We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not an hotel, more like an hostel but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hyde Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyde Hotel
Ranked #160 of 1,292 Beijing B&B and Inns
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not an hotel, more like an hostel but...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

1st thing is about the street where hotel was located; narrow, far from the main street to walk with baggage, as taxi doesn't enter. There is no elivator, so be ready to carry your bags up to the room. There is no shower pan, you have to have your shower somewhere between the sink and toilet pan. Beds are like made of stone. There is another hotel just on the main street with the same price in a much much better condition and even with breakfast. Don't bother yourself with this so called "hotel" unless the rate is not more then 100RMB.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilknureg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    30
    16
    7
See reviews for
18
31
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

The good points? The location is fantastic for shopping around Qianmen and for walking up to Tiananmen Square. My room was reasonably clean. The staff spoke good English and tried to be helpful.

The bad points? My room stank of cigarette smoke when I arrived, which took 2 days with the window open to clear. The bed was the hardest I have ever slept on, even in China. I ended up using the seat cushions as well. The hotel does no food and drink at all except for a water cooler in the lobby. The electronic card for my room and some others did not work at all during my 3 day stay, I had to ask a member of staff to let me in every time. The rooms have no safes, iron, fridge etc.

The street the hotel is on is a pretty typical hutong and seems OK, but families be warned - there are a few sex shops along it. There is a friendly little shop a few doors along from the hotel selling drinks and snacks.

This is not really a hotel at all, more a basic but decent hostel.

Room Tip: Often in China a larger room is more expensive but has no more facilities than the smaller ones, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonathanandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beijing hotels

rijswijk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The reviews of this hotel is from the staff itself I think...
The location is perfect, only 10 minutes walk to the Forbidden City and Tianemen Square. In the middle of a shopping area with big shops but also little Chinese shops, lots of places to eat etc. and still quiet during the nights. Really in the hutong. There is wireless internet in the hotel. The courtyard is nice but not open, so you sit inside (good in the winter).
The room we had, had no windows, was very small and we almost had to sit on the toilet to shower!! The showerhead was just above the toiletseat.
The matrasses are made of wood, very hard!!!
They didn't clean our room in all the days we were there. The room had mould all over the walls up to 1 meter, the room smelled dampy and mouldy and the wallpaper was coming of the walls because of the mould and there was no window to open.
Some of the staff speaks English, some don't, which is quite a hassle. The staff isn't very friendly at all the time.
So, I think there are better hotels for this price in Beijing (no elevator!). They also rent rooms by the hour..........

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank len m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

OK, now w egot this hotel for just 28 euros on booking.com, we booked primarily for location which is just 5 minute walk from Tian anmen Square and the nearest metro station is even nearer.
The hotel is down a traditional chinese alley but just a 1 minute walk leads you onto the pedestrianised Qianmen Street.
There are lots of local shops and restaurants nearby but to be honest we steered clear of most as they double the cost of everything for foreigners against the chinese tourists who are also there.
The room was "compact" but reasonably clean and the shower "room" worked but was a little run down although all toiletries were replenished daily!
There were 2 staff who spoke good english and were willing to aid with anything from printing paperwork to writing adresses in chinese.
Ideal for a quick stop but for a longer stay pay more.

Room Tip: Pay more, go for the deluxe, like any hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#174 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Chongwenmen
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
Splendid Zhuang Hotel
#824 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#129 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
Qianmen Hostel
Qianmen Hostel
#17 of 1,292 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Tiananmen Best Year Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Hotel

Property: Hyde Hotel
Address: No.11 Shijia Hutong, Qianmen Meishi Street, Xicheng District, Beijing 100051, China
Location: China > Beijing > Chongwenmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 1,292 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing