We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The food is not up to 5 stars standard” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRB

TRB
Ranked #1 of 11,275 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: TRB serves contemporary European cuisine and is committed to providing the highest levels of hospitality for our guests. In creating our dining space, the Australian architectural and design firm Hassell emphasized the clean, light filled and thoroughly modern lines of what was once a television factory producing the capital's first black and white TVs. The history of the TRB compound spans 600 years: it includes ancient halls of worship, factories constructed after the Communist takeover and slogans left over from the Cultural Revolution. Renovation began in 2008, focussed on preserving all the layers of history and keeping as much as possible of the original structures.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The food is not up to 5 stars standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I visited this restaurants during my solo trip to Beijing. As a treat for myself, I ordered a 4-course lunch set at rmb 178 + 15%.
The atmosphere and services attitude were great, however, food is not up to standard for what I am paying is comparable to 5 stars hotel in Beijing.

the service was "extremely efficient "that time between each course was less than 5 minutes. I could hardly digest the food i just ate. And i have to ask for a slower service. Since i am fond of food and lunch often in 5 star hotels in hk, i am surprised to find that one of the two shrimps in my main dish seafood wrap who's intestine was not removed and another one was not properly cooked. It is ok to have such mistakes in a local bistro, but it is not acceptable in a high end restaurant! the restaurant was very nice to offer a complimentary lamb dish, yet i usually do not order lamb dishes. Another mistake made here, high end restaurant will usually ask whether I eat lamb or not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaWYYau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear AnnaWYYau,
Thank you for choosing TRB. We are truly sorry to hear that our food and hospitality didn’t meet your expectation. Thank you for spending the time and effort to write this review for us, your opinions and suggestions and invaluable to us as we keep improving ourselves . We sincerely hope that we can still have a chance to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    142
    32
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our visit toTRB was a wonderful experience.

It's a little hard to find, at the end of a very narrow lane--- the map on the website should be improved. But as soon as we arrived, we were greeted and made feel extraordinarily welcome.

Before entering the restaurant, you walk through a courtyard with delightful, small statues. The restaurant itself has been beautifully designed, with wonderful, high ceilings.

The service was excellent-- professional and friendly. The food was superb. The presentation was flawless.

This was one of the best dining experiences we've ever had. Highly recommended.


Best


Will

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WM573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Will,
Thank you for choosing TRB. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for spending the time to write this wonderful review for us as we value your suggestions and opinions very much. We will try to improve our online directions and hopefully we can have the chance to show you our hospitality again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“J'adore Temple Restaurant, a truly decadent experience not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Having had the privilege of luxury dining in many different countries I had a slight hesitation about visiting a Chinese restaurant offering French cuisune. I am however exisuitly glad I put my reservations aside to visit this divine establishment.

This hidden Jem not only offers superior service but the entire dining experience was one of the best I have ever encountered. From the tantalizing cocktails and eclectic wine menu to the mouth watering food, this restaurant can not be beaten. In addition to the many gratis canapés and amuse bouche, we were given a private taxi to the location of our choice and a parting gift for us to take home as a thoughtful memento.

I would not recommend a place as highly as I do this one, a truly 5 star experience not to be missed!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Imogen H,
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Your recommendation is an encouragement to us and we appreciate the time and effort you spent in writing this nice review. We look forward to having more chances to show you our hospitality in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the service and the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed this restaurant. The service was the best we had during our three week vacation in Asia. You are offered different little bites in between courses and even a wine pairing. English was spoken by everyone that served our table. The food was delicious and the setting is lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Luvt0travel43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Luvt0travel43,
Thank you for visiting TRB. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and our hospitality became the highlight of your Asia trip. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great food and a beautiful setting really close to the forbidden city and jingshan park but quite expensive. Great lunch menu though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Marielle J
Thank you for visiting TRB. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us, and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TRB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing