We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taiyanggong Outlet”
Review of Nyonya Kitchen - CLOSED

Nyonya Kitchen
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian
Neighborhood: Guomao
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Guomao
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
97 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Taiyanggong Outlet”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to the outlet at Taiyanggong and the food is nice. Though the service is just so-so. Prices is still considered reasonable but it is not really the super authentic kind of Nonya Food. The serving is a bit small but it is still okay if it is a sharing for 2 pax.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaniceTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    8
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Located near by the METROPARK LIDO hotel (Former Holiday Inn) and not so easy to find, you have to enter the park via an iron gateway and walk 200m.
The restaurant is quite small, the food is excellent for a very reasonable price.
Staff is nice idespite that it is really difficult to communicate
I have been there several times with everytime the same pleasure .
I strongly recommend it to anyone who wants to enjoy a meal in a relax atmosphere

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janodebilbao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
191 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pretty authentic Peranakan food.”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

As per other review the Lido branch is pretty hard to find so make sure you have their number.
The food is good and for those missing a taste of home it does the trick. The ngoh hiang (pork roll) was excellent. The staff are plesant however need more training trying to order and to get their attention is hard. Instead of checking on customers they are clearing tables but this was after the busy period. The restaurant itself is due for a thorough steam, spring clean as its looking grubby broken toilet seat in ladies is a big no no and dirty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sukamakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Malay Food in Beijing”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This review covers the same restaurant chain but the original site in Lido, outside the 4th Ring. This place is difficult to find, through an iron gateway opposite the East gate of the Lido Hotel on Jiangtai Road and then 100m into what appears to be a housing estate. It doesn't appear to deter the steady stream of punters though, almost all locals. The venue is one room, around 10 tables, clean and welcoming. The menu is clear - pictures and bilingual - and covers a good range of Malay specialties including a great range of starters (try the curry puffs) and deserts - if you missed your Gula Melaka, then get it here! The staff are attentive and friendly, the food was delivered extremely quickly to the table and did not disappoint. I was with Malay food veterans and they pronounced it very good and authentic. The coconut rice was superb. Prices are reasonable - expect to pay around 60-70RMB each if you include drinks. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PCFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delish Peranakan cuisine!”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Most authentic Peranakan cuisine! I felt I was once again back in Malaysia/Singapore environment with the smell and taste of the wonderful curries, sambal kangkong, satay not to mention the desserts!! Whenever I fly into Beijing, I make an effort to go to Nyonya Kitchen in Chaoyang but this is the first time visiting the branch in GuoMao (China World). We had a big group of 8 so we were able to get a private room to ourselves!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carissae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nyonya Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing