We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, yet uncomplicated place to spoil yourself with fine cuisine and a phantastic view at lunchtime!”
Review of Grill 79

Grill 79
Ranked #168 of 13,087 Restaurants in Beijing
Price range: $200 - $2,000
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Guomao
Description: With breathtaking views that reach all the way to the rooftops of the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square, Grill 79, China World Summit Wing, Beijing’s chic, modern Western restaurant on Level 79, is a captivating destination for those in search of a memorable, sensory dining experience for business, pleasure or romance. Upon arrival at the lobby, guests are greeted by a sleek glass-enclosed lift surrounded by rows of dangling Murano crystals. Designed to resemble a glowing oversized Chinese lantern, the lift serves to ferry guests to the top floors of the hotel, which house dining and entertainment venues. Nature is the inspiration behind the menu at Grill 79. The art of dining is alive here. Savour delicate balances of flavours in dishes made with wild, fresh seasonal ingredients instead of frozen or processed products. Grill 79 also offers one of Beijing's most extensive wine lists, with premium New World wines and more than 600 labels in total.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

- Phantastic view from the 79th floor of Beijing World Trade Centre

- Surprisingly relaxed atmosphere and service at lunch time (dont know about dinner). Given the hotel's brand and the location, I was afraid of a very formal atmosphere, but both the guests and the waiters pleasantly "normal", guests just enjoying the food and the view. You do not feel uncomfortable when not too dressed up. Some families with kids, some "girls-lunch-out" treating themselves, some "fine lunchers" (couples, red wine), some business lunchers debating.

- not crowded, so still pleasantly quiet.

- Excellent European-style cuisine and quite inexpensive for the value provided: Choice of I think 8 or 9 three to four set menus from Y215 to Y390. I had an excellent duck (medium-well, I loved the crust!) with some creative pumpkin puerree and couscous, my wife's scallop risotto was equally delicious. We both loved the (big) salads served as starters (mine with prosciutto pieces, my wifes with smoked salmon). Desserts (sorbet; chocolate and cream mousse) were good, not outstanding though.

- portions are just right for lunch, but not too filling (my wife (52kg) could almost finish all of her three courses, and I (90 kg) was very satisfied with them.

- Service is friendly, attentive and prompt, pleasantly unobtrusive

- can be quick if you ask them to be so (we only had an hour, and everything worked out perfectly).

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Papa73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 93 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2016

This is a wonderful place to experience a view over Beijing (on a clear day) while dining on some wonderful dishes. The style is western but some dishes with a slight Asian flavour. The service was excellent and the wine list has something for everyone. It is not cheap eats but was surprisingly less expensive than I expected.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2016

Te restaurant features a good prix fixe lunch menu, with three courses. The cost is about 30-40 USD, which is pretty good given that it is in a 5-star hotel in the center of town. The food was well prepared, and the service was good. The restaurant is beautifully decorated; it is on the 79th floor and has a nice view of Beijing. Ask for a window seat!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 234benjamint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGHL, Digital Specialist at Grill 79, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Dear Benjamin T,

Thank you very much for choosing Grill 79 and spending time making comments for us. We are so delighted to know that you are happy with both the food and our service. Sincerely look forward to having you again soon. :)

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2016

I was really looking forward to the restaurant but was disappointed. It really is a steak house but usually there are other options that would be just as good. The wine list may be extensive but they do not carry most of it, we had to go through 3 different wines before we found one in stock. Of course the 3000 RMB bottles were there and the waiter tried to steer us that way.
The ceasar salad 168 RMB was terrible, the lettuce was cut not torn, the dressing underwhelming and i have had better at a sandwich shop. The lobster soup had very little lobster and one very tired shrimp, not worth it at all.
The steak was done well, but usually when ordering the Chateaubriand it comes with potatoes and vegetables and cut table side, nope showed it to the table under a dome then brought it back if they had not ordered vegetable alacart it would have been just meat on a plate. Service was wanting and really nothing special. Very Disappointing and expensive.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stephenavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryGHL, Digital Specialist at Grill 79, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2016

Dear stephenavenue,

Thank you very much for choosing Grill 79 and spending time making comments for us. Each and every guest comment is important and valuable for us to make improvement. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments and we will be working on the corrective actions for improvement.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you visit Beijing next time.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2015

Great Views Of The City...IF Not Only For The Smog.
Average Prices Just Like Any 'Shang' In Asia.
Tired The 'Set Lunch' Menu Which Will Last Until End Year, Cost 360RMB Per Head. Well worth The Price.
Service Was Very Good.
P.S: It Helps If You 'Flash' Your GC Card.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GLLK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grill 79 also viewed

 
Beijing, China
 
Beijing, China
 

Been to Grill 79? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing