We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Classic Courtyard
Ranked #148 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pros: friendly welcome

Cons: where to begin!
We had booked a deluxe double room at this hotel weeks before arriving in Beijing. We gave our exact flight details so it would have been clear what time we were arriving at. We arrived at about 10.30 PM- after a flight we were exhausted and were told the room was not ready! We were asked to wait 30 mins but it turned out to be almost 45 mins later - and they would not give a discount due to this.

Next I tried to confirm the 700 RMB private taxi I had booked weeks ago to the Great Wall the next morning. I was told that I had not booked it (despite the confirmation email from the hotel). I was then told the price had gone up and we would have to pay 800 RMB if we wanted to go to the wall the next morning. We did not have a choice. It turns out that the meter on their taxi said 500 RMB for the entire round trip- we only took about 1.5 hrs at the wall - and the driver had got lost also. We were still made pay 800 RMB. A robbery!!

The vegetarian breakfast was cooked with meat. Disgusting. Also many of the 'deluxe room features' feature outside the room.

This has been a very disappointing start to my first trip to China. It would have been fine if the hotel took responsibility for its short comings however they would not give us any discount off of what we paid. I have done months of backpacking all over the world and this has been the worst place I have stayed due to false promises and a feeling of being scammed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guitar1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
29
21
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great hotel runned by young folks who speak very good english. This hotel really has a hostel kinda feel to it. It is located in a hutong, so you are sure to truly experience local life. The rooms are great and clean. The location is excellent, very near subway stations, excellent restaurants, and good street food! Top notch budget choice for accomodation in Beijing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexTru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in a double-bed room for a week and a half--the staff was very nice, and the room was very clean. We really had a lovely experience--the cafe is always open, and the staff is always willing to chat if you are--the hostel was exactly the sort of base we wanted to return to after our daily wanderings into the city.

The staff are very knowledgable about what's in the area, and someone is always there to help to find the nearest convenience store, or photo shop, or whatever tourist site you'd like to visit. Most of the staff speak english very well, and are very easy to understand, which was helpful! We'll definitely come again next time we're in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

By the time we arrived at around 11:30pm, this hostel had already deducted our first-night's room charge without calling or confirming with us beforehand. This was odd but we did not complain. By the time we get into our room, we were surprised by what was in front of us - the delux double betroom was nothing like what we saw on their internet, which had a bed located at the center of a sqare-shaped room with a old-styled cloths hanger placed nearby. What we got was a tatami placed against one side of the wall and a desk next to the tatami and that's pretty much all we got in a 8 sqm bedroom that smells mildew. Since we were skeptical about their breakfast, we didn't book the breakfast beforehand, which turned out to be the smartest thing we have done with this hostel. The next day after we returned from our day trip, we complained to the staff. A male staff responded: you came with a foreigner and we assumed foreigners love tatamis so we led u to that room on purpose....Our friends who were also caucasions, who also booked their standard double delux room for the same price were told at 6pm that day that there was no available room left. And I guess that's pretty much what happened - there was no available room left and it doesn't matter what you booked or how much you paid, you got what we assumed the best for you....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Receptionists are great! Simon is a very knowledgable guy and very very helpful! Also, the other girl (who I have sadly forgotten her name) is adorable and always willing to chat. They keep it very clean, the common areas are good, and they have a few tours to choose from. The hostel is good value for money, but it's in an old hutong, which may look scary at the beginning, but it's the norm in Beijing! Close by its the Lama Temple, the underground (2 different lines), and a costa coffe and kfc! If you are looking for a chic hotel, maybe this is not the best option, but if you are looking for a good hostel with lovely hosts, this is great. As an example, we checked out in the morning but went in their Mutianyu great wall tour, we arrived in the evening to pick our luggage (which they kept free of charge) and they even let us have a shower in their staff shower which was a lovely gesture since it was 40 degrees! We had a great time and we will be staying again on our last night in Beijing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lu-luana-lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I promised Simon (the staff member that helped me book my room) I would write a review so here we go. Simon gave me a good deal on a room with a king-size bed because it was on short notice and he didn't have any single rooms left and I was only staying for one night. So I got a double room for the price of a single.

The room was great: good shower, plenty of space, big bed and all the amenities that you expect from a decent hotel room. At first I thought the bed was too soft but I ended up sleeping like a baby so I guess it was alright.

Staff is helpful and friendly and you can get good coffee and snacks at the front desk. The hotel's location is good and.... I guess that's the end of my review. Like I said: no complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The rooms are reasonable for the price. They are a good size and the courtyard style is nice. The first night we found hairs underneath the thin bed quilt on top of the bed mattress, so many infact that we covered them up with towels so we wouldn't sleep on them. After that the room just felt dirty. The location is good about 5-10 minute walk in either direction from the main road to the metro. The staff are excellent! The most helpful staff we have experienced so far on our china trip. They was very friendly and one man spoke very good English. The location is in hutong is very traditional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Day48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
Imperial Courtyard Hotel
#170 of 6,520 in Beijing
103 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,520 in Beijing
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#132 of 6,520 in Beijing
303 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#98 of 6,520 in Beijing
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Classic Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Classic Courtyard

Property: The Classic Courtyard
Address: 31 Bei Xin Hutong, Yong He Gong Dajie, Dong Cheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Location: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Classic Courtyard 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Classic Courtyard Ideally located in Hutong area in Beijing's city centre, The Classic Courtyard is a 5-minutes walk from line 2 and line 5 Yonghegong Lama Temple subway station. It offers clean and comfortable accommodation with convenient access to nearby attractions. Airport Expressway is a 10-minute drive away.Housed in a traditional Chinese-style courtyard, The Classic Courtyard is a short 5-minute walk from the Goast Street, which is famous for the food and snacks. Popular attractions such as Lama Temple, Confucius Temple and Nanluoguxiang Hutong are within walking distance of the hotel. The bustling Sanlitun and Houhai Bar Street are within a 10-minute drive of the hotel.The spacious rooms come equipped with modern facilities including air-conditioning, attached bathrooms and free Internet access.Guests can relax at the comfortable lounge and mix with others and watch films. A bar and restaurant serves Chinese and Western dishes as well as American breakfast.Feel at ease with the hotel’s English speaking staff when making ticket, transport and tour arrangements at the travel desk. Other facilities include laundry and bike rentals.Our rooms are comfortably furnished and all offer a degree of luxury and individual touches of flair you would expect for a relaxing stay.The food is as stunning as the setting. Our modern a la carte dinner menu, created by Executive Chef, features an eclectic fusion of Mediterranean and Chinese food. The wine list is as imaginative as it is extensive, whilst our lunchtime buffet never ceases to delight!From airport:If you take a taxi, it will cost you about 80RMB to The Classic Courtyard including the high-way toll.If you take a shuttle bus (16RMB PP) or airport express (25RMB PP): get off at the 'DongZhiMen' station which is near the hostel, then take a taxi (about 13RMB) or by subway (line 2) to the 'Yonghegong, Lama Temple' station, from exit 'C', turn left (maybe turn left two times, there are two ‘C’ exits altogether, it depends), walk along the street about 100m,still on your left, you will see Bei Xin Hutong , inside 50m, The Classic Courtyard is standing there.Or Order our Limousine service its cost 300CNY (Including highway toll and Airport parking cost)From Beijing railway station: Please take subway line No.2 (circle line) from 'Beijing railway' station to the 'Lama Temple' station, from exit 'C' turn left (to south) walk around 100m, passing the Lama Temeple, also on your left, the second Hutong is Bei Xin Hutong, The Classic Courtyard is inside.From Beijing west railway station:Take a taxi; it costs you about 40RMB.Or take the bus Te2, get off at 'Yonghegong Qiao dong',turn left, walking along the red wall of the Lama Temple about 300meters, you will see the 'Beixin Hutong', The Classic Courtyard is inside.From Beijing South Rail Way Station: Get on the subway line4 to Xuanwumen Station, exchange line2 and get off at Yonghegong station(also say Lama Temple,which is the transfer station line2 and line5), from exit 'C' to the ground,turn left. We are 50m south of the Lama Temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Classic Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing