We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tough to find and not worthwhile”
Review of TRB Hutong

TRB Hutong
Ranked #2 of 12,667 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $73
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: TRB serves contemporary European cuisine and is committed to providing the highest levels of hospitality for our guests. In creating our dining space, the Australian architectural and design firm Hassell emphasized the clean, light filled and thoroughly modern lines of what was once a television factory producing the capital's first black and white TVs. The history of the TRB compound spans 600 years: it includes ancient halls of worship, factories constructed after the Communist takeover and slogans left over from the Cultural Revolution. Renovation began in 2008, focussed on preserving all the layers of history and keeping as much as possible of the original structures.
New York
Level Contributor
512 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“tough to find and not worthwhile”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I eat out in top places in cities across the wrold at least 3 months a year. This was considered a terrific resturant but i was vey disappointed. Great setting amd ambience and excellent service. Chesnut soup was excellent and just the right amount but most of the rest mediorce at best. Bread had been cut into slices at least 10 hours earlier and were dry on the exposed side . A hallmark of this caliber restuarant should be great bread but one bite of the spinach and a bite of every type available was one too many. Tasteless , dry and no discerning difference-same dough with a bit of flavoring. Wine by the glass very limiting.
A slow cooked halibut was the blandest halibut I ever had; taste all gone, bland and all mush.
Even dessert was bland. Its as if the chef wanted to apeal to every type of palate and make everything without character -no depth to this type of cooking.
Service was terrific. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME if you are looking for great food-its not at this address-Beijing has much better to offer

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lgppres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Lgppres,

We regret to hear that your visit at TRB did not live up to your expectations. We would like to thank you for taking your time to share with us the food quality short comings of your dining experience. It is unfortunate that we missed the mark on that particular evening. Please rest assured that your comments will be thoroughly communicated with our team.

TRB hopes to welcome you again, to express our hospitality with an improved outcome. Please let us know, should you come back to Beijing in the near future.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,088
    163
    42
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic service, lovely setting”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I had a lovely evening at TRB last week and would recommend it to visitors and residents of Beijing alike. The food was good, although not spectacular, but the service was impeccable. We had the salmon and the halibut (one of the specials). The salmon was cooked to perfection and melted in the mouth. The halibut was decent. What surprised us the most, however, was that the waitresses kept bringing complimentary dish after dish: mushroom soup, lobster bisque, cheese puff pastries, smoked salmon canapes...and then chocolate truffles and marshmallows (the latter we could have skipped) for dessert. Neither of us had ever been to a restaurant where so many complimentary courses were provided; it really made the experience very pleasant.

The restaurant itself is hidden down a very narrow hutong and is hard to find, but the search itself is an enjoyable expedition. The decor and ambiance of the TRB is lovely, and the old courtyard architecture beautiful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmmahony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Tmmahony,

Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We are glad to learn that you liked our little surprises during your dinner. Our team will be thrilled to hear it. TRB is looking forward to welcome you soon again.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly memorable and special”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have worked in London, New York and Hong Kong. And I have dined at some of the finest Michelin starred restaurants in those cities. Went to Beijing for holiday last week. Had the brunch at TRB on Saturday. The entire experience was first rate. Food was delicious, ambience understated and tasteful, and service impeccable.The maitre d', Reto Kistler, gave us a short tour of the premises after the brunch without me asking. That was a lovely finishing touch that sealed the deal. Will definitely go back. I have no hesitation recommending this place to clients and friends. The only drawback is that this restaurant is located at an obscure location. It is not easy to find.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prospero938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Prospero938,

Thank you for your positive feedback. It was great to have you at TRB last week. Meeting wonderful guests like you keep me going!

Reto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food, nice vibe, nice location”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Probably a better bet for a set lunch than Maison Boloud, these days (price wise anyway). Set in a nice old courtyard property, it is quite easy to find if you follow the directions on their website. When I went, they served little marshmallows as an amuse bouche which though visually appealing weren't actually that great, but the rest of lunch was pretty good (western food). Good service (by the guy who used to work at Maison Baloud).

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Richard F,

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your lunch at our restaurant. TRB appreciates your sincere feedback and your comments have been noted with thanks.

We are looking forward to express our hospitality to you soon again.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
286 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“The Temple of Great Culinary Experience!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

My wife had only 1 dinner together in Beijing as I was tied up with other meetings. We decided to go to TRB to try this new restaurant that opened only 10 months ago.

The journey to TRB was interesting as you into a narrow typical Beijing street with local restaurant, people hanging out and fruit stalls. As we hit the end of the road, we were greeted by the staff of TRB. The old and grand temple doors opened to a serene and chicly decorated courtyard. As we entered the hall, we were welcomed into modern zen like ambience in the dimming room.

We had an amazing tasting menu with wine pairing. Even before our courses came, they had already provided a few dishes to whet up our anticipation. The parade of food was a true sensory experience. The food were presented like art and tasted like an explosion of flavored combining exquisitely in the mouth. The wines paired well with the food!

We were pleased we decide to make the journey to TRB!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chinaren_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear chinaren_10,

We would like to express our gratitude for sharing your dinner with us. It is very encouraging to hear that our tasting menu and wine pairing delighted both of you.

Thank you for giving us the chance to deliver genuine hospitality.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TRB Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing