We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ in Beijing?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Home Plate (Sanyuanqiao)

Home Plate (Sanyuanqiao)
Ranked #75 of 10,597 Restaurants in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Yansha
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“BBQ in Beijing?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely.......this place served up some bonafide BBQ half way around the world from my home in the states. There was a stack of smoking wood inside the place. Real slow smoked brisket and pulled pork, both of which were juicy and tender. There were pieces of bark mixed in and a smoke ring was present! :-).....sides were good and there is a nice selection of craft beers and whiskey. Very good if you need a BBQ fix while traveling in China!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BigYellow797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    42
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Every time I go to Beijing, I have to visit Home Plate. The. BBQ is great and they have Slowboat beer on draft! This time I had the pulled pork and slice beef brisket combo. The potato salad was great too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustAWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BBQ and Hamburgers in China?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have been living in China for a few months and this BBQ is very close to US style BBQ (which is extremely hard to find here). We took our family and had a small wait but it was well worth it! We loved it. We loved the pulled pork BBQ, fried Okra, hamburgers. I am a southern girl and the cornbread muffin was just OK. Plan your time to allow for your to find this place and for a small wait on a table. Location - This is at the end of an alley way and is not extremely easy to find. (from Dongsanhuan Beilu, head 20m north of Xiaoyun Lu intersection and take the first right). My family has made this a frequent place to visit while traveling to Beijing.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth finding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Home Plate can be a bit tricky to find, the map on their business card is not the best, but it is worth the effort. Service is swift and friendly, there were four of us in our party, three being Americans with very discriminating palettes. Unanimously the pulled pork sandwich was rated excellent, as were the buffalo wings, though the ranch dressing was a little generic. Very good atmosphere, and competitive pricing which means it is also very popular with Chinese diners. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caerdarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My family and I found this place a couple of months ago and can't stop going. High quality BBQ, friendly service and cold draft beers. The recent addition of a wall along the street, makes the outdoor dinning attractive. If you are a Westerner, you have to visit this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dlyork77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Plate (Sanyuanqiao) also viewed

 

Been to Home Plate (Sanyuanqiao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing