We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“A gastronomic journey” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of STAY Beijing - CLOSED

STAY Beijing
Price range: $70 - $125
Cuisines: French, European, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Yuanda Road
Description: Yannick Alléno made a first step in China by opening a S.T.A.Y in the famous Shangri-La Hotel in Beijing. The menu is based on « cooked on the spit » dishes, tailor-made pastries, perfect service and stunning design. From the communal table to the pastry Library, all the ingredients are gathered to offer to the hosts a precise, mastered and generous cuisine.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gastronomic journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

A fantastic restaurant with an outstanding service. I had the Black Peppered Wagyu Beef Fillet which was one of the chefs creations and I enjoyed every bite of it.
Very nice selection of wines is offered and the deserts were amazing.

Visited April 2013
Thank Antoine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yannick A, Gérant at STAY Beijing, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Antoine,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and the service at the restaurant STAY,
We make our best to offer our clients unforgetable meals and experiences.
We hope to see you again very soon at one of our STAY restaurants (Beijing, Taipei, Dubaï).

Best Regards,

STAY Beijing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Innovation at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The best of the best, from staff service to food a total delight excellent value for the sheer quality of dishes, oh and the wine is first class !!

Visited March 2013
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We ate at stay recently and really enjoyed the restaurant. The service was excellent as was the food. There were various options such as a la carte but also different combinations for entree, main and dessert, etc. Whilst expensive for China, the cost of dinner for 2 with a bottle of wine was very reasonable compared to Australian prices. The dessert options were fantastic!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
1 Thank Tash28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious food and high-qualiy service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The food was fresh, fine and delicious with some surprising associations (abalone and prok skin, very nice!) The Pastry Library is an heaven for sweet tooth people. The service was perfect. The staff was very attentive and kind. A place I'll go back for sure.

Visited December 2012
Thank Melaniemei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We only ate brunch here, but it was awesome. We got the option that included free flow Louis Roederer champagne (a total of about $95/person) and it was so worth it... the food was incredible and abundant (we were stuffed) and the dessert library was awesome. I am not really a dessert person, but the options I tried were all delicious. And with the bubbly flowing and use of really high-quality and beautiful ingredients, it feels very luxurious and celebratory. We would return for brunch again.

Visited October 2012
Thank katiekins570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed STAY Beijing also viewed


Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing