Lama Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Hotel

Address: No.11 Shijia Hutong, Qianmen Meishi Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 1,419 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: $29 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hyde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing