We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jingshan Garden Hotel
Ranked #115 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

For those who wish to experience a traditional chinese style small scale facility with nice courtyard centred layout then I think some may be happy. The room , particularly the shower, was nice as was the courtyard. General location was good

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petertanpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jinhu x, Manager at Jingshan Garden Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.We are very happy that you like our hotel and we are looking forward to service you again.
Our hotel is a traditional Chinese coutyard hotel,and we have already received a lot of people who wanted to experience an old life style of Beijing,also,we would like to receive more people and hope to give them special experiences in our hotel.
Our hotel lacated in the center of Beijing,in walking distance,there have many famous attractions,like Hou Hai,NanLuoGuXiang,the Forbidden City,Jingshan Park and Beihai Park.These are the must stay ocations for travellers and visitors to Beijing.
Thank you again for wasting your valuable time to give us this excellent comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    61
    18
    11
    2
See reviews for
43
53
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weifang, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

The environment is very good,It is the old Beijing flavor,The boss is very warm。At night my girlfriend is uncomfortable, the boss I'm afraid I'm not familiar with the environment, offered to take me to buy medicine。Give us a lot of help。The next will choose this hotel。

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zhang h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

I stayed there for three nights,it's wonderful.Actually,i did not like that place at the first sight,because the alley lead to the hotel was terrible,and the hotel was hidden in the end of the hutoon.But after i stayed one night,i gradually love this place,the people there was friendly,and i love the restaurant and the food very much.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shally1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Jingshan - our third time there - this stay for about 5 nights. They are so nice and helpful, and the location is so perfect it is almost surreal - in the hutong just across from Jingshan Park and with a view of the pagodas from the breakfast room. I don't think that the hotel would be for every traveller - it is a bit rustic and barebones - but as a China traveller of 20 years who hates shiny new big box hotels this one is the best. We love it!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are nice although they don't really provide much more of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank timswanson725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at 9 hotels over three weeks, and this was the highlight of the trip for me. We liked everything about this hotel and love living for two nights within a hutong. Step outside the luxury and comfort of this small, intimate hotel, and you step into the alleyways of the hutong. The staff spoke quite excellent English, the best of the 9 hotels where we stayed, and most of the hotels were 4 and 5 star hotels. The owner painted us a beautiful calligraphy expressing welcome in Chinese characters and was most helpful and friendly. The updated room had one of the nicest showers I have ever enjoyed. We would love to return some day and would highly recommend this quaint hotel to anyone planning a trip to Beijing.

Room Tip: Be sure to tell your taxi driver to enter the hutong from the Jingshan Garden side of the hutong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalkPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you really want to experience the more traditional Huton living in Beijing without trading of comfort and cleanness this is the ideal place. The staff is very friendly and the food delicious. The WiFi is a bit weak in the rooms and hard to use there but works in the restaurant and the cozy back yard perfect. Even so the Hutong is very narrow and the last 100m of the street are so narrow that no car can go to the front door the rooms are surprisingly spacious.
only the place is so hidden that no Taxi driver will know where to go.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlasville
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have just spent 4 nights at this lovely, small but spacious hotel. The staff members are friendly and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food is tasty, but the restaurant is mostly restricted to guests and operates for short periods unless you arrange with them. The free Wi-fi was good and strong and the location is very convenient (although the access roads do not give it a good first impression, as it is located at the end of a couple of narrow alleys). Close to transport and very close to the Forbidden City. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThecaAtlasville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
The HuLu Hotel
The HuLu Hotel
#72 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#96 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#47 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#124 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Jade Garden Hotel
Jade Garden Hotel
#107 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jingshan Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jingshan Garden Hotel

Property: Jingshan Garden Hotel
Address: No.68 Sanyanjing Alley, Jingshan East Street, Beijing 100009, China (Formerly Red Wall Jingshan Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jingshan Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jingshan Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing