We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good meal, nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ZaMo

ZaMo
Ranked #2,457 of 12,604 Restaurants in Beijing
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Houhai
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good meal, nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We ate some delicious eggplant (also) in this place. Good food, late hours.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Empiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    9
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh simple meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had a lovely fresh meal in this tiny restaurant. We even saw them bring in some vegetables for the dishes we ordered.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank overworkedinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Houches, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

Good food and was one of few places still serving after 9pm as we were late getting out!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ncb74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good restaurant in popular nanluoguxiang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

This restaurant is also know as Zamo. The loaction is on Nanluoguxiang near the corner of Yu'er Hutong. The sign above the door says Taste but it does not really stand out, so it's easy to miss. There is usually a menu out the front of the restaurant and you go up some stone steps to the door.

Downstairs is broken up into 3 small rooms with a few tables in each. Try and get a table in the room ( on the right as you enter) with the window overlooking the street. The other 2 rooms are more like interior courtyards.

No English is spoken but the menu has pictures with English subtitles. The service was good. We have eaten here twice and the only thing I can fault is being overcharged. At the end of the meal you don't get an itemized bill - very common and usually not a problem. But on both occasions the final amount was incorrect by RMB 100 - 150 each time and we had to bring it to their attention. So keep track of an approximate cost.

There is a good selection of food styles. They have the popular dishes like Sweet & Sour Pork done Beijing style with black vinegar. Yangzhou style fried rice. Thin sliced & sauteed string cut potatoes. The eggplant dish was nice too & was served with tomatoes combined. One interesting dish we tried was a rabbit salad.
There is also a bit of Guizhou cuisine - Miao spare ribs. This is a specialty on the menu. I also noticed Sour fish soup but didn't try it.

There are a couple of western dishes - handy if you are traveling with picky teen's or younger kids. The usual fries and pizza. The pizza are Chinese style - so if you order Chicken it is on the spicy side with chilli.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
3 Thank annieandhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZaMo also viewed

 

Been to ZaMo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing