We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Daphne delivers again!

Last week we hired Daphne for 2 days for a group visiting Beijing. Fantastic, again. 6 years ago... read more

Reviewed July 25, 2018
afb43
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Great tailored personalized tours!

We were lucky to have done several days touring with our guide Pau who picked us up at the airport... read more

Reviewed June 20, 2018
DanielAdvisor
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 495 reviews
  
Reviews (495)
Filter reviews
495 results
Traveler rating
488
6
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
6
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiananmen square summer palace great sense of humor private tour local family acrobatic show airport pick up and drop great wall at mutianyu three days via email great photographer authentic chinese peking duck an excellent tour guide his knowledge beijing traffic lama temple
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 495 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My family recently used Daphne as our private tour guide in Beijing for two days and I highly recommend her services. She picked us up each morning at our hotel and with a driver took us to all the sights we were interested in visiting. Daphne was punctual, organized, professional and very knowledgeable and informative. Her English is fluent and she has a wonderful sense of humor. Aside from the tourist attractions, Daphne provided us with insights into the daily lives of the Chinese citizens and was willing to take us "off the beaten path" so we could experience the real Beijing. We only had two days in Beijing but we left feeling satisfied that we had visited the highlights and more. Jennifer G.

1  Thank JENNIFER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My guests and us were with Daphne for 2 full days and we were glad to have her to show us things which we will not see or understand if we were there by ourselves. Daphne is really a knowledgeable and patient tour guide. Her English is very clear and easy to understand. She will help and accommodate you in every way if she can. She will clear any doubts you have when planning your itinerary. She always keep us entertained with stories of Chinese history, culture and education whenever we asked questions about it since we were always lost in numbers when comes to the year of history and Chinese names especially for foreigners, Since we have teenagers whose English weren't good, she will pause and wait for the parents to translate before she continue.
To be a good tour guide, you need to have a strong passion which I can sense it from Daphne. She is also eager to learn about different countries' culture and history.
Daphne also has a good sense of humour whenever my guys like to crack silly jokes. She will always reply it with a humour. It is good to have a guide to explain and show you certain things which U alone will never know if U were to tour the Forbidden City or Great Wall by yourself. Daphne is very easy going and comfortable to be with. She is highly recommended. I think it is worth every penny to have her shown us around Beijing.

Thank michiruo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had a wonderful tour (my husband, I, our daughter 14 years old) at the great wall. Daphne is an interesting guide, answer to all our questions about the country, the history, the culture. She has a perfect english. Our tour was organize by mails. We went to the great wall (matyanyu) eat in a restaurant where we could order vegetarian meals. She walked us into a western supermarket. She gave us good advices to visit Beijing. She organize also for us tickets for a kung-fu show. We asked not to go to some factories, our wish has been done. We never go to a factory in case to visit and to buy. We can only recommande her, she is a professionnal. We had a wonderful time.

Thank Viviane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Daphne is amazing!,, from the initial emails when booking, to booking train tickets. She was very organised!

She was on time for both mornings. The information she shared was explained in a very interesting way.

She is very funny and great to be around!,

If you want a first class guide - choose daphne!

1  Thank Travelcupcake187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I and our 25-year-old daughter had a wonderful time in late July touring Beijing with Daphne. We visited the major sites: the Forbidden City, the Summer Palace, the Great Wall and the Temple of Heaven. We ate at lovely Chinese restaurants and undertook rewarding shopping expeditions, including one to the fabulous Panjiayuan market with its authentic Chinese crafts and embroidereis. The latter included beautiful Miao ethnic costumes from southern China.

Daphne was always punctual, happy and flexible in her attitude. For example, on our first day we visited an additional Tibetan shop because I was interested in that region, and she also took us to an additional shopping mall in the evening before a scheduled visit to a performance of Beijing Opera. Our first day in Beijing was hot, but Daphne was so kind and considerate and brought us bottles of water, and even sunscreen so that we would feel cooler and be protected . This was very much appreciated.

We highly recommend touring Beijing and surrounds with Daphne. Our tour was a major highlight of our trip. We had such a wonderful time we want to go back again and see more of this wonderful country with Daphne.

Thank ALY522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews