We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star price - camping-like experience - inaccurate description”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home of the Great Wall
Ranked #173 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed January 25, 2012

1 star for the view and design - it is pretty
That's largely the only positve - and since we were going to see the great wall anyway, I regret being sucked in by the photographs of the view.
wanted a luxury experince for my parents

Reasons I chose this place.
- The spa pool (romantic but private - japenese onsen like experience was what I envisaged) not available - full wood - see picture
- The price an amenties suggested a high-end experience - nothing could be farther from the truth
- The 'wheelchair access' since my mother can walk around but has a knee injury so has to take it slow and going down hill is a proble
MOST THE AMENTIES LISTED HERE DO NOT EXIST, Namely:
- Bar/lounge - there is a freezing restaurant - definitely not wheelchair accessible (I was shivering in the down jacket I wore o the great wall) that serves only chinese food at 3 x regular prices even for a mid end restaurant in Beijing/at a tourist location.
- Shuttle bus service - non existent - when I asked what would therefore be the best way to the wall - the answer (in Chinese- No English spoken) was 'don't you have a car'
- Swimming pool - really?
- Fitness Centre - I must have missed this
- Free high speed internet - Well internet exist but the connection was so poor I couldn't upload a picture before my laptop gave up
- Room service - I did get a knock at 5:15pm saying - 'when are you eating because the kitchen is closing'
-Suites - well I had nbooked the most expensive room - it wasn't a suite maybe they're referring to the villa for rent?

None of the small details you would expect for this price were available (I won't list here) - even the fundamentals weren't. I had to search for the reception and receptionist who took one look at the booking confirmation and said (in Chinese) 'how am i supposed o understand this - it's in English' so I stayed and helped translate the passport dates - I have travelled enough in China not to expect too much - but at these prices reading the dates on a passport should be a minimum.
The manager outright lied about the cost of simple things like getting a car to huairou - it was a perfect case of trying to rip people off unnecessarily particularly given everything else

I understand we went in low season - but I booked well in advance, there was plenty of time to contact us and let us know if something were unavailable - or at the least offer a discount for the non-existent amenties. On the contrary they tried to take advantage in every possible way.

Room Tip: stay elsewhere - try the schoolhouse or one of the many nearby hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 28 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2011

we bumped into this hotel when we were researching for a clean hostel wif affordable price. At first i didnt think this as an appropriate choice as it is far away from the city . But at my friend's request we decided to stay there for a night when we went to the Mutianyu Greatwall. Turned out we would regret if we did not stay there. They welcomed us with great hospitality and the view is GORGEOUS!!!! It was so calm that it almost felt like heaven after our busy and noisy trip. And the activity they offer is also remarkable. We only have to pay 50 each to climb the wild great wall that is right next to the famous Mutianyu greatwall. As fond of old and untouched sites as i am, I joined the tour without hesitating. And the tour is totally worth going as the view from the wild great wall is so much prettier than the mutianyu one!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DorothyLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank DiegoGRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SVETLANA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 16, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed October 28, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
YIN Hotel(xiaoyin guanshan)
#249 of 6,564 in Beijing
2 reviews
Yanqi Hotel Managed by Kempinski
#131 of 6,564 in Beijing
20 reviews
Commune by the Great Wall
#365 of 6,564 in Beijing
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bay Hotel Beijing
#206 of 6,564 in Beijing
3 reviews
Huairou Scenic Resort
Laomo Mountain House
Laomo Mountain House
#2,924 of 6,564 in Beijing
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home of the Great Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home of the Great Wall

Address: Mutianyu Great Wall, Huairou District, Beijing 101405, China
Location: China > Beijing > Huairou Scenic Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 6,564 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: $151 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Home of the Great Wall 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Home of the Great WallThe Ideal Holiday House for your stay at the Mutianyu Great WallDo you want to give a special vacation?Would you like to find retreats in the fresh air and skies at the Mutianyu Great Wall?Are you planning to celebrate a special occasion?Do you want to make your meeting more relaxed?Come to Home of the Great Wall, it’s created to fulfill upscale travelers expectation for a comfortable Great Wall view home, surrounded by natural Great Wall views, where the staff are always respond promptly and discreetly to meet everything the guests need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Home of the Great Wall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing