We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food and welcoming to kids during the day”
Review of TRB Hutong

TRB Hutong
Ranked #2 of 12,715 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: TRB serves contemporary European cuisine and is committed to providing the highest levels of hospitality for our guests. In creating our dining space, the Australian architectural and design firm Hassell emphasized the clean, light filled and thoroughly modern lines of what was once a television factory producing the capital's first black and white TVs. The history of the TRB compound spans 600 years: it includes ancient halls of worship, factories constructed after the Communist takeover and slogans left over from the Cultural Revolution. Renovation began in 2008, focussed on preserving all the layers of history and keeping as much as possible of the original structures.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really good food and welcoming to kids during the day”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited Beijing in early April and I booked lunch here with my husband and son (11). The food was fantastic, really interesting flavor pairings and the presentation is beautiful. However, where this place shone for us was the kindness of the staff to our son- who was really pushing himself out of his kid food comfort zone but was rewarded with a lovely meal that he really enjoyed. As mentioned the location is a bit odd but it wasn't a big deal to find it. Great meal with great service in a lovely setting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joyemw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Joyemw,

It was a real delight to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time here with us. Please extend my gratitude and greetings to your family and we look forward to hosting you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,130
    166
    44
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must-visit for those craving for European cuisine in Beijing”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I recently had a birthday lunch at TRB with a group of friends. It was a first visit for most of us, and all of us left the restaurant very satisfied with our dining experience. We went for their 3-course weekday set lunch, which we thought was very reasonably priced (RMB135, app. US$22). Along with the three courses came complimentary bite-size appetizers, a seafood mousse, and at the end of the dessert, a small assortment of gourmet chocolates. I liked that there was a good variety of food available despite it being a set lunch, with between two and four options offered for each course. I also absolutely loved their bread basket – the garlic sticks were especially so good and flavourful I could have had those alone for lunch!

Service-wise, the wait staff was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about their menu. I thought their not paying attention to the “serve from the left and clear from the right” rule was a little blemish to their effort in positioning themselves as a fine-dining restaurant, but apart from that, my friends and I enjoyed our conversation throughout the meal, thanks to the swift, quiet and relatively unobstructive service.

It can be a challenge locating the restaurant, even for residents, since it is situated in the deep end of a hutong. Parking was also a hassle for us given that there were no proper parking lots due to space constraints. But overall, what we remember most are the exquisitely prepared food, the good service, and the great ambience with a view of an elegant courtyard - a reminder we were still in China. I am already looking forward to a visit to TRB again next time I am back in Beijing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AgentPing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Agentping,

We are very glad that you chose TRB on such a special occasion and the dining experience was satisfactory for you and your friends. As we continuously work on enhancing food quality and perfecting our service, your advice and suggestion along the way is truly appreciated. We sincerely hope to host you again during your next stay in Beijing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited TRB with our boys and other family members and we had such a lovely time. The food was great and the service was amazing (we forgot that we were in China!). The dessert cart came by at the end of the meal and my boys got to pick their own sweets and they were delicious. Overall a really fun night and would love to visit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mich2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear mt2002,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are truly glad to know that you had a fun time here. Please extend our greetings to your family and we hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

During a visit in Beijing, we celebrated my birthday at TRB in March. It was bit difficult for the taxi driver to find it, but the restaurant was very helpful on the phone, giving directions.

The location and the surroundings are beautiful, as it is located next to an old temple. The restaurant has a nice interior and design. The menu had a good and exciting range of appetizers and entrees, so it was hard to decide what to order.
The food we got not excellent, but it was good for being in China. We often find that European restaurants in China don't get the seasoning quite right.

We came with our 7 year old son, and the personal was just great, making him (and us) feeling at home and welcome. The service provided could not have been better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathinka H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Cathinka H,

Thank you for choosing TRB as the venue for your birthday celebration and we are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed our service. Your feedback is invaluable to us and we will continue to work on improving our service standard and food quality. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food experience”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The street facade does not prepare you to what you are going to experience inside! Perfect service, you will miss nothing at your table. Food is excellent, wine very elegantly served, the atmosphere is simply wonderful. A great restaurant in Beijing

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BusinessLeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Businessleb,

We are very pleased to hear that you find your experience with us wonderful. Your positive feedback is a great encouragement for us. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TRB Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing