We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than Expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lunar 8

Lunar 8
Ranked #254 of 12,603 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Guomao
Florida
Level Contributor
315 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a far better choice than "Cut" which is also in the Fairmont Hotel. There was a good selection of items on the menu and the food was quite good.

The restaurant is on the lower level and is large. Food was well prepared and presented. The service was friendly and good.

Dinner for two with wine was $165, which is not cheap but at least I felt I was closer to getting my moneys worth.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NJTravelBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Love the duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice ambience at Lunar 8, and the duck was superb. Menu appealed to a wide range of tastes. Prices are on the high end.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Food and Nice Business Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Am a Platinum member of Fairmont and only expect the best from any restaurant at their locations. This restaurant is a lot better service than the "Cut"

We enjoyed the mixed meals and a lot of choices at fair prices, Our guest were so happy that they wanted to return for dinner.

The service was great from start to end.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ArthurSousa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Distinctively average, ultimately felt let down.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Came here with my partner while staying at the Fairmont.

Location and parking 4/5
In the business district, bottom floor inside the hotel.

Food 3/5
Did not have have duck on the night we went (what!?, for a place which promotes itself on duck). Meal was distinctively average. Felt let down but maybe because I really wanted to like it here based on the other reviews and the standard of the Hotel.

Service 3/5
Did not understand the term vegetarian for my partner very well. Asked for a dish to be modified with no meat, however arrived with meat. Staff did agree to change the dish when we highlighted this.

Atmosphere 3/5
Nice décor, sat us next to the kitchen, felt quite exposed to waiters constantly running past our table.

Toilets N/A
Clean.

Value 3/5
Just over 600 RMB for both of us.

Overall 2/5
Distinctively average, ultimately felt let down.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hallie_Brosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurant in Fairmont, Beijing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I like the cozy atmosphere, the friendly and attentive staff and most of all the varieties of food they serve!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 02E07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunar 8 also viewed

 

Been to Lunar 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing