We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hanging in Beijing”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TRB Hutong

TRB Hutong
Ranked #3 of 12,627 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $73
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Houhai
Description: TRB serves contemporary European cuisine and is committed to providing the highest levels of hospitality for our guests. In creating our dining space, the Australian architectural and design firm Hassell emphasized the clean, light filled and thoroughly modern lines of what was once a television factory producing the capital's first black and white TVs. The history of the TRB compound spans 600 years: it includes ancient halls of worship, factories constructed after the Communist takeover and slogans left over from the Cultural Revolution. Renovation began in 2008, focussed on preserving all the layers of history and keeping as much as possible of the original structures.
Täby
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool hanging in Beijing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

A cosmopolitan place in the middle of Beijing. Cool and spectactular atmosphere, particularly the inside garden. Very international with french waiters. Somewhat poor service. We had to wait 45 mins for our table although we made a reservation, they forgot the red wine and we had to ask twice. Food good, rather pricy for being in Beijing.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Susanne,

Thank you for your comments, and we certainly will look into ways to improve ourselves. We remember the night when you visited TRB, and we would like to apologize for the waiting of your reserved table. We certainly had an off balance between demand and supply.We would like to thank you for taking time to express your observations which we will use in our employee training to attempt refining our products.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    159
    42
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service in a 600 temple complex”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

What is not to like about this place? Went here for lunch twice. Today to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. The food is tasty, innovative but not unfamiliar. The extra bonus is the location, the entrance into the restaurant sets the scene. The complex has several halls that you can still smell the beautiful old wood (not musty). The restaurant is a modern building, the entrance is still the old temple entrance. Inside you are greeted by the bar stocked with infused spirits, then a little lounge before turning left to the dinning room. Set lunch menu is terrific value at RMB175(plus 15%) for 4 courses.
This is where the personal touch makes the experience memorable. Flowers on the table are roses, the salt on the infused margarita were herb salt. We were presented with a little chocolate cake and champagne to celebrate our anniversary.
our next trip here will be for the dinner tasting menu. We will also bringing all our foodie visitors here, this is the place to give visitors to Beijing an experience they won't soon forget.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drama_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Drama_Traveller

Thank you for allowing TRB to express their hospitality towards you and giving us an opportunity to be part of yours special celebration. It was a real pleasure to be able to be part of your celebration.

The TRB team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but food a bit iffy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

A great place to take visiting guests. A very stylish set up. Minimalistic, but tastefully done. The menu is great, but not good enough to make you want to patronize this place for food only. It's more of a destination than a restaurant per say.
Not really a great value for money, but awesome to show off the treasures of Beijing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BooHK1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear BooHK1212,

TRB is pleased to learn your pleasant experience with TRB, we value your opinion and comments seriously, and we certainly will learn from your sharing. Thank you for taking time to write the review of TRB, we are much looking forward to learning from you soon.

TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great way to end a long day at The Great Wall.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

First of all, make sure you know where the place is located. None of the taxi drivers knew how to get here. After two taxi, and walking for 15 minutes, we finally found this gem hidden in a dark alley. Well worth the hunt.

As we walked in, we were immediately greeted and taken to our seats. There were so many things we wanted to try but opted for the four course tasting menu. We both order one of each option so at least we could taste a little of everything. Food was great. Portion may seem small but we were definitely filled at the end of our meal. We received about five on the house appetizers which was a warm welcome.

Service was excellent. They changed our utensils after every course which was cool but a bit much. They changed out my butter for the bread pretty much after each slice if bread as well. They were very attentive. Worked in sync with bringing our food and removing our plates. It was kind if amusing to watch.

Love the atmosphere. The only creepy thing is the lady standing right outside the bathroom who goes in and cleans it after each guest, which means the bathroom was very tighty. It made me feel a little uneasy knowing someone is waiting for me to finish.

I would highly recommend this place if you want I pamper yourself to some fine dining in Beijing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will_RN769923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Will_RN769923

Thank you for your kind words and your detail observation really shows how much TRB has been appreciated by you.

TRB is committed to detail service, and we take pride on our hospitality experience.

TRB will certainly take note from your sharing to ensure we keep the highest standard of hospitality experience and we are always listening to feedback from our valuable guests to elevate the hospitality experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any question or further inquiry.
TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Temple Restaurant Beijing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This restaurant is a gem located at the end of a side street. Once a Temple now renovated, a dining pleasure awaits. The food is exquisite, short ribs, suckling pig, lobster ravioli, lots of amuse bouche, only a small snapshot of the food. Great bread. The desserts you have to see for yourself.
Ambiance is seductive and clean, the service over the top. The music is contemporary, but tasteful. Wine list extensive and moderately pried, yet some are pricey. Quiet and tasteful, both food and venue, service impecable. Do not miss this dining experience.
The proprietor comes from San Francisco via New York and Belgium, and most recently Maiion Bouland. His experience is evident in this must do dining experience.
Just for comparison after reading all dining reviews in various places, we dined the following night at Maison, would not recommend or ever return. TRB is the best choice for an experience not to forget.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank magglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Restaura... B, Manager at TRB Hutong, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Magglg,

TRB is flattered about your compliments and kind words, and we are much pleased to learn your experience and sharing through Trip Advisor.
As a promise to our valuable guests, we are always looking for opportunities to improve ourselves and maximize the experience. Ignace himself is motivated to refine the hospitality and holds high bar of standard to ensure every guest of TRB receives the most exceptional experience and it is our mission and core value to deliver such amazing culture among TRB team.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any question or further inquiry.
TRB Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TRB Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing