We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid if you don't want to buy expensive, overpriced, garmets” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beijing Dong Wu silk Museum

Beijing Dong Wu silk Museum
Ranked #276 of 1,603 things to do in Beijing
Attraction details
Landskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Avoid if you don't want to buy expensive, overpriced, garmets”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Included in our fixed, organized, tour to the great wall. Even though only a short stop we regret ever going in there!

It was more of a market then a museum where salesmen trying to force overpriced pillows, blankets, scarfs and other silk products upon tourists.

The museum and shop was combined and so no chance to go around looking at the exhibition items without having salesmen around your ankles.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredrik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    13
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Silk Museum was part of our tour. We were to learn about how silk is made. Afterwards, there are shops available to purchase pure silk items. We purchased some beautiful items there. Just make sure that you bargain with them for the best deal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a museum but still worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I don't consider this a museum but is still an interesting place to learn how silk is made. A guide escorted us to several displays of the silk making process and explained each step. We were allowed to touch the cocoons and feel the silk thread. They specialize in making silk comforters so they showed us the process of making one. Then we were led to a showroom of comforters and silk covers for sale and then to a room with a vast selection of silk clothing for sale. This is silk business and not a museum. A real silk museum is in Suzhou and definitely worth a visit if you are in that part of China.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MaxWildThings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to know the history of Silk and also to buy silk!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This place is very interesting and official.
Surely it's more expensive than other places, but I'll get REAL SILK.
And also you can learn the whole process of silk making!
You will only be able to bargaing a little, not as much as everywhere else in Beijing

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank fap2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beijing Dong Wu silk Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing