We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak was awesome”
Review of The Cut

The Cut
Ranked #79 of 12,715 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $120
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Guomao
Description: The Cut steakhouse, located on the 2nd floor in the Fairmont Beijing, offers the finest choice of Australian and Canadian beef in Beijing. It provides the perfect environment for business and family / friends dinners or for any other occasion that demands a perfect meal.The young team of the Cut is looking forward to host you soon and make your time memorable.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Steak was awesome”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went for a weekday lunch, excellent value 3 course menu for 200 Yuan instead of the original 500 Yuan pricetag. Steak was succulent and undoubtedly one of the best in Beijing, if not the world. The Cut Lifestyle Salad is refreshing and one of the best salads Ive in eaten in Beijing as well. Minnestrone soup had a good taste and the seafood ingredients were fresh. The Chef was really generous in the minnestrone soup by giving so many small clams.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank letitsnowletitsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear letitsnowletitsnow,

thank you so much for taking time and writing about your lunch at the cut Steakhouse. Our just recently launched concept of Fast Easy and Delicious food for lunch is currently our bigges pride and receiving that kind of feedback shows that we are on a good way.
We hope to welcome you very soon again at our restaurant.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    31
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Christmas!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We dined here on Christmas Day and it was fabulous. From the pre-dinner cocktails right through to after dinner drinks, the food, service and atmosphere were exceptional. We were served by Frank, Icy, Blessing and others (whom I regret I didn't get their names)- they showed the utmost professionalism and courtesy at all times. Manager Icy was so helpful from the initial reservation email to our departure.
After dinner we enjoyed some wonderful drinks in The Champagne Bar and we had the delight of meeting Tim, the hotels resident musician. Great to chat with and we enjoyed the lovely music and singing.
This is a great place to come and treat yourself! One of the highlights of our trip!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kcn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear kcn26,

Thank You so much for leaving such a kind and encouraging feedback. We are happy you had a memorable Christmas dining experience with us and surely hope to welcome you back at the Cut in not too distant future.
We wish you and your family a Happy New Year 2014.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Kitchen was a disaster”
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked dinner for 4 xmas eve for the family based on all of the stars, great ratings, recommendations etc. this place receives. What a disaster. The kitchen couldn't do anything right. The entire dining room was filled with people sitting and waiting for food. Can't understand how this kitchen couldn't handle this set menu evening. This was the one time there was a great wait staff and the cooks just left them all hanging. They were so behind that they tried to bring multiple courses all at once which we rejected. On top of it the warm food was cold. Everything over salted, poorly prepared and not at all worth the money. They have an open kitchen so their incompetence was on full display for the whole dining room. Never did we see any sense of urgency. I was pleasantly surprised when the waitress offered us two glasses of wine as a comp, something virtually unheard of in these parts. When I told her to remove one course off the bill she quickly obliged. Food needs to rise to the service. An odd situation in China for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gottagothere525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Ipsidixit,

first of all I would like to express my sincere apologies for the very negative experience you had on Christmas Eve at our restaurant. No doubt, our performance on the evening was not according to the standard we normally show and we will take this night as extra motivation to increase our performance in the future.
We have tried to contact you on your mobile phone over the past few days but had no luck of getting through. I would like to ask you to contact me thorugh my email andreas.block@fairmont.com and discuss opportunities we might have to compensate you for your negative impression. I am sure that upon your next visit we will be able to show ourselves in a complete different light and provide you a positive memorable dining experience.

I am looking forward to hear from you soon and spologies again for your bad impression.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Great filet mignon”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

On of the best piece of meat I've ever tried!
The Wagyu filet mignon was outstanding, thought the restaurant is not cheap, It's a must if you come to Beijing and you are a meat lover!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mgaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mgaya,

thank you so much for your very positive feedback as well as your recommendation to all meat lovers visiting or living in Beijing.
We hope you will get a chance to dine with us very soon again and look forward to grill up another perfect Filet Mignon for you.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Excellent steak”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The steak was outstanding. Done exactly as I'd wanted, and complemented well with the specialty chips. The ambience was great as well. Dimly-lit and quiet, The Cut was the perfect place for an intimate conversation over good food and wine.

The wait staff could have been more attentive though, given that there were only 3 tables (including ours) during dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ming H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Ming H,

we are very honored that you took the time to review your dining experience at our Cut steakhouse. We appreciate your feedback and will make sure that the wait staff will receive sufficient training to guarantee your next visit will be a memorable experience.

Kind Regards,
Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine - The Cut Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing