We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Steak Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cut

The Cut
Ranked #72 of 12,550 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $60 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Guomao
Description: The Cut steakhouse, located on the 2nd floor in the Fairmont Beijing, offers the finest choice of Australian and Canadian beef in Beijing. It provides the perfect environment for business and family / friends dinners or for any other occasion that demands a perfect meal.The young team of the Cut is looking forward to host you soon and make your time memorable.
Uster, Switzerland
1 review
“Best Steak Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just short, I had the golden steak medium raw as recommended by the chef. It was melting in my mouth, excellent. Thanks to the chef.
Regarding the restaurant, it is a nice, clean, international style place. You feel welcome in the ambient. The service is attentive and very friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank thomas7709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef De Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Thomas,

thank you so much for the very positive feedback about your visit at our steakhouse especially mentioning the quality of the steak.
Indeed our selection of the finest beef on the menu is the pride and core of our restaurant and being recognized for it is a fantastic praise.
We are looking forward to host and impress you soon again,

Best wishes,

Andreas Block
Chef de Cuisine
The Cut Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    30
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Food in Beijing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

On the 2nd floor of the Fairmont Hotel is the most amazing restaurant in all of Beijing! The food there is beyond amazing!! The chef is a true culinary artist. Dining at The Cut is more than just eating food, it's enjoying art. Whenever someone asks me to suggest a good steak restaurant for them in Beijing I never hesitate to recommend them to The Cut. I know that every dish that comes out of that kitchen will be perfect and that everyone I recommend to this place will have an amazing dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wilhelmina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear ThePrincess87,

we are flattered of receiving that kind of stunning feedback.
All members of our team work very hard every day to make the time of guests as memorable as possible and we are happy that we could impress you.
We truly agree that cooking for and serving our valued guests is more than just a job but we want everyone to have the feeling that they just enjoyed something very special.
We also thank you very much for recommending us to your friends. Recommendation is the best compliment and reward a restaurant could ever ask for.

We are looking forward to host you again very soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Best steaks in Asia. Service was great - attentive and helpful. Expensive but highly recommended! The special dessert made at the table - great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rtw99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas B, Chef de Cuisine at The Cut, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear rtw99,

our entire team at the Cut Steakhouse was very honored when reading your comment about our performance. Being named as best steaks in Asia is a great achievment for all of us and we are very happy that we could make your visit in our restaurant so memorable.

We hope to welcome you back at our restaurant in not to distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than just a steakhouse...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Even though the name is a littlebit misleading, The cut just sounds like another ordinary steakhouse, it offers way more than I expected. Living for quite some time in Beijing we started recently reading more and more in local magazines about the cut and its new chef so we decided to finally give it a try and see what Fairmont Beijing and its Cut has to offer.
We were warmly welcome by the service staff just at the elevator and directly brought to the seat. After choosing a cocktail from their specially designed pre dinner drinks list (did you know you could drink balsamic vinegar???) we started to study the foood menu. The selection of the dishes is very wide and all of them sound absolutely delicious. While looking in the menu a waiter walks up with a display of the 6 different kind of beef and introduces them to us. Never had a "steak sommelier" before. After we chose our starters and steaks (incl. free side dish!!) we got first two(2!!!) amuse bouche served before the actual chosen starter came.This is what I call value for money!!! After the starter a sorbet (ever had tomato sorbet before?? I never want anything else again) was served that was just the right refreshment before our steaks which were absolutely outstanding. Desserts were equally tasty and impressive.
Overall the Cut is a steakhouse that is much more than just a steakhouse. A restaurant design that is a little strange in the beginning but once seated for a while really easy on the eyes, a chef that seems to be confident enough to develope his own steakhouse style without losing customers satisfaction out of his sight and a service that, even though a bit clumsy at times, really works well together and makes a dining experience very special.
We will definitely be back for more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CottonCandy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan D, Leadership Participant at The Cut, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for the 5-star rating and your generously written review. We are humbled. It is assuring for us to hear that you’ve enjoyed our food and service. At the Cut, we always strive to exceed the expectation from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and introducing you our very refreshing Summer menu.

Best regards.
Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive and the lettuce was brown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The lettuce in my salad had brown edges, the potato was tasteless, and the sour cream was watered down. The amuse bouche were so terrible, we didn't eat them at all. They push alcohol on customers continually. Had I known it was going to be this bad, I would have gone elsewhere. It seemed easy because we were staying here. Now I know...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dingos8baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cut also viewed

 
Beijing, China
 

Been to The Cut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing