We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steak in China”
Review of The Cut

The Cut
Ranked #81 of 12,840 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $120
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Guomao
Description: The Cut steakhouse, located on the 2nd floor in the Fairmont Beijing, offers the finest choice of Australian and Canadian beef in Beijing. It provides the perfect environment for business and family / friends dinners or for any other occasion that demands a perfect meal.The young team of the Cut is looking forward to host you soon and make your time memorable.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The steak was incredible. Best steak in China, choice of 20 steak knifes, 9 different sauces. Probably the best in the world actually.

Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback. We are proud that we could make your visit in The Cut memorable and look forward to have you back with us in not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut Steakhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 73 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went for a weekday lunch, excellent value 3 course menu for 200 Yuan instead of the original 500 Yuan pricetag. Steak was succulent and undoubtedly one of the best in Beijing, if not the world. The Cut Lifestyle Salad is refreshing and one of the best salads Ive in eaten in Beijing as well. Minnestrone soup had a good taste and the seafood ingredients were fresh. The Chef was really generous in the minnestrone soup by giving so many small clams.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank letitsnowletitsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear letitsnowletitsnow,

thank you so much for taking time and writing about your lunch at the cut Steakhouse. Our just recently launched concept of Fast Easy and Delicious food for lunch is currently our bigges pride and receiving that kind of feedback shows that we are on a good way.
We hope to welcome you very soon again at our restaurant.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on Christmas Day and it was fabulous. From the pre-dinner cocktails right through to after dinner drinks, the food, service and atmosphere were exceptional. We were served by Frank, Icy, Blessing and others (whom I regret I didn't get their names)- they showed the utmost professionalism and courtesy at all times. Manager Icy was so helpful from the initial reservation email to our departure.
After dinner we enjoyed some wonderful drinks in The Champagne Bar and we had the delight of meeting Tim, the hotels resident musician. Great to chat with and we enjoyed the lovely music and singing.
This is a great place to come and treat yourself! One of the highlights of our trip!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kcn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear kcn26,

Thank You so much for leaving such a kind and encouraging feedback. We are happy you had a memorable Christmas dining experience with us and surely hope to welcome you back at the Cut in not too distant future.
We wish you and your family a Happy New Year 2014.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked dinner for 4 xmas eve for the family based on all of the stars, great ratings, recommendations etc. this place receives. What a disaster. The kitchen couldn't do anything right. The entire dining room was filled with people sitting and waiting for food. Can't understand how this kitchen couldn't handle this set menu evening. This was the one time there was a great wait staff and the cooks just left them all hanging. They were so behind that they tried to bring multiple courses all at once which we rejected. On top of it the warm food was cold. Everything over salted, poorly prepared and not at all worth the money. They have an open kitchen so their incompetence was on full display for the whole dining room. Never did we see any sense of urgency. I was pleasantly surprised when the waitress offered us two glasses of wine as a comp, something virtually unheard of in these parts. When I told her to remove one course off the bill she quickly obliged. Food needs to rise to the service. An odd situation in China for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gottagothere525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Ipsidixit,

first of all I would like to express my sincere apologies for the very negative experience you had on Christmas Eve at our restaurant. No doubt, our performance on the evening was not according to the standard we normally show and we will take this night as extra motivation to increase our performance in the future.
We have tried to contact you on your mobile phone over the past few days but had no luck of getting through. I would like to ask you to contact me thorugh my email andreas.block@fairmont.com and discuss opportunities we might have to compensate you for your negative impression. I am sure that upon your next visit we will be able to show ourselves in a complete different light and provide you a positive memorable dining experience.

I am looking forward to hear from you soon and spologies again for your bad impression.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut Steakhouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

On of the best piece of meat I've ever tried!
The Wagyu filet mignon was outstanding, thought the restaurant is not cheap, It's a must if you come to Beijing and you are a meat lover!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mgaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Mgaya,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback as well as your recommendation to all meat lovers visiting or living in Beijing.
We hope you will get a chance to dine with us very soon again and look forward to grill up another perfect Filet Mignon for you.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing