We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Wall Experience”

Wild Great Wall Adventure
Ranked #21 of 392 Tours in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wild Great Wall Adventures team welcome you to hike Wild Wall.We provide outdoor-oriented, small group, guided, self-guided hiking & camping trips to some degree on wild Great Wall. We want you to see wild Great Wall we know and love--exposing you to true Great Wall at it very best. They are usually peaceful, often wild!
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I contacted Wild Great Wall Adventure Day Tour by email and heard back from Ricky within 24 hours. I told him what we were looking for (private tour of Jinshanling Great Wall hike). He made the entire process so easy (just a few emails to confirm), plus he contacted us the night before just to confirm again - each step of the way he assured us we could modify our pick up time.

The driver (Mr. Zheng) and tour guide (James) were on time and ready for the tour. We climbed in the clean, spacious, air conditioned car and were whisked off to Jinshanling. James is an amazing, well-spoken, intelligent, educated tour guide. We talked with him the entire trip! Because of his extensive experience with both local visitors and international visitors, his vocabulary is excellent and his preparation for the hike is very specific to each client.

We arrived at 10:15a (picked up at 8a) at Jinshanling. This is the only spot I've been to on the Great Wall so can only tell you about that spot. Very few visitors so that although we saw people the entire time we hiked, there were only 5-10 people at a time, and just every now and then. The weather was very warm, but manageable, and James made sure we had plenty of water and Snickers Bars to keep up our energy.

We finished the hike by 1:30p and headed back into Beijing with a stop at a place to view the Bird's Nest and Cube from the recent Olympic games.

I confidently recommend Wild Great Wall Adventures! Ricky is completely professional, no money exchanged hands until we were picked up by Mr. Zheng and James.

Thank MaryBarbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickyWong, General Manager at Wild Great Wall Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Mary Barbara,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your tour. We are so happy to hear that your tour was enjoyable, and that you enjoyed your time with Zheng & James. We hope that you enjoyed your trip to Beijing and will be making plans to return soon!

Thank you for choosing WildGreatWall Adventure Tours, we really appreciate your business.

Ricky
WildGreatWall Adventure Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Wild Great Wall Adventure
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 287 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spend 4 fantastic days with Ricky on the Great Wall.
Ricky is a professional organiser who knows the little secrets of the wall.
We did 4 sections: Gubeikou, Jinshanling - Simatai West, Jiankou - Mutianyu, Huanghuacheng - Xishuiyu.
Everything was perfectly organised, guesthouses, restaurants, drinks, car, driver.
@Ricky: I hope you was not to tired after our hicking trip, with 3 teens the tempo was sometimes very high, poor Ricky. :-)
Conclusion: If you want to see the real wall and want to avoid the tourist places: contact Ricky.

Thank Jo en Sophie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickyWong, General Manager at Wild Great Wall Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Jo en Sophie,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your tour. I am thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous time with your family, and that we were able to help you discover the Great Wall. We take great pride in showing off parts of the Great Wall that many visitors do not know about. Thank you again for taking the time to review your tour, and for choosing us. We appreciate your business.

I wish you memorable journeys and good luck with everything you do.
Be well!
Ricky
WildGreatWall Adventure Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I appreciated the timely and responsive communication by Ricky when organizing this trip, and also the ease by which logistics were arranged. The driver and guide were friendly and courteous, making the trip smooth and easy (not including the elements they couldn't control such as the weather or Beijing traffic). Seeing the wilder parts of the Great Wall and trekking between Gubeikou and Jinshanling in particular was terrific. It's hard to be secluded at any time in China, but we found ourselves alone on the hike for long stretches.

Thank calvin41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickyWong, Manager at Wild Great Wall Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Dear Calvin,
Thanks for having taken the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed our services. I am sorry to hear that you experienced issues with the weather / Beijing traffic. Our team is always doing its best to apply an individual approach and to present Great Wall's culture and nature at its best. I hope you will continue to recommend us. We are looking forward to servicing you in the future!

All the best with your journeys,
Ricky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We did the Gubeikou to Jinshaling West tour, with driver Zhang and guide Leo. The weather was less than ideal, misty and raining. However that did not detract from what was a superb day out.

Ricky was extremely prompt at dealing with e-mails, and the driver and guide arrived dead on time. There were no attempts to take us to shops, as promised, which was greatly appreciated! The lunch provided at the end was really nice and the owners of the restaurant were very hospitable, providing vegetarian food for us without any strange looks!

The itinerary gave a great variety of perspectives on the Wall - "wild" unrestored sections, restored sections, and views of the Wall from a distance. The walk through "Spider Valley" was really nice too. Best of all, the place was deserted - we only passed one group of walkers (going the opposite way).

The walk was genuinely of "moderate" difficulty; it was not easy in parts, especially in the rain. The path was reasonably well marked and the couple we passed were Australians doing it by themselves. You could walk this section alone, if you could negotiate a driver to drop you and pick you up. However we appreciated the peace of mind in having a guide, and would highly recommend this company if you do choose to do so.

Thank dhw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickyWong, Manager at Wild Great Wall Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear David,
Thank you for the review and your recommendations. We are glad that you enjoyed the tour and we are happy to be a part of it. We enjoyed every minute on the tour with you! I have shared your compliments with Leo and Zhang, who send their regards. We are looking forward to servicing you in the future!
Best Regards
Ricky Wong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We did Jiankou Mutianyu & Simatai West Jinshanling two day tour with wildgreatwall.com (e-mail wildgreatwall@gmail.com) having read the well deserved good reviews and are glad we did. We are seasoned travellers who generally avoid large group tours if we can help it. Both the days we had a wonderful experience.

Our guide Leo picked us up at our hotel at the appointed time. Leo spoke English well and his explantions were thought out. It was about a 2 hour drive up to Jiankou and we had good conversation with Leo. He is a knowledgable guy and loves what he does. Both Leo and our driver Zhang were very courteous and made our visits very comfortable. Seeing both the unrenovated section and the renovated section was great experience.

Wildgreatwall.com made our trip a memorable one. This was totally worth every penny! We would highly recommend them if you'd like to explore more of the Great Wall whilst staying in Beijing.

Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Great Wall Adventure also viewed

 

Been to Wild Great Wall Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing