We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, but way out of town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Beijing North
Ranked #120 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 378 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, but way out of town”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at the Ramada for 4 nights in Nov and was very happy with the place. The rooms were big and the bathroom gigantic. The buffet breakfast restaurant was very clean and well laid out. The staff very helpful and polite. The rooms as I mentioned were big and clean. If you visit Beijing then this is the place to stay even if it means a longer commute to the city centre.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor overlooking the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    38
    22
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
21
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week while we were on business at a nearby university. We had an excellent experience in all categories. Our room was clean, pleasant and quiet. The bathroom included both tub and shower. We ate breakfast every day and several lunches and dinners in the hotel restaurant. The buffet breakfast offered both Chinese and Western options, including great coffee. The food was very good and they offered many choices with some variation each day. The variations were especially appreciated since we were in the hotel for so many days. As others have noted, the hotel serves a lot of tour buses, but we found it perfectly pleasant to eat even during the busiest breakfast hour.

While the hotel charges for Internet connection in the room, they offer free wifi in the lobby. The lobby has lots of comfortable seating and the wifi connection is fast.

The very best thing about this hotel is the staff. While not everyone speaks English, and we speak no Chinese, key staff members speak English fluently. All staff members we encountered were helpful and friendly. The restaurant manager helped us make menu selections, directing us to delicious meals each time we were in the dining room. The guest services manager packed an unusually shaped package for us, and when our travel plans changed suddenly he made new flight and hotel reservations for us. He even called us at the new hotel to make sure everything was working out! The general manager is around the hotel checking on operations and greeting guests at all hours of the day. We believe the hotel's smooth operations are due to his careful oversight.

Our positive impressions of this hotel were cemented when we stayed at other 4-star hotels during our trip that weren't nearly as good. We recommend the Ramada Beijing North and would be happy to stay there again on our next trip to Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowland Heights, California
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights for a conference. The room was clean, the front desk staff was helpful when I had to ship some documents to a client, and the breakfast was just okay. There is a massage place within the hotel, but it was overpriced. The staff all around the hotel, in particular in the dinning area, was excellent and very courteous. The location, however, isn't the greatest. There is nothing around the hotel that you can walk to. So, this is probably not an ideal choice for independent travelers, but just fine for people who are attending conferences.

Room Tip: The hotel is spread out and if you don't like to walk a lot to get to the breakfast or front lob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigFishDiveClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in the middle of October 2012 as a part of a $99 Beijing tour. We were told thy changed the hotel from c. kong because they were getting a lot of complaints about that hotel. This one turned out to be very nice in decor. We found out it was quite new. Only 1 1/2 years old. Rooms were very clean as well as the common areas. The hotel staff were very nice for Chinese standards. The beds were hard but that's how they like it. The ac/heat never really worked although we weren't that uncomfortable to call down to ask about it. The breakfast buffet gets really crowded by 7am because there are many tour groups staying here so arrive early or wait until 8am since most of the tour groups will have left. The food was ok, not too much western style options but there were some to get you by. I would only recommend his hotel is you are doing business near by or going on a tour group because its about 1 1/2 hr ride to the city center. Probably worth it to pay more money for a hotel closer to Beijing is you are touring on your own.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shopgirl326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at the Ramada for a week during a conference. Found the staff friendly and very willing to help, although the english skills were not too great. The room was very spacious and clean, with a huge bathroom (both bath and shower). The breakfast buffet was nice with lots of variety, catering for both american, continental and chinese clients. Everything was replenished promtly and the food was warm and fresh.

The only downside was the location. The hotel is a bit on the outskirts of Beijing, but there is a busstop 5 minutes walk down the road...take bus 543 (1Yuan) and it will take you to Longzè subway station and vice versa. The Taxi drivers also did not know the location of the hotel, so they had to call. Maybe try asking to go to the Loong Palace hotel (next door to Ramada).

The hotel also have a currency exchange service and an ATM in the lobby. The wifi struggled in our room on the 4th floor, but was better on the 2nd floor (lots of seating). There are broadband connections in the room though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisnaPotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Contrary to most Beijing hotels of the same category, this hotel charges 60RMB for internet per day with no WIFI available in the room. The night Staff's English skills were quite poor at check-in and the fixtures in the room are old and need to be modernised/changed along with the carpets.

The room, however, was quite spacious and clean with a plate of complimentry fruit on arrival which was quite nice. However, the noise of othyer guests leaving early in the morning was quite fisturbing and could be heard over and over again as one tried to get some sleep.

The drive from the Airport took more than an hour as the taxi driver had no clue how to get to this place (or pretended to not know to raise his charge). I made at least 15 attempts to call the hotel in the meantime for directions but each time the phone was busy, which was extremey frustrating to note at around 10.30 pm. With a 160 RMB Taxi ride and an extra 60 RMB for the internet, the experience became even torterous.

With the downtown being quite far and hard to reach even taxi one may want to look for other options, which are available a plenty in and around the capital airport. Moving around in taxis, which are hard to find in the outer Beijing, was quite expensive as well.

Won't go back unless and uitill there are no other choices!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Usman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Loong Palace Hotel & Resort
#73 of 6,483 in Beijing
392 reviews
Olympic Village
Ramada Parkside Beijing
Ramada Parkside Beijing
#2,145 of 6,483 in Beijing
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
Marco Polo Parkside Beijing
#140 of 6,483 in Beijing
400 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#154 of 6,483 in Beijing
755 reviews
Chongwenmen
Capital Hotel Beijing
Capital Hotel Beijing
#84 of 6,483 in Beijing
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Beijing North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Beijing North

Property: Ramada Beijing North
Address: No.319 Changping Road, Changping District, Beijing 102206, China
Location: China > Beijing > Olympic Village
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ramada Beijing North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 599
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Beijing North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing