We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Good Staff, Decent Digs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Classic Courtyard
Ranked #167 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good Staff, Decent Digs”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel benefits from a great location. The hotel, in the middle of a hutong, is somewhat difficult to spot (for some reason, the signs call the hotel "the Candy Inn" in addition to the Classic Courtyard, but easy to get to. In addition to being about 5 minutes from the very-impressive Lama Temple, the hostel is right between two subway stops on the 5 and 2 lines. The staff is reasonably helpful with basic things like finding tours. In true Chinese fashion, the beer on tap is very cheap!

The rooms themselves are...okay. For the amount I paid and based on internet previews, I expected slightly more than the tiny rooms with lumpy beds. But the bathrooms are clean, the air conditioner (sort of) works, and in any case, Beijing is not a city in which you want to spend much time sitting at the hotel. Overall, not bad, but you can probably do better for the money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oopgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
16
28
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Classic Courtyard or Candy Inn or...?!? There are 3 names written on the hotel and this is never a good sign, did they change it to sound better or to get rid of previous bad reviews?

First the good: - The location is great and the rooms look nice.

The bad: - The staff is untrustworthy, charged 200 RMB deposit just to conveniently forget to return 100 RMB and pretend they never received it thanks to unreadable handwriting on the deposit receipt. The CCTV footage mysteriously froze and jumped ahead when the money was handed over. This is not a good way to handle this, plus the guy was rude.
Always double check your receipts and make sure they write it readable.

- There was a bad smell in the room (109), noise from the washers and dryers located outside, no room number on the door.

- Room was not cleaned properly, a wet bathroom was still wet in the evening, bed was not made, rubbish not emptied. only towels were changed.

- Bathroom got completely wet when showering thanks to a wrongly attached shower head.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you room 109!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CristianSorega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed here for a week at the end of my trip to China. I booked a single room which was small but comfortable.
The room was cleaned every day and I got fresh towels every day - not the norm in a Chinese hostel.
The staff are friendly and efficient and beer is cheap, always a good thing!
The location is excellent, down a hutong off Yonghegong St. You have a choice of two subway stops within 5 minutes walk. The street is full of good local restaurants, a number of coffee shops and fast food options.
The coffee shop on the same hutong is nice but outrageously expensive. Caffé Bene, 200m to the left after you exit the hutong, was the best I found nearby.
Internet was fast and reliable.
Accommodation prices in Beijing are high but this comes in at the lower end.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostInPyongyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Classic Courtyard is a great hotel for the very cheap price. If you are expecting a five star place, this isn't for you, but if you want a comfortable, very well air conditioned, very clean room with friendly service in a great location, then stay here. Firstly, the location. It is in the hutongs really close to the Lama temple and near to two subway stations and loads of restaurants and bars. The area felt really safe and was great to walk around. There is a main road packed with Chinese restaurants and bright lights, and the hutongs with lots of bars, cute shops and street food to try if you walk a little further. There are even a few nice coffee places....one on the same hutong, cafe bene on the main road and even a costa coffee next to the tube station. It is also close to the Lama temple, worth a visit, and, if you are veggie, there are lots of veggie food places because of the buddism. Getting to the main sights is easy on the subway ( and very cheap) from here. Next, the room. Ours had a large, comfy bed, a nice bathroom ( no bath but a shower with consistently hot water) and it was immaculately clean. The room didn't have a window, but I think this is the design of the buildings. The air conditioning was brilliant and much needed in summer. The bar sold cheap beers and if you are travelling on our own, seemed like a good place to meet people. The staff were really friendly. Simon at reception was great, spoke brilliant English and made us feel really welcome. We definitely recommend this hotel. Tip: when you get there, you will see 'the Candy inn' written on the wall and you may miss the classic courtyard sign, it is the same place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pros: friendly welcome

Cons: where to begin!
We had booked a deluxe double room at this hotel weeks before arriving in Beijing. We gave our exact flight details so it would have been clear what time we were arriving at. We arrived at about 10.30 PM- after a flight we were exhausted and were told the room was not ready! We were asked to wait 30 mins but it turned out to be almost 45 mins later - and they would not give a discount due to this.

Next I tried to confirm the 700 RMB private taxi I had booked weeks ago to the Great Wall the next morning. I was told that I had not booked it (despite the confirmation email from the hotel). I was then told the price had gone up and we would have to pay 800 RMB if we wanted to go to the wall the next morning. We did not have a choice. It turns out that the meter on their taxi said 500 RMB for the entire round trip- we only took about 1.5 hrs at the wall - and the driver had got lost also. We were still made pay 800 RMB. A robbery!!

The vegetarian breakfast was cooked with meat. Disgusting. Also many of the 'deluxe room features' feature outside the room.

This has been a very disappointing start to my first trip to China. It would have been fine if the hotel took responsibility for its short comings however they would not give us any discount off of what we paid. I have done months of backpacking all over the world and this has been the worst place I have stayed due to false promises and a feeling of being scammed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guitar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great hotel runned by young folks who speak very good english. This hotel really has a hostel kinda feel to it. It is located in a hutong, so you are sure to truly experience local life. The rooms are great and clean. The location is excellent, very near subway stations, excellent restaurants, and good street food! Top notch budget choice for accomodation in Beijing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexTru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a double-bed room for a week and a half--the staff was very nice, and the room was very clean. We really had a lovely experience--the cafe is always open, and the staff is always willing to chat if you are--the hostel was exactly the sort of base we wanted to return to after our daily wanderings into the city.

The staff are very knowledgable about what's in the area, and someone is always there to help to find the nearest convenience store, or photo shop, or whatever tourist site you'd like to visit. Most of the staff speak english very well, and are very easy to understand, which was helpful! We'll definitely come again next time we're in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#127 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#134 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#181 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#45 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#119 of 6,462 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Nostalgia Hotel Beijing Yonghe Lama Temple
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Courtyard

Property: The Classic Courtyard
Address: 31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 6,462 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Classic Courtyard 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Classic Courtyard Ideally located in Hutong area in Beijing's city centre, The Classic Courtyard is a 5-minutes walk from line 2 and line 5 Yonghegong Lama Temple subway station. It offers clean and comfortable accommodation with convenient access to nearby attractions. Airport Expressway is a 10-minute drive away.Housed in a traditional Chinese-style courtyard, The Classic Courtyard is a short 5-minute walk from the Goast Street, which is famous for the food and snacks. Popular attractions such as Lama Temple, Confucius Temple and Nanluoguxiang Hutong are within walking distance of the hotel. The bustling Sanlitun and Houhai Bar Street are within a 10-minute drive of the hotel.The spacious rooms come equipped with modern facilities including air-conditioning, attached bathrooms and free Internet access.Guests can relax at the comfortable lounge and mix with others and watch films. A bar and restaurant serves Chinese and Western dishes as well as American breakfast.Feel at ease with the hotel’s English speaking staff when making ticket, transport and tour arrangements at the travel desk. Other facilities include laundry and bike rentals.Our rooms are comfortably furnished and all offer a degree of luxury and individual touches of flair you would expect for a relaxing stay.The food is as stunning as the setting. Our modern a la carte dinner menu, created by Executive Chef, features an eclectic fusion of Mediterranean and Chinese food. The wine list is as imaginative as it is extensive, whilst our lunchtime buffet never ceases to delight!From airport:If you take a taxi, it will cost you about 80RMB to The Classic Courtyard including the high-way toll.If you take a shuttle bus (16RMB PP) or airport express (25RMB PP): get off at the 'DongZhiMen' station which is near the hostel, then take a taxi (about 13RMB) or by subway (line 2) to the 'Yonghegong, Lama Temple' station, from exit 'C', turn left (maybe turn left two times, there are two ‘C’ exits altogether, it depends), walk along the street about 100m,still on your left, you will see Bei Xin Hutong , inside 50m, The Classic Courtyard is standing there.Or Order our Limousine service its cost 300CNY (Including highway toll and Airport parking cost)From Beijing railway station: Please take subway line No.2 (circle line) from 'Beijing railway' station to the 'Lama Temple' station, from exit 'C' turn left (to south) walk around 100m, passing the Lama Temeple, also on your left, the second Hutong is Bei Xin Hutong, The Classic Courtyard is inside.From Beijing west railway station:Take a taxi; it costs you about 40RMB.Or take the bus Te2, get off at 'Yonghegong Qiao dong',turn left, walking along the red wall of the Lama Temple about 300meters, you will see the 'Beixin Hutong', The Classic Courtyard is inside.From Beijing South Rail Way Station: Get on the subway line4 to Xuanwumen Station, exchange line2 and get off at Yonghegong station(also say Lama Temple,which is the transfer station line2 and line5), from exit 'C' to the ground,turn left. We are 50m south of the Lama Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Classic Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing