We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”
Review of Trb Hutong

Trb Hutong
Ranked #3 of 12,786 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $76 - $106
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: TRB serves contemporary European cuisine and is committed to providing the highest levels of hospitality for our guests. In creating our dining space, the Australian architectural and design firm Hassell emphasized the clean, light filled and thoroughly modern lines of what was once a television factory producing the capital's first black and white TVs. The history of the TRB compound spans 600 years: it includes ancient halls of worship, factories constructed after the Communist takeover and slogans left over from the Cultural Revolution. Renovation began in 2008, focussed on preserving all the layers of history and keeping as much as possible of the original structures.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a great dinner here with excellent service.

It has a comfortable atmosphere an great food.

Would say that all was perfect beside the cheese cake desert. (Frozen, not sure what happened here)

Can recommend this place for a good dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PatrickB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at Trb Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear PatrickB5,
We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us. Thank for taking the time to share your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,028 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013

One of the best in Beijing for sure. Beautifully done, actually exquisite architecturally. Food was fabulous. Lots of delightful little treats/amuse bouches in between courses. Owner was there and came to our table. Clear that he takes great pride in what he does. Would recommend to any foodie visiting Beijing.

Thank tripindicular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at Trb Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Tripindicular1,
Thank you for your visit and enthusiastic review. It is our mission to make sure that our guests are well attended to and leave with a smile. We are pleased that your experience was delightful and look forward to serving you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We opted for the set lunch as we were a large group. Lovely little bites arrived at our table straight away with compliments from the kitchen which set the tone for the rest of the meal. My first course of soup really hit the spot and my main of chicken was delicious too. It was a little bit oily and some of the skin was not as crispy as I like but overall was great. Unfortunately my dessert was a disappointment. I had ordered the creme brûlée and found it to be scrambled. Between all our friends everyone was extremely pleased with what they had ordered. I would recommend having the cheese course as dessert as you get to choose which cheese you would like from a grand trolley which is wheeled to your table. My friend choose all local cheese and was very surprised to find them outstanding. I would love to go back for dinner and I would try it again for lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at Trb Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear AliceP,
We are grateful for your kind words and very happy to learn that you and your party were pleased with your dining experience. Please extend our thanks to your friend for trying the local cheeses. Cheese courses are new and upcoming for China and we are thrilled to hear positive feedback among our guests. We look forward to hosting you again, but next time for dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I loved Temple restaurant. Very impressive service, fantastic western food, and great wines. The only thing is, I wish it felt a bit more relaxed and had a livelier atmosphere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ErinTys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at Trb Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear ErinTys,
Thank you for coming to TRB and spending an evening with us. We are constantly working to expand our wine list and it pleases us to hear your recognition. I will share your positive impressions with our staff and recommendations for a "livelier" atmosphere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

What a find! As other reviews say, you find this restaurant at the end of an alley, our taxi dropped us off and we walked ubsure if we were heading in the right direction? Once we located the restaurant we were met in the the street and escorted to our table. Wow! The restsurant was a complete contrast to the alley we had just walked down! Now on to the food!! I can honestly say it was one the best meals i have experinced to date. We had several amuse bouche all delicious. All the food we ordered was of an exceptional standard. The service and friendliness of the staff was outstanding. I highly reccommed this restaurant.

1  Thank shazzamcdazza
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at Trb Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Shazzamcdazza,
Thank you for your keen review of TRB. We understand that the restaurant is somewhat difficult to find and we do our best to provide useful guidance to our doorstep. We are glad your efforts were worthwhile and positive. Please come again, as we look forward to another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Trb Hutong also viewed

 

Been to Trb Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing