We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best Western food in Beijing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of TRB Hutong

TRB Hutong
Ranked #1 of 12,603 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $73
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: TRB serves contemporary European cuisine and is committed to providing the highest levels of hospitality for our guests. In creating our dining space, the Australian architectural and design firm Hassell emphasized the clean, light filled and thoroughly modern lines of what was once a television factory producing the capital's first black and white TVs. The history of the TRB compound spans 600 years: it includes ancient halls of worship, factories constructed after the Communist takeover and slogans left over from the Cultural Revolution. Renovation began in 2008, focussed on preserving all the layers of history and keeping as much as possible of the original structures.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best Western food in Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A very elegant restaurant with an impressive sense of arrival inside an old Chines temple, which should be visited before dinner.
Excellent food, absolutely great service, elegant surroundings.
An absolute nightmare to find at the end of a long and narrow hutong - but thats part of its charm - make sure the restaurant sends you detailed bi-lingual instructions by text message after you make the -absolutely necessary!- advance reservation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jpheitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear jpheitz,

Thank you for your kind words. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are trying our best to make a visit worth the quest of finding our hidden gem. TRB is glad to hear that the text message added a missing piece to the puzzle.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,018
    154
    40
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaurant in Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Amazing setting, fantastic food, wonderful service. We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and couldn't have asked for more. Service was not rushed which meant we could really enjoy and savour the evening, as well as the complimentary food and wine that appeared between courses. The herb and spice infused cocktails also deserve a very special mention. Lived here for three years and this is by far our best dining experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Joe99,

Greetings from TRB. Thank you for celebrating your anniversary with us. It is most rewarding to hear that we were able to contribute to your special evening.

TRB faithfully awaits your next visit.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“À very fine dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Glorious setting, delightful " tasting menu" and excellent, personalized service! I highly recommend The Temple Restaurant if you want to experience an enjoyable dinner in Beijing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VGM47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear VGM47,

Thank you very much for your kind post. We are excited to hear that you had a great time at TRB. Your comments encourage us to keep embracing the true essence of hospitality.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“tough to find and not worthwhile”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I eat out in top places in cities across the wrold at least 3 months a year. This was considered a terrific resturant but i was vey disappointed. Great setting amd ambience and excellent service. Chesnut soup was excellent and just the right amount but most of the rest mediorce at best. Bread had been cut into slices at least 10 hours earlier and were dry on the exposed side . A hallmark of this caliber restuarant should be great bread but one bite of the spinach and a bite of every type available was one too many. Tasteless , dry and no discerning difference-same dough with a bit of flavoring. Wine by the glass very limiting.
A slow cooked halibut was the blandest halibut I ever had; taste all gone, bland and all mush.
Even dessert was bland. Its as if the chef wanted to apeal to every type of palate and make everything without character -no depth to this type of cooking.
Service was terrific. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME if you are looking for great food-its not at this address-Beijing has much better to offer

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Lgppres,

We regret to hear that your visit at TRB did not live up to your expectations. We would like to thank you for taking your time to share with us the food quality short comings of your dining experience. It is unfortunate that we missed the mark on that particular evening. Please rest assured that your comments will be thoroughly communicated with our team.

TRB hopes to welcome you again, to express our hospitality with an improved outcome. Please let us know, should you come back to Beijing in the near future.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely evening at TRB last week and would recommend it to visitors and residents of Beijing alike. The food was good, although not spectacular, but the service was impeccable. We had the salmon and the halibut (one of the specials). The salmon was cooked to perfection and melted in the mouth. The halibut was decent. What surprised us the most, however, was that the waitresses kept bringing complimentary dish after dish: mushroom soup, lobster bisque, cheese puff pastries, smoked salmon canapes...and then chocolate truffles and marshmallows (the latter we could have skipped) for dessert. Neither of us had ever been to a restaurant where so many complimentary courses were provided; it really made the experience very pleasant.

The restaurant itself is hidden down a very narrow hutong and is hard to find, but the search itself is an enjoyable expedition. The decor and ambiance of the TRB is lovely, and the old courtyard architecture beautiful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Tmmahony,

Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We are glad to learn that you liked our little surprises during your dinner. Our team will be thrilled to hear it. TRB is looking forward to welcome you soon again.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TRB Hutong also viewed

 

Been to TRB Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing