We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water, Water Everywhere!”

Golden Mask Dynasty Show
Book In Advance
More Info
$180.00*
and up
Private Day Tour: Beijing Olympic Park and Happy Valley with Show
Ranked #4 of 35 Concerts & Shows in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Set in the Golden Mask Dynasty, a legendary age in China, the story tells how a queen, who wears a golden mask, creates a splendid dynasty. The play has eight chapters and included more than 200 actors from China and abroad. Produced by Chinese playwrights, directors and designers, the play features Chinese dances, acrobatics, costumes, and lighting and acoustics.
Granada Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Water, Water Everywhere!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our guide, Emma of China Odyssey, highly recommended this show. It was produced by the director of the Beijing Summer Olympics, and it was spectacular. It tells a folktale of a Queen who imprisons a warrior, then falls in love with him. She sacrifices herself to save her people, and lover, from a great flood. The waterworks to represent the flood were a sight to see. Water poured down the stage (even to the first row of seats) and flowed halfway down the sides of the theater! It was not to be missed. Thanks to Emma for encouraging us to attend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pegjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    34
    7
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golden Mask Dynasty Show”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

A truly amazing experience! Amazing sets, including along the sides of the theatre, lavish costumes, incredible energy, and an unbelievable flood scene towards the end. Have never seen anything like it before!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value for money, although the theatre is very far”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The show was very entertaining and good value for money as we managed to get the cheapest 120 yuan tickets. Our seats were located just one behind the vip-seats and there's definitely no excuses for the 600 yuan vip-tickets, so take the cheapest you get. The show was good with a great variety of different costumes and styles, although definitely not ready: the dancers didn't manage to perform the movements at the same time etc., and the theatre is pretty far from everything and you should take a bus from downtown - not even subway. But for 120 yuan and even more, entertaining!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank mi650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The golden mask dynasty show, Beijing”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you have a holiday in Beijing you most definitely HAVE TO see THe Golden Mask Dynasty show. Please believe me when I say it was wonderful, we decided to go on our last day of our trip and we were blown away by this beautiful theatrical extraviganza !!!! The story is a simple love story but each scene is an explosion of colour and beauty and typical Chinese dance and acrobatics at its very best. The music is beautiful and you will not have a problem understanding the story, there are a few amazing scenes but the flood scene is unbelievable, WOW IT IS. AMAZING !!! Lots of love from Patrick. And. Zoe. xxxx Oh I must mention, try to get a centre seat, you will get the best view !!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Pauric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
747 reviews
317 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Amazing effects”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This chinese made musical is 4 star in my opinion. It has a mix of acrobatics added into the various scenes. To get a good appreciation of the show, try to get the middle section of the seats. The climax is the flood scene which is beyond words and you need to see it to believe it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erico2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Mask Dynasty Show also viewed

 

Been to Golden Mask Dynasty Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing